We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Bed and Breakfast...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beeches

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawlish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beeches
Save
You added The Beeches to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15a Old Teignmouth Road, Dawlish EX7 0NJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Faversham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Gem of a Bed and Breakfast...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at The Beeches for two nights, whilst attending a works event nearby. From the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble. We were welcomed with a nice cup of coffee and home made biscuits, then shown to a wonderful clean, light and airy room. The bed was very comfortable and the B&B in a very quiet area, so we had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was very nice and well presented, tasty and home made jam for the toast.
Stay here and you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
41
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lyneham, Wilts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Beaches Guest House is situated in a quiet residential road about a mile or so from Dawlish town. The house is just off the main road and within walking distance of the Smugglers pub and restaurant, which can be recommended for meals etc. The Guest House accommodation is all part of the same large modern house where the proprietors (Christine and Ian) actually live. It is somewhat like going to stay over a friend’s house but not having access to their private rooms.

It is very obvious that Christine and Ian take great pride in their business and we would find it very hard (if not impossible) to pass any criticisms. Our deluxe room was one of three bedrooms all found at the top of the house and was exceptionally large, spacious and had the most wonderful sea view. Our room, like the rest of the house was immaculate, pleasantly furnished and spotlessly clean. Even though we stayed in May it was quite chilly in the evenings and thankfully the heat was turned on which was a great comfort. I have to say that this has to be one of the quietest places we have ever had the pleasure to stay in, even the other guests seemed to respect this. There was even a note stuck on the remote control for the TV requesting that guests to keep the volume below a certain prescribed level – great!

Breakfast was excellent and it appeared that the majority of ingredients were either sourced locally or home made. Christine and Ian were friendly and welcoming but did not overdo the small talk and platitudes, which made us, feel comfortable and relaxed. Well done to the Beeches, we would defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in the Delux room you wont regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just got back from a 5 night stay at this lovely b&b. We stayed in the suite which had fantastic views as well as being spacious and comfortable. Breakfast each day was cooked to perfection and set us up till our evening meal. A good choice available as well: cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, smoked haddock, pancakes, juices and a full english of your choice. We travelled by train and enjoyed walking or using public transport to get around locally. If we needed any advice, Ian and Christine were more than happy to help and genuinely seemed happy to chat and offer there assistance. Homemade biscuits or sweets placed in the room each day (which my partner assures me were lovely!) was a nice touch. Whilst chatting with Ian and Christine after breakfast the morning we left, i commented that according to tripadvisor they are only the third best b&b in Dawlish, the two above must be exceptional to beat here!
Tony & Jo (Staines)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We've just returned home from a weekend at The Beeches and wish we could have stayed longer.

We were welcomed warmly by Christine and Ian as they sat us down to enjoy coffee after our long drive from the Lake district. Our deluxe room was lovely, clean, tidy, spacious (the photo doesn't do it justice!) and we had all the facilities we needed as well as a variety of hot drinks available in our room. It was lovely waking up, in a very comfy bed, to a view over the garden, towards the sea and then sitting down to a tasty breakfast and friendly conversation.

Thank you to you both for welcoming us into your home and making our stay an extremely comfortable one. We've advised our friend to recommend you to all of his guests!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked the last available room which unfortunately was not en-suite but it did have a private bathroom adjacent to our bedroom. This was not a problem at all and bathrobes were provided for our use. Our first impressions were that everything was very clean and tidy but there did appear to be quite a lot of rules and regulations posted everywhere which did detract from making us feel comfortable. We stayed for 2 nights and the breakfast was very good and plentiful. The owners were helpful with local information and overall we had a pleasant stay and if in the area we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have just come back from our weekend stay there and have to say it was fantastic. We treated ourselves to the deluxe room as it was our anniversary the following week to spoil our selves. I just wish i had booked in for longer. The room was immaculate and so big. The en-suite bathroom was immaculate and very roomy. Christine and Ian are so nice you feel like you know them the moment you walk through the door. I cannot recommend this place enough. The breakfasts where gorgeous. I loved the coffee, i could have drunk that all day. Thank you both for a fabulous stay and we will definately be booking in at the Beeches next time we come to Dawlish. Sue and Bob

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, SWI
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Lovely detached house down a small cul de sac so in a quiet location. Impeccably clean (I am picky) and well furnished throughout. Our room and the (new) en suite were spotless - only minor suggestion I would make is a hand rail in the shower/bath to help balance when climbing over the side of the bath. Comfy bed, tea/coffee, hairdrier, torch, tv, clock provided. The house is fitted throughout with a beautiful cream coloured carpet - hallways, stairs, landings, rooms and bathrooms. Would maybe suggest they provide slippers to keep it clean - would hate to think it would get spoiled. Breakfast very good with good slection for hot or buffet. Extremely efficient and curtious hosts. Highy reccommend; there is nothing that would deter me from staying again. Well done!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beeches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches

Address: 15a Old Teignmouth Road, Dawlish EX7 0NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beeches 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Beeches Dawlish, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beeches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.