We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blair Lodge

Blair Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combe Martin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blair Lodge
Moory Meadow, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0DG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Magor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Another wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just returned from our 6th stay at Blair Lodge, and it gets better every time..
Rachel and Nick are generous hosts offering high standards of service and care. Rachel produces wonderful home cooked food (how many places offer home made jam & marmalade for breakfast?) and Nick is a fount of knowledge for lovely places to visit in this beautiful area.
We look forward to our next visit.
Val & Pete

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are highly recommended and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
84
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kinna, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

After a long day in the car it was absolutely wonderful to arrive to Blair Lodge and have the best dinner for weeks. Everything on the plate was delicious. All homemade and served on warm plates. The owners were very nice and the hotel had a very warm and homely atmosphere.
The room was small and nice with homemade biscuits to the tea. I wish I had booked more nights here. The location is splendid close to the sea.

Room Tip: Some rooms with seaview and some without.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were made to feel very welcome, almost like family. We had only booked B&B, but the menu on our first night convinced us to go for full board.all the food was produced from local area, including strawberries from their own garden. Nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

It takes utter commitment to be consistently good and Rachel and Nick achieve this in bucketloads! We were very glad we chose to book for the evening meals - they were so much better than other B&B's we have experienced. All food home cooked by an expert (Rachel) and Nick was superb at front-of-house and table-waiting. Their passion for, and depth of knowledge of the area comes across well. Helpful advice for both walkers and beach-lazers plus knowing that in any emergency they will be there for you. We did book rather late and there was only the smallest room available, (we've adjusted the rating to reflect this) but armed with that knowledge, we plan to book earlier for our next trip. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms at the front would be our choice next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Excellently situated for the SWCP and easy to see from a distance. Warm and friendly welcome, excellent food and wine at very reasonable prices. Bedroom spotless, comfortable beds and excellent facilities in the house. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed just one night at Blair Lodge having had 3 days walking on the coastal path. This was probably my favourite B&B overall. Walking into Combe Martin Blair Lodge was very easy to spot with the sign on the roof and just a stone's throw from the coast path. We were welcomed with a pot of tea and cake.... and there were more home made biscuits in our room, which had a sea view. Both Nick and Rachel made us feel at home and were full of good advice. We ventured across the road to the Royal Marine for food, though in hindsight I wished we'd have opted for the in house meal. Breakfast was very good - especially the veggie bacon and sausage option which really makes the difference. I'd definitely recommend this B&B to others and would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We arrived in the rain and were made most welcome by Nick - tea and cake. No trouble finding the place with the name visible on the roof as we came down from the cliff path. Rachel served an excellent 2 or 3 course meal which we took advantage off as it saved venturing out in the wet. Lovely home-baked biscuits in the bedroom. Very pleasant accommodation and ideal for walkers of the South West Coast Path. Also had the advantage of a pleasant lounge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blair Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair Lodge

Address: Moory Meadow, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blair Lodge is a licensed guest house on the South West Coast Path, yards from the beach and Exmoor National Park. We offer Bed and Breakfast, excellent home made meals, a friendly atmosphere and great ambiance. Situated in the historic seaside town of Combe Martin on the North Devon Coast, it is the ideal place for a wonderful break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blair Hotel Combe Martin
Blair Lodge Combe Martin, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blair Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blair Lodge to your Saves list