We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dawlish Accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marine Tavern

The Marine Tavern
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawlish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Marine Tavern
2 Marine Parade, Dawlish, England   |  
Ranked #7 of 11 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dawlish Accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great value stay. Needed accommodation in Dawlish, due to an early start next day and didn't fancy a long early drive. Chose the Marine Tavern from reviews and wasn't disappointed. It is what is said - good basic accommodation at a very reasonable price. Friendly, helpful staff, great breakfast, all cooked fresh, with a great selection, papers included. Room and bathroom basic, but what more do you need? Well stocked with biscuits , tea, coffee, etc. would definitely stay again, rather than more expensive, soulless hotels. Word of warning - no food on a Monday night, can't blame the owner, as Dawlish is a 'ghost town' on a wet Monday in May - whole town deserted! Landlord did offer opportunity to bring any 'take away' food in, but managed to find an open Chinese, (which was excellent) but was their only customer!

Room Tip: I had booked the cheaper room without sea view, but as only one staying, was 'upgraded' to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
davew5705
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A return visit to the Marine Tavern in Dawlish and once again it was excellent. We were made to feel very welcome, the whole atmosphere is friendly and relaxed and nothing was too much trouble for the staff and owners. Our son Nathaniel loves staying here and thinks it is his home from home and the owners were brilliant with him. We again stayed in the front family room and enjoyed the view of the sea and landscape from the bedroom window, our son loves the view of the trains going past too.
The breakfast was plentiful and superb.
We again had the pleasure of having an evening meal during our stay, and this was also very good and great value, looking forward to our next visit this summer. from very satisfied customers , Mr & Mrs Wolverson and Nathaniel.

Room Tip: Sea Views are excellent our son loves the bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

If your in Dawlish Devon and fancy a drink or some quality pub grub The Marine Tavern would be a good choice. Think I've been through the menu many times and never had a bad meal yet. Can get busy in holiday times but worth the wait. Nice place to sit outside and good to watch trains if that's your interest.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have stayed here a few times and had lovely food ,good home cooked meals ,fab breakfast ,Morning papers ,then a walk along the seafront , staff were more than welcome to have us stay again ,they are friendly, always smiling .If you want to have a lovely place stay come here judge for yourself ,Its Perfect anytime of the year ,,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Good drink prices, nice bar staff and good quality home cooked food. I've been in for a meal during the day, during the evening and for drinks later in the evening and always received service with a smile.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Had a last minute few days off before starting back at work and where better to stay than "The Marine Tavern". Arrived on the Thursday at around 1730hrs and felt very welcomed by the barmaid, who quickly showed us to our room "cabin 4". Amazing views from the window and very spacious, shower was a little low for me, but easy to adapt and overcome that. I must say the bed was a little squeaky but didn't stop us from getting a good nights sleep.

It was quiz night on the Thursday, so what a good way to get to know the locals, sat just next to the bar, great selection of ciders and ales. We found the owners very friendly and welcoming and ended up drinking and chatting with them till last orders.

Breakfest was the best i've had in ages and great service with a smile. I did try the Pork pie and chutney on the friday and wow a very nice choice it was.

To sum this place up, Very welcoming staff, Great location, Great food. We will be coming back here again.

Thank you

Room Tip: Any room with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great location on the seafront, very well kept ale (Otter) and an enjoyable end to a good day, just that it could be a really freindly welcoming place to go, but isn't (at least out of season) - just a locals' haunt. My own view on the day I went of course, but I didn't feel particularly welcome; probably better if you live in Dawlish.

Room Tip: If you get the right weather, forget what is inside and get out on the terrace - makes it worth a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Marine Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Tavern

Address: 2 Marine Parade, Dawlish, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Also Known As:
The Marine Tavern Dawlish, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marine Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Marine Tavern to your Saves list