We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good place to stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion Inn

The Red Lion Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dittisham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Lion Inn
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Dittisham, Dartmouth TQ6 0ES, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Dittisham B&B and Inns
oxfordshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not a good place to stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

If you like somewhere that smells of wet dogs, allows dogs in the dining room, has beds with four inch mattresses that offer no support allowing you to feel the wooden slats in the devan base and doesn't offer you a cheery welcome on your arrival then this is the place for you.

We have never stayed anywhere that is so bad for many years, As someone who has spent many years travelling around the country and staying in B&B's large and small I have rarely come across somewhere this bad.

The stay got off to a bad start on our arrival, we waited in the bar for four or five minutes to be greeted with "oh people where did you come from", this following an earlier call to say we would be arriving between 9.30 and 10.30 pm on a Friday night. We were shown reluctantly to our room by someone who said he had never done it before. He did tell or show us where breakfast was served or offer to carry our bags.

The rooms are relatively clean although when it was serviced the shower tray was not cleaned, The extractor fan in the bathroom had not been cleaned for months the switch that turned on the extractor fan had to be played with to get it to work.

There was a stain on the sheet at the top of the bed

A dog was allowed into the restaurant part of the pub at breakfast time and was seen to eat out of a breakfast bowl. I thought the law was quite clear on dogs being in public eating places unless they were guide dogs, this didn't seem to bother the owners as their dogs seemed to freely roam the building without much control.

The pricing did not match the quality offered as we had stayed in the area a few weeks previous at a much more realistic price where our bags had been carried to our room and where we were given a really cheery welcome.

Our strong recommendation is that you stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: stay in Dartmouth it's only another four miles away
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
9
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

A very relaxing four nights at this friendly family hotel. Excellent en suite room with river views. Good food and atmospheric bar used by locals. It does not pretend to be the Ritz but does offer delightful informal relaxing surroundings which are child and dog friendly. All staff were really helpful and made our stay great. We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

We have now stayed on many occasions and have enjoyed everyone of them, Staff are great and are always up for a bit of good banter, all our needs have always been met, including modifications to their very nice varied menu.
Rooms are very pleasnt,well equiped and always spotless, our last stay was during the very cold spell , what a pleasure to walk into a room with the heating on full when we arrived.
For a nice pint in the evening , this is a real traditional English Pub,no jukebox , no bandits , no background music just conversation.
Good location,great views, safe car park.
Will not add any more as I would like to be able to book in next time and not finf it totally booked

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

Just loved our stay here, Brigitte,Penny and Clive looked after us all so very well,
our Bedroom were smashing with lovely views of the River Dart, plenty on offer for breakfast and delicious evening meals. This is truly a very friendly place to stay, we were made extremely welcome, very relaxed atmosphere. Brilliant having the Village shop and post office on site, makes for a good community. If you like friendly places and you like walking, sailing of course (for sailors, great place for brekkies & a Bath)wildlife spotting and Dogs.This is the place for you!!! We will all be back.Jules & Peter Ashley,Hampshire.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Nice to retun to this small village pub,meet by clive retired local school teacher ,Offered a drink before we went to our room, even remembered us from july 2009.stayed 2 nights in room 2, lovely food 3 friendly dog. booked to stay november .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

What can one say really about this charming, well run and friendly B&B/Pub. The location is great, situated quite high up in Dittisham with great views down over the Dart. The Red Lion also runs the village Post Office and shop, both onsite, which bring in many of the friendly, talkative and knowledgeable locals. The staff are friendly and obliging and the two ladies running the show are a delight, with nothing too much trouble. The food was excellent with a constant variety of freshly caught local fish, as well as many other dishes. Some great local ales complimented the usual array of drinks on offer at the bar. The rooms were clean, comfortable and as well appointed as you could wish for. But best of all, they welcomed our family dog, which is something unusual and refreshing these days. I can heartily recommend this place and have absolutely no idea why others have anything at all negative to say.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010 via mobile

I think negative reviews must have been from people with hidden agendas , as we are well travelled and have stayed in many places including top hotels including paying £500 a night for 1 family room on many occasions and actually this is a place we have visited on numerous occasions.

We are planning a return trip to stay here again and love the friendly caring atmosphere that they have.

Yes they welcome dogs, however 90% of the time you are unaware of this, and the whole place is clean and the food is delicious.

The village shop has it's own room next to the bar and outreach postoffice. I think this is so convenient but also a great attribute that clearly keeps the village amenity viable when so many places loose these facilities.

No matter what your requirements they are happy to oblige including specialist diets, all food is locally sourced including locally baked bread.

It is the hub of the village but quietly understated in doing so giving the perfect combination.

The owners clearly work very hard and considering they are working through a redecoration process they always have time for everyone, we are very much looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: Dittisham, Dartmouth TQ6 0ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Dittisham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dittisham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Red Lion Inn 2*
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Dittisham
Red Lion Dartmouth
Dartmouth Red Lion
The Red Lion Inn Dittisham, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Red Lion Inn to your Saves list