We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful break away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langstone Cliff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Langstone Cliff Hotel to your Saves list
Langstone Cliff Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful break away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We have stayed at the Langstone Cliff Hotel five times now and have never been disappointed, It is a wonderful hotel. The staff are very welcoming and the food is excellent . We stayed for three nights and recognised some of the staff who have been there many years. We had a family room with an outside door which was ideal as he took our doggie with us. We will definitely be back again soon and we can highly recommend it to couples or families.

Room Tip: If looking for a sea view try one with a balcony lovely a wonderful view right across to Exmouth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    99
    27
    6
    8
See reviews for
125
99
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Attended family wedding reception and stayed night at this brilliant hotel.
The wedding reception itself was excellent with real attention to detail. The food was excellent and staff attentive, helpful and friendly.
Bar reasonably priced.
We booked a family room and were pleasantly surprised to find that rather than a bed with sofa bed and put me ups this was actually a 3 bedroom suite.
There are many bars and lounges and even a discreet soft play area. Enjoyed a swim in the very clean swimming pool and all within view of the sea.
Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 19- family room which is actually a 3 bedroom suite which sleeps 5 plus decent sized bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wombourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Having read previous reviews of this hotel I was somewhat surprised and disappointed at the quality of the food served in the hotel.
We stayed for 1 night, and I have to say that the room was very clean and a very good size, the facilities are very good, and the overall 'feel' to the hotel very good.
But, and it's a big but.. the food was not to the standard I would expect for the price being paid - very much 'stuck in the 1970's'. It's a long time since I have seen 'fruit juice' and 'egg mayonnaise' being offered as a 'Starter'. Once we had progressed to 'the main' we were informed to help ourselves from the 'carvery style' counter..
We both opted for braised beef in peppercorn sauce, which was, at best, 'ok', but the choice of veg and accompaniments was 'puzzling' to say the least. I would not normally associate croquet potatoes, diced mixed veg and broad beans, with 'fine dining'. But on a brighter note we were allowed a desert AND cheese and biscuits if we wanted.
The other thing to note about the hotel, and it is entirely our own fault for not checking, but it is 'dog friendly', which, normally I would not have a problem with, but on the weekend that we stayed, it seemed like the K9 guests outnumbered the human ones on a scale of 2 to 1 !!!!

So, overall, a nice clean hotel, friendly staff, good facilities, but let down by outdated menu's and cheap over boiled, boil in the bag.

Room Tip: If you are allergic to Dogs, ask for a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hello,

And thank you for your comments.

We are delighted that you thought the hotel was excellent.

We are equally very disappointed that you did not like the dinner. We have spoken to the chef responsible for the menu on the day who agrees it was a mistake to offer egg mayonnaise on the menu even though it was requested. Fruit juice was not on the menu but we would happily have provided it if requested. The carvery is always an option or we would happily serve you at your table and all our waiting staff are instructed to make this clear, (it is also printed on every menu) if this was not the case we are sorry this did not occur.
We would not describe our restaurant as “fine dining” but we would say we offer good value, freshly prepared, wholesome cooking. It is not boil in the bag.

The number of dogs in the hotel can vary from day to day and we did have one day where there appeared to be quite a few animals in and around the hotel but this is not always the case and is in fact quite a rare event. There is a public footpath which passes through the hotel grounds leading to the beach and Dawlish warren and this is often used by dog walkers and can lead to the impression that there are more dogs residing in the hotel than there are.

Regards

Mark Rogers
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

also went for line dance Monday to Friday break food was very good plenty of choice I also tried their swimming pool twice and one time was the only one there wonderful their snacks were good as well Americano pizza we had Thursday was really good

Room Tip: had room 15 seemed a bit small
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

4 days at the Langstone Cliff line dancing. Staff very friendly - Service very good - Food good - Room comfortable - Facilities very good - all this put together made our stay relaxing and homely - thank you Langstone

Room Tip: I was in room 14 and found it very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Having stayed here now 3 times on business I must say that on each occasion the staff, food and rooms have been excellent. The staff have been very well trained especially the waiters, they are very friendly and polite, the food especially the breakfast is one of the best I have had. The rooms are very clean with decent showers, it is just a shame that I have stayed over the winter period and have not yet experienced the outdoor facilities.
I will certainly be staying here again and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I have just come back from a week at the Langstone, together with a large number of line dancers. Personally I think this should be a 4 star hotel, it is excellent. It takes a lot to impress me as I have had my own hospitality business in the past, but this hotel did. Accommodation, food, and especially the staff were excellent. I did not meet another line dancer at our event who was not singing the praises of this hotel. I am not racist, but it is so lovely to have English staff. All of them were happy, smiley folk who could not do enough for us. An absolute pleasure. A number of us have rebooked for next year, but as I am only one hour away, I am very tempted to take hubby there for a romantic break. 10 / 10. Thank you everyone.

Room Tip: If you need to use wi fi, choose a room overlooking the main garden/swimming pool area. I had diffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
64 bedroom 3 star hotel set in 19 acres of woodland overlooking the sea and Exe Estuary at Dawlish, south Devon close to Exeter and Torquay. The hotel has a wide range of leisure facilities including Indoor and outdoor heated pools, a fitness room, hairdressers, tennis court, snooker room and indoor and outdoor children's Play areas. The Hotel has free broadband Wi-Fi throughout the public rooms and bedrooms. There is ample free parking within the hotel grounds and public transport stops outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langstone Cliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.