We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More for family's with children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse
Beach Way | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0NF, England
+44 1626 888899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 45 Restaurants in Dawlish
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: English, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a family friendly, family run freehouse bar and restaurant right on the seafront at Dawlish Warren. We provide everything from Seattles Finest Coffees to a full menu that covers lunchtime snacks to hearty main courses and desserts to die for. We have a separate childrens menu and a free soft play area for our younger guests. Along with a great range of local ales, we have a full range of lagers, bitters and ciders both draught and bottled. Our wines are a great blend of classics and new world. We are happy to welcome any four legged friends in our lower bar area and outside balconies as long as they are happy to mix with our other guests. With stunning views of the surrounding coastline and just two minutes from the sandy beaches, The Boathouse is a perfect venue for any occasion
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“More for family's with children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Good selection of food on menu and real ale at bar.
Food a bit greasy and fries with everything ,prices high considering
Be warned kids play area inside and upstairs and can get very loud.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    67
    52
    22
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The staff were friendly and the children's play area is good for keeping little ones happy. The food was typical of many family pubs -pretty disappointing and bland really.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“willing to please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

we had a family holiday in Dawlish and had seen the boathouse so we rang to see if they could fit us in (7 adults & 9 children ) they quickly arranged this for us . when we arrived we were shown to our tables . the food came quickly . but was duplicated and things got a little fraught . the pork was under cooked and had to be sent back . but under the circumstances and the rest of the meals were ok the staff were doing the best to please and the manager gave us 2 free sweets for sharing .
there is a large car park 50 metres away next to railway station .the boathouse is right next to beach . they also have cask ales . prices were average for the area worth a try

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A pleasant meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This family pub/restaurant has fantastic views of the sea. A good selection on the menu, though cleanliness was not great on the day we visited with a lot of the tables needing a good clean

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor poor poor overpriced for baby portions”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The menu was not very big the prices for what you got were ridiculous very loud the only good thing was the indoor play area to keep kids occupied while we took a minute to relax

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

 

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boathouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.