We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very happy stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acorns Guest House

Save Saved
You added Acorns Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acorns Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2 Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very happy stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

A gem of a B & B in lovely Combe Martin. Spacious and tastefully decorated room with excellent breakfasts. Steve was a very warm and friendly host and made me feel very welcome.
Excellent location being only a short walk to the main street. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseandSteve2, Owner at Acorns Guest House, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to leave us a review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope your enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Thanks again Denise & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
33
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Spent a lovely week here (stayed Monday to Friday) with Steve and Denise. So friendly and such a nice place to stay. Lovely room, great food from Steve and helpful suggestions from Denise on places to eat and to visit including easy directions. Very happy to recommend them to anyone - it was very relaxing and I thoroughly enjoyed my visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseandSteve2, Owner at Acorns Guest House, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are both pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Thanks for your kind comments, Denise & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Good value - most excellent hosts - and fab breakfast nosh! If you wish to stay perfectly adequate surroundings; Acorns is for you. A most welcoming couple - Steve had to do most tasks with Denise having recently had an operation so even more commendable. His breakfast skills are not bad at all! For anyone who has provided unkind reviews in the past I simply suggest they get a life. Acorns is very clean, well maintained and has a warm feeling about it. Combe Martin is a remote village in North Devon - and Acorns is just the ticket in that location! Thank you both - and you will see us again without doubt. Ren and I were very happy :o)

Room Tip: Room 7 provides a seaview to the right - which is just fine. Rooms at the front doubtless suffer fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseandSteve2, Owner at Acorns Guest House, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay.
We are both pleased you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to you returning. Denise should be up to hosting then and serve breakfast, while Steve makes the breakfast. Thanks again Denise & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Excellent room, Food & owners. Steve & Denise were wonderful hosts & lovely people. Thank you so much for such a wonderful room & a lovely stay, we would definitely recommend your B&B to friends & stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseandSteve2, Owner at Acorns Guest House, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your kinds comments, we are both pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again sometime, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I and our dog sally stayed at the Acorns for four nights and we enjoyed our stay so much that it was the first time that we have never looked forward to going home, we could have stayed another four nights. Steve and Denise were the perfect hosts they really made us feel at home. The house was spotlessly clean throughout and the breakfast was perfectly cooked everyday. We will be going back there next year for a longer stay.Many thanks Steve and Denise for welcomming us into your home. Ray, Sheila and Sally

Room Tip: room 3 was ideal for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseandSteve2, Owner at Acorns Guest House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, is was a pleasure to have you stay here. We absolutely loved your dog sally, and look forward to you coming back and will have the sausages ready for her.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Well, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Had a fabulous week at Acorns which made this summer holiday perfect. My husband, son and I stayed in the family room which was en-suite and just right for our needs. After all it is only for sleeping in, TV had a DVD player and the wi-fi was free. Very lucky to find a place that has free parking too which was a one minute walk from the back door one of the reasons we chose Acorns. Typical British hols with a full English to start the day then numerous HUGE Combe Martin rock pools to explore and ice creams and dinner in the 'Pack o' Cards' pub garden up the main street which had a good play area too. When you've stayed in Premier Inns and Travelodges around the country you certainly appreciate the individual attention from a friendly guest house. Denise and Steve were welcoming and ready with advice and info on the local area. Would definitely recommend for anyone who loves Devon and the sea.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseandSteve2, Owner at Acorns Guest House, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, it was a pleasure having you all stay. It was lovely that you all spent so much time in Combe Martin, and enjoying our beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Not what i was expecting, at all, after reading the reviews!! You enter via the back door, not the prettiest, and certainly not past a pretty garden as some one commented, have a look at my pics of the entry!!!Parking was really awkward up a verrrry steep very narrow lane, then away from the hotel. The lounge/bar/ sitting room was really small dark and very unwelcoming. Our room which we paid extra for a sea view was a shocker. Our room was tiny, no where to put our cases, and the wifi was really dodgy.The colour of the room was a dark blue, and the furnishings looked like they had been cobbled together from a charity shop. We paid extra for a room with a sea view, considering opposite our room was a row of other hotels, you had at best a sea glimpse if you stood right up against one of the two windows in the room and cranked your head to the right to get a brief glimpse - what a joke, and what a cheek, charging extra.
It really was like staying in an old persons house, didnt appreciate the faded artificial flowers everywhere collecting dust!!
On the positive side, the breakfast room was OK and breakfast was nice enough, no better than what you should expect and have paid for.
It was a real eye opener, and dont think I will book a guest house again, despite paying what I would regard as paying hotel prices. Have stayed in way better, for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseandSteve2, Owner at Acorns Guest House, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Just like to say we are surprised at your review, the photos are very interesting. Photo of the front step? Photo of the back garden not showing our flowers and nice seating area, just the back door.
The photo in the room showing houses opposite yet we do have a sea view, not on the beach.
The room has a solid oak bed which is new, the furniture is quality, do not understand? Our lounge is not small, 30 ft long. All our reviews state how clean our property is, do not understand why you find this not to be the case. Our furniture in the lounge is not modern but in keeping with a Victorian property, but not antique. Combe Martin is a charming village. We are not a hotel and do not charge the same prices for the same standard. Perhaps you would be better staying at a non descript hotel. Did you actually stay here?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Acorns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorns Guest House

Address: 2 Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorns Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly, licensed guesthouse is just three minutes walk from the bay and the beach, We can offer long relaxing holidays, weekends away, romantic short breaks, coastal and country walks or cycling breaks. This late Victorian guest house is in the heart of Combe Martin and offers our guests the re-assurance of having been inspected by the English Tourist Board gaining a 4 star rating. All rooms are well appointed with en-suite facilities,flat screen television with DVD player and most have either coastal or country views. Parking? No problem, we have our own large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Acorns Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorns Guest House Combe Martin, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acorns Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.