We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rockford Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Rockford Inn to your Saves list
The Rockford Inn
Lynton & Lynmouth, Brendon, Exmoor National Park EX35 6PT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Brendon B&B and Inns
birmingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

just back from staying at the Rockford inn what a wonderful place to stay it is so peaceful thank you to Cathryn and Sarah they are such wonderful hosts and helpful The room we stayed in (Room4) was very clean and comfortable. Hope to go back again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    30
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
102
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you want somewhere to stay away from the crowds, look no further, the Rockford Inn is at the bottom of a valley approached by very steep roads. The welcome we received was very friendly, and were quickly signed in and shown to our room.
As we had booked quite late in the day, we just had a small double (room 4), but it was perfectly big enough, very clean and comfortable, you could hear people in the bar below, but as it closed at 11pm it was not a problem, we never heard any other guests while in our room.
the food was very good, and reasonably priced, and we were not rushed, but almost encouraged to take our time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Another fantastic stay at the Rockford Inn. After several visits and overnights at different Inns to the Exmoor region, we found the Rockford Inn to be the best in the area. The owners, Catherine and Sarah, really know how to run the Inn and provide great food with plenty of variety along with great service. So instead of a few days, this time back we reserved rooms for 14 days and it was fantastic just like before. There are so many reasons why it is the best in our opinion and here are a few:
- Welcoming, Honest and Sincere owners. We could not say enough positives things about these two fine ladies. They were able to fit us in on short notice even during their peak season. They made our stay so enjoyable and comfortable that we will definitely come back again and again (we only come back to the great places).
- Delicious food and Excellent service. Sarah, the chef, provides a huge variety of freshly made foods to chose from off the menu (pizza, steak, beef madras, fish pies, meat pies, local seafood, shrimp, chicken curry, and many others including the daily specials). All our meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) were perfect, filling and always delicious. Since we walked a lot (10-13 miles each day), it was also great to have local Ales when we got back to the Inn followed by great food for dinner later in the evening. And the service was superb with Catherine always checking on us to see if we were ok or needed anything else. She also makes a great desert Crumble with Ice Cream or Custard too (good for breakfast too, but plan ahead on this one since its not on the morning menu)
- Beautiful environment. The Rockford Inn is located next to the Lynn River. A walk down to Watersmeet along the river and you will revel in the nature and fabulous setting. You might even see the wild trout or salmon like we did, along with the squirrels, Herons and Dippers.
- Large selection of walking trails. Since staying at the Rockford Inn we have probably walked over 300 miles (based on our GPS device). There are so many circular trails to take from the flatter ones along the river to the hilly ones through the valleys and moors. We usually did circular walks that allowed us to stop for lunch at different pubs along the way (too many to name but get the OS map OL9 and find them easily when planning a days walking trip). And if we could not fit a pub stop in along the way, then Sarah was always willing to pack us a lunch to take with us. What could be better than that? We also did a couple of one way hikes and took a taxi back to the Inn for about 15 british pounds.
- Great accommodations and Relaxing environment. After a good days hike and a great meal, we needed quiet, clean and comfortable beds to sleep in. We got just that at the Rockford. Never a night of restlessness. And it was always great to come down for dinner in the evening and have a relaxing meal in the Inns dining room. It is full of character that we just love along with a very friendly and inviting environment.
These are only a few items to mention for why we think the Rockford Inn is a great place, so we highly recommend a stay here and we will certainly be planning our next trip back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

just got back from a long weekend at the Rockford inn,have to give it 10 out of 10, food excellent,room very clean and comfy,really nice and pleasant staff,if you want peace and quiet then it is the Rockford all the time

Room Tip: we had room number 2 and all you could hear was the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited for lunch on a circular walk from Watersmeet. The pub is beside the river and you can sit outside on the bank listening to the water. The menu was fairly standard and the place didn't look amazing but we were pleasantly surprised by the pizza and baguette we had. Perfect as a stop off when enjoying the beautiful scenery around this part of the world.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I can see why this place has so many awards, it's a nice family run business and you're made to feel very welcome, like it's your family. The food was amazing, as well as the ale :) the staff were all so helpful and pleasant and our room was really nice. I normally struggle to sleep away from home but I slept straight through and struggled to climb out of bed in the morning. I will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The most beautiful place! Went here for fiances 40th. The pub didnt disappoint either. Fine food cooked by Sarah, exceptional service, accomodation that is perfectly presented and all exceotionally priced. I cant rate it big enough to be honest. Walking to the moors within easy access from the pub via a hidden public footpath less than 5 min walk away (sign gets covered with foilage but ask at the pub). We hardly used the car at all and would create our walks around accessible footpaths and tracks. This place is heaven on earth. Dont think about it...please see for yourself its perfect.
ps you got to try the pate its gorgeous and we call our pate nights at home `Rockford' nights now ;)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rockford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockford Inn

Address: Lynton & Lynmouth, Brendon, Exmoor National Park EX35 6PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Brendon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 17th-century country inn set in the picturesque Brendon Valley deep in the heart of Exmoor National Park in Devon. Popular with farmers and ramblers alike, this riverside pub overlooks waterfalls and wooded gorges in a remote and isolated spot. We provide simple accommodation, good food, real ales served direct from the cask, log fires and permits to fish for salmon & trout in the East Lyn River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Rockford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockford Hotel Brendon
The Rockford Inn Brendon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rockford Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.