We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stag Hunters Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brendon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stag Hunters Hotel
Save
You added The Stag Hunters Hotel to your Saves list
Brendon, Exmoor National Park EX35 6PS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 Night Dinner B
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brendon
taunton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

2nd visit in 6 weeks says it all !!

Introduced a couple of friends to the Stags, a great weekend, thank you
(Particularly enjoyed the wine on Saturday eve!)

Look forward to next years visits

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    36
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
27
92
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

The Stag Hunters is a well run hotel set in a beautiful valley. The food is excellent and the staff warm and friendly. Whenever we stay here we always know we will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Hill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

A hotel steped in history with friendly staff and superb reasonabley priced food. Would thoroughly recommend it.Great value! I notice there has been a couple of bad reviews.One must say that whoever wrote these must be very anal retentive........

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

Got back yesterday from a wonderfull stay at The Stag Hunters hotel...what a wonderfull place! I went for a riding break, just me and my 14 yr old daughter Charlotte. We were both made to feel extremely welcome from the moment we walked through the door, nothing was too much trouble.

Charlotte and I ate at the hotel 2 of the 3 nights we stayed and the food was lovely, breakfast was amazing, cereals, fruit, fruit juice, full english.....Charlotte loved it!

The room we had was spacious and had a HUGE bathroom, it was kept spotless for us during our stay and the radiators worked extremely well when we got a bit cold. We were kept well stocked up with Tea and Coffee for the room.

I actually work as a Travel Consultant and have stayed in some wonderfull 5 star hotels all over the world...I have to say that the service we recieved at The Stag Hunters was on a par to this and we will be going back very soon.

Thanks Simon and the family for making our stay such a special one.....see you again very soon!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

The Stag Hunters Hotel is located in a deep valley in a tiny village. The location is just beautiful. Steep hills either side make the drive down and up very interesting. The village has a few B&Bs and camp sites at either end. It's more of a pub with rooms rather than an hotel. The building is old but full of charm. The rooms are basic but have better showers than some 5* hotels we have stayed in. Everything is very clean. There is also a car park at the rear of the hotel. Customer service is excellent. We stayed half board and every night a table was reserved in the bar for us- we could turn up at any time. The food is very basic pub grub: chilli, curry, fish and chips, steak and ale pie and burgers that pleased our teenagers. The bar is full every night with people eating mainly it seems from the nearby camp sites. Breakfast is OK. Thursday night was quiz night in the bar which we really enjoyed. The best things about it are the location and the warmth of the place. We couldn't help feeling that it misses a trick somehow. It has a potentially beautiful restaurant at the rear, currently just used for breakfast, which with good chef and decent menu could set it apart from the rest.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davy595
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

This is the second time we have stayed, and again we have not been disappointed. Food is fab - we opted for half board this visit. Varied choice. The hotel and pub has a very warm and friendly atmosphere. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Everything is done to make your visit a success. Everyone is so friendly. Beautiful country location. Our dog loved it too! We hope to make a third visit perhaps later in the year, and would certainly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

My family and I have been going to The Staghunters for over fifty years and it really is one of the most special places we have ever visited; so much so that I am now about to get married there!
The hotel itself is bursting with charm and perfectly accommodates couples on a romantic break as well as families or groups of friends. Family run, you really feel at The Staghunters very welcome, and while all the staff are friendly, co-operative and offer a fantastic service, there is nothing intrusive about their approach.
You can't go wrong with excellent home cooked food, including a real treat of a breakfast, and cosy, immaculately clean rooms, bar, restaurant and lounge.
We didn't have to think twice about having our wedding at The Staghunters, and all credit to the staff, they have been extremely accommodating and patient!
We've travelled all over the world and I have to say, nothing beats Exmoor and this particular hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stag Hunters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag Hunters Hotel

Address: Brendon, Exmoor National Park EX35 6PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Brendon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Stag Hunters Hotel
The Stag Hunters Hotel Brendon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stag Hunters Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.