We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service , great rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combe Martin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
Save
You added Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park to your Saves list
Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AS, England (Formerly John Fowler Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service , great rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

The whole family enjoyed the week we stayed . The food was great and always came with a smile . The rooms were clean and the issue with hot water was sorted within hours. The bar staff were friendly and polite. Thank you for a great time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    36
    31
    8
    12
See reviews for
64
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have just returned from a short break staying at this park. We upgraded to a Gold caravan which was very clean, spacious and well laid out. Definitely worth the upgrade.
We were also right next to the play area which made our 5 year old daughter very happy and, surprisingly, was still very quiet.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We only used the clubhouse on 1 night due to being very busy exploring the area. We found the food served there to be very good value.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading. A great base to explore North Devon
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The building housing the main reception,bar and restaurant is dated but that can be rather appealing, it was kept clean and the service was efficient, drinks very expensive, meals priced ok but the dishes served were very basic, if you paid anymore you would be very unhappy. evening entertainment was mediocre. We had upgraded to Gold caravan which was very clean,spacious and well equipped, could not really fault it and as we were on a sun holiday it turned out excellent value all round. The park is in a great location for exploring North Devon.

Room Tip: I think its worth upgrading to get the better caravans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

The main building was a former lovely old Manor House and while it could be perhaps brought up to date, would it benefit from modernisation - the jury is still out on that one?

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

By the way, congratulations on your team's promotion to the Championship. Some achievement in such a short time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We decided to stay at this park after booking through the sun holidays,

we booked in on monday after the bank holiday,we were able to book in early so didnt have to wait around the recptionist was very polite and was helpful for most of our stay, she had a great knowledge of the area, and recomended the milky way which was great value for money,

the caravan was a silver standard and was in a lovely location number 41 near the woodland walk area, we used the walk twice and the little one loved the kiln at the top of the walk

we used the bar a few times and it had great views towards the sea,

we only ordered chips from the takeaway but they tasted good and you get loads for your money..

if we come back again we would proberly book closer to the bar area,

the maintenance man was helpful i think he was called mick he was always happy :) and the manager was also friendly to chat too, but unsure of his name.

the Entertainments team were also very good and Mark played the guitar at our tableside for us, we felt special.. thanks mark

we will try and upload some photos soon.

thankyou to all the staff for being helpfull and helping us enjoy our holiday!!

Room Tip: pick a close caravan to the bar area the park is very steep but pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely 5 star review, we really appreciate you taking the time.

The manager, Wayne and all his team will be delighted to read your comments. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have to add, we have stayed at all kinds of caravans site over the years. We did use the Sun holidays vouchers for this visit and it did not cost a lot. However we use these yearly and this has to be one the worst accommodations we have stayed in.

I have never been to Devon so this weekend was all new for our family.

We arrived at a very tired looking site, got our keys and arrived at out caravan. Very old, very smelly, but a base camp.

Looking at the whole site it is well need of a re vamp, it looks old and shabby very 70’s.
This site is not for anyoe with mobility issues as it is very steep and hilly.

In the caravan it had a large gap in our door, which ended up us being very cold. The hob didn’t work without matches, and to honest I didn’t go to ask for some or bring up how cold we were until we left a day early.

The bed sheets/duvets and pillows were dirty and stained, the mattresses were ripped and again dirty. Basic normal crockery etc, no heating in bathroom, fire in the lounge.
We ate in the main house/café as the prices were very cheap.

Unfortunately now we know why, it is all pre frozen, microwaved to order. I would not recommend eating there. They did attempt of some kind of evening entertainment but we didn’t stay for that. The bar/entertainment/restaurant is one large room used for all, very 70’s, but am amazing panoramic view of the beach.

There seems to be a Poole which isn’t it use, there is a walk in to the forest at the back of the site which takes you into the village.

Direct opposite is a pathway to the beach (all flat pebble no sand) the kids loved it even in the rain, the village is small not a lot open in this season, the main beach with some sane is another 5 min walk down the hill, really lovely, kids loved looking for crabs In the rock pools.
The area itself is great pity the campsite let it down.

I suppose comparing the price we paid to what we have experienced in the past is quit disappointing, as at other sites we have had evening entertainment the choice of food along with kids clubs and a swimming pool.

The staff seemed lovely and no problems at all with them very friendly with smiles :)

We loved Devon and will be back just not to this site.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
I was saddened to read your thoughts regarding your stay at our holiday park. However, we do not ignore negative reviews and your remarks are being passed on to the park manager so that improvements may be made in the interest of future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

lovely spring break at this caravan site . very good location to venture the whole of north devon
great food at the club house which was well priced go for the burgers (ace)
just one bad point the lack of entertainment so don't go looking for a right knees up down the club
more life in a kettle full of fish
but don't let this put you off its a tip top site

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

we stayed here through sun holidays.
Good points:
Lovely staff; best quality caravan we've ever been in; quiet; kid's club, pool (outdoor-heated) on sister site up the road; takeaway food; great location for lovely and quaint combe martin
Bad points:
Not on our site for pool, kid's club; lack of outdoor space for little ones.
Overall fine for what we needed it for and lovely staff, good food, just a pain for the kid's club being on the other site (maybe the time of year - sept??).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I think there may be one or two misunderstandings about the park. We are quite clear in our advertising, both in our brochure and on the internet, that the park is not a flat area. Secondly, we are also clear on the park facilities - we do not state that the park has a swimming pool or children's club. It may be interesting to try to discover the source of these preconceptions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park

Address: Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AS, England (Formerly John Fowler Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Combe Martin
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combe Martin Holiday Park is situated in the heart of a North Devon valley. The site and its surrounding woodlands provide an excellent area for kids to play and adults to relax. The kids’ play area, our Sea Spray Club (great for a meal or drink) and access to our private beach are all within easy reach of your holiday accommodation, provide the perfect North Devon holiday.The park overlooks Combe Martin public beach as well as our very own private Newberry beach, where you can spend the day relaxing in the sun whilst the kids play in the sea nearby. In the evening, you can enjoy a variety of entertainment in the free clubhouse. Bingo, party games and folk singers are all regular events to keep you entertained throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Fowler Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park Hotel Combe Martin
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.