We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sailor washes up in Dawlish Warren.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langstone Cliff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Langstone Cliff Hotel to your Saves list
Langstone Cliff Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sailor washes up in Dawlish Warren.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have never been to this hotel before , but what a treat in store you have ....Nothing is too much trouble for the staff , as we stayed overnight for the Starcross Yacht Club Dinner / Dance . Everything was more or less exactly right , and a tribute to the owners of this family run hotel .
Coastal footpath goes right past the rear of the hotel which is worth a visit.
Ideal for families too , as several children were staying there , with indoor & outdoor pools , & play equipment .

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the coast , for a great view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    105
    35
    7
    9
See reviews for
132
110
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I was 9 months old when I first visited this hotel and now I'm 16 and have been coming to this hotel every year since, the food is amazing and the staff feel like a second family to me and are all friendly I have made many friends over the years and we Can not wait for next year where it will be my 17 th time of coming and I am never disappointed I LOVE IT HERE !

Room Tip: For the less able room 57 is perfect for you because there is a close door that you can bring your l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Elizabeth,

Thank you very much for your kind Words.

Look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards

Mark Rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkleigh Devon England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have just come back from a Short Mat bowls break and as usual we had a great time.
The staff are excellent and everthing about the hotel is great. Lovely grounds and nice walks
down by the sea. Food was brilliant and lots of it. Would recomment this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if you want to see the sea ask for a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

It was back to the Langstone for a family break last weekend. As always the whole family (from 3 yrs to 67 yrs) enjoyed it, especially the Abba tribute band. The children make themselves at home very quickly and the facilities are ideal for them. We noticed that there had been several recent refurbishments (new mattresses on the beds, new shower units etc) and these enhanced our stay. The staff are always polite, friendly and helpful and remember us each time we visit. To receive such a warm welcome each time makes us feel very special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a lovely 2 day break at the Langstone Cliff Hotel, such a lovely location and easy access to Dawlish by train which we enjoyed, Staff were really polite and efficient. Rooms were very clean and a good size, I have to add the chocolate we bought from the hotel was delicious, had bought a couple for presents as well, wish I had kept them........
Loved it all will certainly return at some stage.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just spent a weekend here to celebrate a 40 the wedding anniversary with 19 in our party, in a variety of rooms.
This hotel had a stunning location, walking distance to the warren, beautiful grounds a plethora of well considered facilities to cover the needs of all aged guests. Tastefully decorated but not pretentious, comfortable and well kept.
Above all the staff were phenomenal. Especially Mark (bar manager) who treated our children like extra special guests, made us all feel extremely welcome, and to whom nothing seemed too much trouble. Also posey (reception) who tirelessly put up with my husbands 2 sound checks and then listened for our children.
I really can't say enough to praise the staff or the hotel. We will be returning again soon. Maybe family Christmas.
The food was excellent at breakfast, bar food and snacks were very reasonably priced and thoroughly enjoyed by all 19 of us. Our dinner (celebratory for the occasion) in the restaurant was a self service, was perfectly respectable and served at table at our request, Raspberry lemon cheesecake was heavenly.
Thank you langstone for making a special family celebration something completely unforgettable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lovely location within walking distance of the beach with a railway adjacent. This is definietly a bonus for those who like trains. We arrived at the same time as a coach party but were very efficiently processed by the reception staff. The room was large and comfortable with a sea view. Nothng was too much trouble for the staff. We requested duvets instead of sheets and blankets and a mini fridge. These were supplied very promptly. The breakfast was very good with a wide range. I was able to have porridge with soya milk; not often available. There was plenty of comfortable seating and two pools, one outdoor. It was very pleasant to have the personal service which is only available in a family run hotel. My only criticism was the standard of food in the restaurant in the evening, and the noisy disruption caused by a wedding on the Saturday afternoon. Despite this I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
64 bedroom 3 star hotel set in 19 acres of woodland overlooking the sea and Exe Estuary at Dawlish, south Devon close to Exeter and Torquay. The hotel has a wide range of leisure facilities including Indoor and outdoor heated pools, a fitness room, hairdressers, tennis court, snooker room and indoor and outdoor children's Play areas. The Hotel has free broadband Wi-Fi throughout the public rooms and bedrooms. There is ample free parking within the hotel grounds and public transport stops outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langstone Cliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.