We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Langstone Cliff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Langstone Cliff Hotel to your Saves list
Langstone Cliff Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Devon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Visited for lunch on a Saturday afternoon; family treat. We decided to eat where the outside tables were situated, next to the child play area. We were treated so rude by a barman for visiting the bar, ordering food and spending our hard earned money at this hotel. There was then lots of dog and rabbit faeces on the lawn next to the childs play area, which is a definite health hazard. What was not a health hazard however was the £8.50 deep fried cod in breadcrumbs that had obviously come frozen and out of a box (are there no chefs in this hotel?) and was cooked so much it was hard to cut, with frozen peas that had lost their colour. The chips, also frozen and out of a bag were dry and were perhaps left over from another customer, and reheated. Shocking place!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for your comments which you have posted on Trip Advisor.

I was disappointed and very upset to read this and have spent some considerable time investigating this incident which is complicated by not knowing the correct time and date. Especially as the last few Saturdays have been very busy with Multiple Weddings, Anniversaries, Birthdays, holidays and weekend breaks all taking place at the hotel.

We pride ourselves on our friendly but professional approach and if one of our team was deliberately rude to you this is unforgivable and for this I humbly apologise.

You state you were disappointed in the quality of your food and location; this is not normally the case as we receive many compliments on our food and location.

If this had been raised at the time we would have done our utmost to correct any shortcomings.

Kind regards

Mark Rogers
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    105
    35
    7
    9
See reviews for
132
110
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed for two nights, the rooms was spacious and clean. Lovely location and easy to find (although my Satnav took me down a windy bumpy lane to save a minute off the journey). Dawlish itself was a disappointment so we went back to the hotel for an evening meal which was perfect.

Breakfast was good, plenty of it and the staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Lovely welcoming but unobtrusive hotel very near to beach. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Food was very nice and plenty of it. Reasonably priced. Rooms were comfortable with all the usual requirements. Would be happy to recommend and will definitely go back again. Perfect for couples and families alike.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you, we hop to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was our third visit to this hotel, excellent food, staff and accomodation,lovely grounds and views, booked double room but had family room with balcony excellent for us and the dog. Will be back again and again health permitting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We would normally stay at 4* plus hotels in the UK, but this is a real find. The hotel is small, only 66 rooms, and a good number of them have a extra bed for children. Them hotel is clean and comfortable, the staff are helpful, and smile a lot. Though the waiting staff were all white young, they were very efficient. Breakfast was very good, dinner was carvery style, the dessert trolle is very good, but the cheese board lacks anything special, but perfect for us as a short break with a child. Thus the food was plentiful, hearty and good. The indoor pool needs some attention. The bedrooms were typical for a three star hotel, though the pillows lack stuffing, with sheets and blankets rather than duvets. The real gem of this hotel is the 60ft sq Canadian maple dance floor. I would love to come and stay for one of their dance holidays.

Room Tip: Check to see if your room is over one of the function rooms, the staff telephoned us back on booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you, we placed the order for additional duvets and replacement pillows last week so expect to switch over to duvets by default towards the end of the week. Blankets and sheets will of course still be available for those who prefer them on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed several holidays in the 70s and 80s as a child and a teenager - and we went back after some 25 years and it has changed, sorry developed for the better. Accommodation up to date and comfortable. Facilities fitting for today - good indoor pool. Great soft play for the children. Tennis court (great memories too). Outdoor pool a little chilly but after all it was beginning of September! Great expanse of grounds for children to enjoy freedom with great parent visibility. Food was good. Entertainment tailed off as end of season - but funny guy as an entertainer on the Friday night - sorry forgotten his name but great company!

Room Tip: GOod choice - but DO ask about choices of family rooms (some larger accommodation available) and gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely everything was perfect. The staff, the hotel and the grounds were spot on.

Excellent breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff and will definately return.

Beware weekend trips, as functions can get noisy and go on rather late.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langstone Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Cliff Hotel

Address: Mount Pleasant Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Langstone Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
64 bedroom 3 star hotel set in 19 acres of woodland overlooking the sea and Exe Estuary at Dawlish, south Devon close to Exeter and Torquay. The hotel has a wide range of leisure facilities including Indoor and outdoor heated pools, a fitness room, hairdressers, tennis court, snooker room and indoor and outdoor children's Play areas. The Hotel has free broadband Wi-Fi throughout the public rooms and bedrooms. There is ample free parking within the hotel grounds and public transport stops outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Langstone Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Cliff Dawlish
Langstone Cliff Hotel Dawlish, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langstone Cliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.