We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coastal pathing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blair Lodge

Blair Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combe Martin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blair Lodge
Save
You added Blair Lodge to your Saves list
Moory Meadow, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0DG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Swanage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“coastal pathing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

my friend and I stayed for 1 night on our SW coastal path jaunt. From when I had first made contact about rooms I felt very cared about as a potenital client. Nick and Rachel were incredibly helpful about all sorts of practicalities. We ate in as too tired to go and find somewhere to eat and the food was great, intersting varied menu and generous portions.
Bed room fine -only niggle was the tempremental shower.
Breakfast was good - a wide choice of things too.
I would definately stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
90
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Rachel and Nick are great welcoming friendly hosts, First visit here but welcomed like old friend with afternoon tea and chocolate cake!!. Due to other commitments only stayed one night. They were100% full and many others were regular guest who have been there many times – that shows the quality of the hosts and what they offer. This ‘only’ a B & B but more like a 3 star hotel.

Spotlessly clean & comfortable rooms, nice fresh towels complete with face flannels. Rachel is a great cook providing excellent value high quality evening meals and breakfast. Only 50 yards to the beach and the small town but benefits from being off the main road, so quiet (expect for the thunder and lightening) with adequate parking for guests.

I am a bad sleeper and it is a long since I slept in a 4ft 6” bed - when we are next in the area we will definitely return – hopefully for more than one night and in a 5ft bed!! Maybe need to book early and not at short notice

Room Tip: Book early to avoid dissapointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have just returned from my second stay at Blair Lodge. Rachel and Nick are great. they make everyone welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are comfortable, well maintained and with everything you would need. The location of the guest house is perfect and allows you to enjoy the village of Combe Martin. It's no surprise to me that Rachel and Nick have so many returning guests. I hope that I will be able to go back one day aswell. but as your other reviewers say, it may be hard to get a room!
Gill

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swinton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Just spent 2 nights with Rachel and Nick and highly recommend Blair Lodge. Friendly hosts, clean & comfortable rooms, plus Rachel is a great cook, good value evening meals. Blair Lodge is close to the beach and town, but benefits from being off the main road, so quiet with parking spaces. Very handy for coastal path. We enjoyed our stay and plan to return.

Room Tip: Some rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denstone
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We arrived at Blair Lodge after a rather hard walk from Lynmouth both tired and weary - Rachel gave us tea and delicious cake in the lounge - both Nick and Rachel are very helpful and very good hosts - the hotel is very clean and very comfortable - we met a delightful couple who holiday every year at Blair Lodge and have done s for some time - that says it all - excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I'm very apprehensive about writing this review because if I tell the truth so many people will want to stay there that we probably won't be able to book again. Therefore I feel that I must suitably moderate my comments, so here goes;-
Rachel and Nick are fantastic hosts. They are welcoming, helpful and full of information regarding places to visit etc. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble.
Rachel's evening meals are to die for !. To stay there without sampling her excellent cooking is to miss a real treat. The breakfasts are delicious, with a good choice of dishes including an excellent full English.
The way that they care for their guests is outstanding, for example, my wife has mobility problems so Nick fixed a safety-grip handle to the wall of the shower, I am on a minimum dairy diet so Rachel took pains to ensure that meals were prepared accordingly (soya milk etc).
The hotel is clean, comfortable and definitely great value
This is our third stay at Blair Lodge and it certainly won't be our last ( if we can still manage to book !)..

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I had a lovely stay at Blair Lodge. The b&b was nicely decorated, very clean and great value. Rachel and Nick were fantastic hosts and did a great job of catering for my friends vegan diet and were supportive of her charity walk. I would highly recommend the evening meal which was delicious. I enjoyed everything about my stay at Blair Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blair Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair Lodge

Address: Moory Meadow, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blair Lodge is a licensed guest house on the South West Coast Path, yards from the beach and Exmoor National Park. We offer Bed and Breakfast, excellent home made meals, a friendly atmosphere and great ambiance. Situated in the historic seaside town of Combe Martin on the North Devon Coast, it is the ideal place for a wonderful break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blair Hotel Combe Martin
Blair Lodge Combe Martin, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blair Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.