We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our lovely time at fingles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fingals Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fingals Hotel to your Saves list
Fingals Hotel
Old Coombe, Dittisham, Dartmouth TQ6 0JA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dittisham
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our lovely time at fingles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband daughter and myself have just spent a lovely 6 days at fingles. Our room was lovely as was our little girls room. She was so excited to find books just for her and a teddy,on her bed, we intend to return v soon and just maybe as a couple to really relax. The pool v good for us and our child. Richard and Sheila v friendly. Thank youx

Room Tip: We had room one with no 2next door .lovely room great for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
It was a pleasure having you all to stay and we are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much. Well done for deciding to come to our lovely side of the river and then happily travelling across to Torquay for the wedding. We look forward to seeing you again as soon as you can get away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    18
    14
    14
    9
See reviews for
55
54
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

There was some delight upon arrival - a great looking building, surrounded by delightful gardens. Checking in proved a wee bit of a challenge, the so called Reception also doubled up as a bar and if I'd had a cat, it wouldn't have been swung! There was no power - not anyone's fault - we were in deepest darkest Devon - and it added a bit to the adventure of a weekend away. I must applaud the South African chap who greeted us - he was welcoming - and certainly made the best of the 'no power' situation and the dinner we ate that evening which was prepared under difficult circumstances was adequate.
Fingal's seems to trade on this 'imagine staying away at a friend's in the country', well, this is all well and good, but I don't usually pay £160 per night to stay with friends - whether they are in the country or the town.... So, when I want a drink, I imagine there might be someone there to pour it for me - not be instructed by the owner to help myself because she's entertaining private guests! Also, at a friends, I would overlook the dust and the unfinished decorating and the mismatched, inadequate bathroom (we were in a best room - the one with the four poster - the bed was comfy - but it needs a hoover underneath it once in a while!).
The tennis court was fabulous, but the pool and hot tub areas need a good clean and a deal of maintenance - so tired and not at all appealing.
The owners were aloof and not at all attentive - must be a bit of a bind having all these guests - or maybe they're just tired of it all.... Bit like the house.
The breakfasts were great - really good quality - and sitting outside on the terrace to eat them was a pleasure.
Just the best location we could have wished for (no mobile signal - YAY!), but just disappointed with the quality of the accommodation for the money. It could be fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Hello and thank you for your lovely comments about the gardens and tennis court here at Fingals but what a shame that you arrived on the day we had that dreadful power cut. I’m sorry that you hadn’t thought to take a look at our website as that would have prepared you for the size of the bar, at which we trust you to help yourselves (most guests love the freedom of this) and also the décor of your bathroom (I’m afraid that we don’t do ‘matching’ here). Our prices reflect all that is on offer at Fingals – staying with friends you would probably have had to go out to hire a tennis court or pay to go to swimming baths. We love having guests but don’t want them ever to feel that they are ‘on parade’ or have us hovering around. Generally people prefer the un-fussy and relaxed style on offer here at Fingals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent last weekend at Fingals - it really is tucked away down sleepy Devon lanes so you feel you are really getting away from the hustle and bustle of life. Very friendly owners, Richard and Sheila, could not have made us feel more welcome, and the food was very good. Very comfortable rooms, an extremely relaxed hotel, but a good base to explore that part of the coast, especially the River Dart and the coast to Salcombe. A lot of fun had by the children on the tennis court and in the swimming pool, and a lovely break for the family. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We loved having your delightful family to stay and are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to seeing you all again for some more Fingals Fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

What a lovely location! Devon lanes are notorious to negotiate but it's worth the effort. We stayed in the Folly, with a delightful small stream running behind. Ideal for a couple trying to get away from it all. One word of caution though - more elderly, or shall we say less able, clients may find the access to the first floor sitting room, via outside steps, somewhat tricky. The owners and staff are friendly and unobtrusive. We ate so well at breakfast that there was no room for lunch! We recommend eating the evening meal which, like breakfast, uses really good quality ingredients and lots of lovely veg. A 'one-off' hotel ideal for exploring this beautiful part of Devon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed in the self catering barn over looking the tennis court, which had an incredibly spacious living area and 2 tiny bedrooms. Jane greeted us in a friendly manner and showed us around the hotel, which looked gorgeous. Despite the changeable weather we managed to make good use of the tennis court. The pool looked inviting and my husband and son braved that. The games room with the table soccer was also a welcome distraction. Overall we enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

What a fantastic place to stay. Quiet, comfortable, good food and great staff all round. This is a must for people wanting a peaceful time away. Many thanks.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We drove up, we had the wow factor, but this changed as soon as we got into the room, we was self catering, dust, dirty work tops, dirty bathroom, this upset us, my partner went to the reception for some cleaning stuff..she told the owner, and she was not nice to my partner, it ruined our holiday, we came home a day early, no discount, nothing, we will not go back, unless it changes owners of is run by a manager who cares ...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We feel we have to reply to your comments to let everyone know that all our rooms are thoroughly cleaned and aired before every guest moves in. Unfortunately when you arrived on 17th June the storms had blown a little dust in under the open Velux windows and although we did offer to come and clean again your partner insisted that you would do this yourself. We also offered you free breakfasts (even though you were self-catering) for your stay, which you declined.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy Fingals and agree that a Travel Inn would suit you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fingals Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fingals Hotel

Address: Old Coombe, Dittisham, Dartmouth TQ6 0JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Dittisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dittisham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eccentric, quirky, unique, relaxed, different – Fingals is all of these and much, much more! A handsome Grade 2 listed Devon farmhouse which is mentioned in the Doomesday Book, Fingals has been family owned and run by Richard Johnston for the past 30 years. Richard has lovingly transformed the farmhouse into a luxurious country house hotel nestling in a tranquil Devon valley set back from the River Dart. As soon as you step through the front door you experience the warmth, relaxation and comfort which seems to hug you as you arrive! It is a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fingals Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fingals Hotel Dittisham, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fingals Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.