We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Stone Cafe

Anchor Stone Cafe
Manor Street, Dittisham, Dartmouth TQ6 0EX, England
01803 722365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Dittisham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
DEVON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“what a location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Despite having lived in dartmouth for many years we have never visited the Anchorstone. We caught the ferry up on a warm day and headed straight for the cafe. Whilst there was seating inside we preferred to sit outside and waited for a table. There was no staff member controlling tables so you have to loiter on the stairs outside waiting whilst trying not to make existing diners feel uncomfortable. There is a place to the side to wait, but someone else will nick your table if you are not watching.
That said, we got a table after half an hour or so and ordered our food.
Myself and daughter had fish and chips (one childs portion, one adult) and i thought the portions rather small for the price. £13.95 for a quite small cod and chips i felt was rather expensive.
It tasted good though and my husband had mussels which he said were fabulous.
My son, not a fish eater couldnt see anyhting on the menu he would eat as several choices had run out.
The Ashridge blush cider was delicious and the lemon tart the best i have ever had - and i have had a few. I cannot fault it for somewhere to sit for a leisurely lunch on a beautiful day.
The guy on the bar was chatty and friendly the girls waiting-on rather less so but service was quick .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    23
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful wonderful wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Park at the top of the hill, turn up early or book in advance
1/2 portions of everything for kids
Crab sandwich is well, just fabulous, not crab mixed with mayo, but full on crab sandwich
Mussels superb
House wine 'Sauvignon blanc' very drinkable, maybe too much:-)
High chairs provided, but hence I'd book
Sell crabbing kit
Great ice cream and desert selection
It's not white linen and some of today's clientele thought that's kids should be seen etc.....
But I'd recommend to anyone and ill be back

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish in gorgeous location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited Dittisham and the Anchor Stone Cafe following a recommendation from a friend who described her visit as the best crab sandwich she had ever had whilst enjoying a wonderful view. We couldn't agree more. It was a rainy, misty day which added to the atmosphere and we just managed to get the last table for lunch. The food was delicious, freshly made with scallops cooked to perfection. We went back later in the day for muscles which again were super fresh and cooked perfectly. You could sit for hours enjoying the view over the River Dart and the wonderful food. Highly recommended as a day out if you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous fresh fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Delicious fresh fish served alfresco, there are covered areas and a shed if its raining but its a fab view of the boats on the river and on a nice day its unbeatable. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The fish was super fresh, I had plaice and there was lots of it with a big salad and chips. Its very popular, it was packed on the sun we went, so best to book for the one 12 o'clock sitting to guarantee a table, after that its first come first served.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, U.K.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Having enjoyed superb food at the Anchorstone for many years I was a guest last week on the Anchorstone picnic boat. There really are not enough superlatives to describe the experience. Jasmine was a great hostess, the food, both choice and quality, was faultless. A fantastic afternoon. Thank you

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchor Stone Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Anchor Stone Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Stone Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.