We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our fifth visit, and as usual we had a lovely break.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stag Hunters Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brendon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stag Hunters Hotel
Save
You added The Stag Hunters Hotel to your Saves list
Brendon, Exmoor National Park EX35 6PS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brendon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our fifth visit, and as usual we had a lovely break.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

The Wyburn family are gradually upgrading The Staghunters, as each time we visit the bedrooms are better. The food's always been good anyway, and the staff are all lovely. The roaring log fire in the bar, the view over the garden at breakfast time, the rush of the River Lyn in front of the property, have all become precious, and we'll be back in a few months time. Thank you Richard, Wendy, Simon, James and staff. As usual, we had a lovely break.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    38
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
28
95
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paphos
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

I've known the Stag Hunters for a few years as some of my family live locally. The Wyburn family contribute a wonderful mix of skills, from front of house to superb breakfasts in the lovely garden breakfast room. Stunning Mick Cawston paintings too!
No family could try harder ... in this day and age to find a flourishing village pub/hotel with a pool team, regular Sunday lunchers and the rest - alongside a flourishing trade to incomers - is quite exceptional,
The weekend I was staying, there was a 50pax celebration in the function room, full hotel, a large complement of motor enthusiasts on the Sunday, plus the normal Sunday night gathering of locals for village activities. If any 'incomer' criticises this hotel for small inadequacies, he doesn't understand how rare a combination the StagHunters is - a family-run business, with great food freshly prepared from local ingredients and heartwarming hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

We stayed at the Stag Hunters with the previous owners and had an excellent break. It was good to see the new owners have not only met the same standards as the original owners but have in our opion bettered it. The booking was easy, the greeting was very welcoming, the food excellent and value for money.
Overal we would not only return for another stay we would recommend the Stag Hunters to others.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

If you are looking for a hotel that has the aroma of damp dog in the bar and old cooking oil in the residents stairwell then this could be the place for you. Add to this the tepid water from the shower and mould around the shower screen seal in the otherwise clean and adequate bathroom. The Bedroom was clean and comfortable. Evening meal and breakfast were reasonable but no better than the minimum you should expect. The restaurant at the rear overlooks a lovely garden but is let down by the tired decor and furnishings.
Should you decide that you want to spend some of your hard earned money at this hotel ensure that you get confirmation of of the rate you will be charged in writing as the rate we were quoted on the phone was different to the amount on the bill. when queried with the owner he was extremely rude.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
This is an interesting case concerning guests who seemed very friendly, in fact we were on first name terms. They had first enquired about potentially booking several rooms to stay for a weekend later in the year. Now, I have never known a weekend stay to be less than two nights, so they were quoted a b&b price based on two or more nights. They said they would get back to us. Indeed they did, asking if they could stay with us for a night (the night on which their review is based). This was a very quick telephone booking during which a price was neither requested nor quoted.

On checking out, they said that they had a lovely time and would like to book what would amount to half our rooms for later in the year. I'm sure you'll agree with me that this is not the action of a couple dissatisfied with their stay. Unfortunately it transpired that their planned weekend break consisted of a single night's stay. I apologised for the misunderstanding and informed them that I could not let them have the rooms for the price quoted, explaining that they had been quoted for a break of two or more nights. If this is rude, I apologise once again.

As for the complaints of various aromas, mould and decor, well, this site is all about customer opinion. But where were these opinions when they wanted to book half our rooms? Luckily we're all blessed with at least a little intelligence, so please read some of our other reviews and I'll let you be the judge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

This was our first visit under the current owners. The hotel is currently being upgraded on a rolling basis. The food was good and well cooked. The hosts made us feel very welcome. This is a very special hotel

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband and i went to the stag hunters for the first time around 3 years ago and the food was lovely. We went back this September and ate there twice. Both occasions i started my meal with their home made soup, broccolli & stilton and pea & ham. They were both exceptionally delicious just as my mom used to make. my husband had the prawn cocktail and said it was beautiful. We followed this with steak and spaghetti bolognaise and they were equally delicious. I have found very few places in Devon that serve really good food so it was a real joy to find the stag hunters as i am a real foody. Just try it and you will see what i mean. I will be going back for sure. Jacky from bromsgrove worcestershire

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

I have long believed that a hotel is made a great hotel not by the facilities it offers but by the way the hotel makes you feel. In the case of The Staghunters this is so very true. There is no swimming pool, no casino or gym, but this doesn't matter. The Staghunters is just a gem of a hotel nestling is a deep valley at the top of Exmoor. A lovely old building in a beautiful village with character oosing from everywhere, Above all, the hotel is run by a family that are committed to making your stay memorable. I cannot think of another hotel where the staff work so hard to make you so welcome and comfortable.

Breakfast (full english +) is served in a lovely room overlooking the garden, whilst dinner is served in the snug bar. Very good choice of meals with good veg. options and, believe me, you will need a good apetite! All very reasonably priced. Try the Steak and Ale pie, full to the brim with steak and under a tenner.

Rooms are very clean, nicely furnished and fully equiped. En-suite in every room.

Sitting in the bar last night I realised that all 6 couples on adjacent tables were return visitors, not just once, but made frequent visits every year. This is a reputation that The Staghunters has acheived by hard work and should be proud of.

Plenty to do in the area, great walking, wildlife and sightseeing. Peace and quiet in abundance. Very dog friendly, so snuggling up in front of the fire with someones Labrador is always a possibility.

Above all, and I will repeat it, the family and staff running this hotel make your stay extremely memorable. Its like visiting old friends.

Sadly no Kingfisher to photograph on the river this year.

Thank you to all at the Staghunters, see you in May.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stag Hunters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag Hunters Hotel

Address: Brendon, Exmoor National Park EX35 6PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Brendon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Stag Hunters Hotel
The Stag Hunters Hotel Brendon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stag Hunters Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.