We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this pub!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferry Boat Inn

Ferry Boat Inn
Manor Street | Dartmouth, Dittisham, Dartmouth TQ6 0EX, England
+44(0)1803 722368
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Dittisham
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Love this pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visit this pub every time we're in Dittisham, and it never fails.. It's cosy, friendly, and the food is great. The coveted bay window table is hard to get, but the view is worth it! Really lovely find. It's also easy to visit from Galmpton (Greenway), Totnes, and Dartmouth via boat - definitely worth the trip. It's a great crabbing spot for kids too! Be careful parking on the beach due to the tides though...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    49
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Proper old fashioned pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This pub had been recommended to us by the people we were renting a house off in Dartmouth and so we paid a trip. We parked in the little pay and display car park (£2 for 4 hours) next to the playing field and followed the little path along the waters edge - only problem was that the tide was in and the way was blocked - this meant a longer walk up some very steep hills, but is well signposted. Do not try and park outside - you can't, and run the risk of trying to reverse up a VERY steep and narrow lane!!!!!!
We were lucky as we had not booked and had gone for a late lunch/ early dinner and managed to get a large table next to the window - what a view!!!!
Its a tiny old fashioned pub unlike many we get these days, with busy friendly staff, and happy laughing patrons who spill outside onto the waters edge.
The food was substantial and plentiful and home cooked - again a rarity in this day and age, and although not gourmet was very nice - in fact we were so full we couldn't sample the deserts.
If i'm passing by again, its a place i would definitely call in to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“hefty price to pay for a long wait at the bar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We thought the place looked great - traditional pub in a great location so we thought it worth queuing for our cider. Shocked by the price after our 4 pints were pulled - £17 - that's £4.25 a pint!!!

Just up the hill at the Red Lion were gorgeous views and a pint was only £3.40 so no excuse for the high prices at the Ferry Boat Inn. Just taking the proverbial

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
templecombe
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely, lively pub by the river.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked a window seat and had a fantastic view of the boats and the river. Our meal was basic but good and the atmosphere was happy and friendly..

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent location, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Visited 13th July for lunch with the extended family, good food, good beer and a great view! Why remove my original review?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferry Boat Inn also viewed

Dittisham, Dartmouth
Salcombe, Devon
 

Been to Ferry Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferry Boat Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.