We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue - lacklustre menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Langstone Cliff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Langstone Cliff Hotel to your Saves list
Langstone Cliff Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great venue - lacklustre menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. Whilst the location, rooms, facilities and service are absolutely fine - even great on occasion we have some serious concerns as to the evening menu. Afraid it's just uninspiring and old fashioned. Would like to see more adventurous menu using fresh local products. Wouldn't take much effort to lift the meals to meet the standards of the rest of the hotel? My personal feeling is you have no real competition when it comes to the food.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are sorry that you were disappointed with the style of the evening menu on the occasion of your visit, whilst we would agree that our menus to tend to be on the popular side rather than adventurous the menu does change every single day, so we do have an enormous variety of dishes served each week. We are always looking out for new dishes to try and introduce.

We do use fresh local produce, all of our fruit and vegetables except peas are fresh and sourced from a Torquay commercial green grocer, whilst most of our meat comes from a national firm of catering butchers, we are even provided with the details of the UK farm where the meat originated. Our sausages are sourced from an award winning Cullompton Butcher, Turton’s of Devon, who again use assured British meat sourced in the West Country. Our fish is sourced from the Uk’s Largest Independent seafood supplier.

Kind Regards

Mark Rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    100
    27
    7
    9
See reviews for
125
100
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth , Devon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have been to various functions here over the last few years and always enjoyed the food , service and friendliness of the staff. We recently stayed two nights and were made to feel totally 'at home'. Breakfast was lovely, followed by a splendid walk along the coastal path. We enjoyed a swim in the indoor pool which was just the right temperature. Dinner was delicious and the entertainment very enjoyable. This hotel is family run and the functions and dinner dances/tribute evenings are always well organised and well attended. We had several conversations with fellow guests in the lounge, most were returning guests which says it all! We always enjoy ourselves here and will continue to visit, as dogs are welcome, we may even treat ours to a day out at this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Not rooms over function rooms, balcony is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Seven adults and five children the best xmas day ever, service superb, food excellent, entertainment first class staff could not do enough for you cannot praise it enough for making the day so special.

Thank you very much Langstone Cliff for a lovely day we will see you again next year!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

stayed here for a family wedding in a family room. much better value if your staying as a couple but we weren't impressed by the facilities given the prices. we have stayed in much cleaner places.

the staff and views are lovely but the hotel doesn't quite match others in its category for value for moeny. we were woken by pumping house music at 7 in the morning due to the hotel hosting a national dance competition which was awful, they didn't tell the guests this would be taking place either.
The breakfast was cheap and watery.

i would never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hello

Thank you for your comments.

We endeavour to offer excellent value for money and are very disappointed that you feel that this was not the case. This is even more confusing when you state you booked a family room as children sharing family accommodation are free of charge for both meals and accommodation.
We are sorry that the cleanliness did not meet you expectations and would like to assure you that this is not normally the case.

As for your comments about loud music early in the morning we are a little at a loss, the only dance competition at the hotel in 2012 was at the beginning of July. The event was for young children and did not commence until after 9.00 am in order that the room could be cleared following the previous days event, there would not have been any music until after this time. We have not had any of this type of event since this time.

I am also sorry that you thought that breakfast was not as good as expected but again we get lots of compliments on our breakfast and it is very difficult for us to correct this after the event if we had known of your disappointment at the time we would have made every effort to correct this.

Once again we are sorry for you disappointment and we would love to have been to given the opportunity to address the shortcomings you perceived. We invest very heavily in the hotel and have done so for the last 65 years. We the “Family” are almost invariably on hand and try to surround ourselves with a team dedicated to your enjoyment of any visit to the Langstone Cliff Hotel

Kind Regards

Mark Rogers

Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have never been to this hotel before , but what a treat in store you have ....Nothing is too much trouble for the staff , as we stayed overnight for the Starcross Yacht Club Dinner / Dance . Everything was more or less exactly right , and a tribute to the owners of this family run hotel .
Coastal footpath goes right past the rear of the hotel which is worth a visit.
Ideal for families too , as several children were staying there , with indoor & outdoor pools , & play equipment .

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the coast , for a great view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I was 9 months old when I first visited this hotel and now I'm 16 and have been coming to this hotel every year since, the food is amazing and the staff feel like a second family to me and are all friendly I have made many friends over the years and we Can not wait for next year where it will be my 17 th time of coming and I am never disappointed I LOVE IT HERE !

Room Tip: For the less able room 57 is perfect for you because there is a close door that you can bring your l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Elizabeth,

Thank you very much for your kind Words.

Look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards

Mark Rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkleigh Devon England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have just come back from a Short Mat bowls break and as usual we had a great time.
The staff are excellent and everthing about the hotel is great. Lovely grounds and nice walks
down by the sea. Food was brilliant and lots of it. Would recomment this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if you want to see the sea ask for a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
64 bedroom 3 star hotel set in 19 acres of woodland overlooking the sea and Exe Estuary at Dawlish, south Devon close to Exeter and Torquay. The hotel has a wide range of leisure facilities including Indoor and outdoor heated pools, a fitness room, hairdressers, tennis court, snooker room and indoor and outdoor children's Play areas. The Hotel has free broadband Wi-Fi throughout the public rooms and bedrooms. There is ample free parking within the hotel grounds and public transport stops outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langstone Cliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.