We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit this year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welcome Family Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawlish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welcome Family Holiday Park
Save
You added Welcome Family Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Dawlish Warren Road, Dawlish EX7 0PH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Second Visit this year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just returned from our second visit this year. Check in at reception was friendly and sheets on collection were as usual fresh and clean. We usually have a caravan, but decided to try the casamigo this time. Glad we did, it was very spacious and so comfortable. Everything was clean and tidy generally,there was a fair bit of dust around bed frame but that took seconds with a damp cloth to put right! The bathroom was spotless and we loved the shower. The mattress was so much more comfortable than the caravans. The heaters in all rooms heated up the lodge nicely, so we were always warm and comfy, despite the very damp weather last week! The only very minor complaint I would make is that the windows both inside and out could have done with a clean, but that in no way spoilt our holiday! We will definitely be back next year, hopefully the weather will be nicer and we may get to sit on the decking taking in the sun!!

Room Tip: If you like a little more comfort definitely go for a lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We’re really glad you enjoyed the lodge experience – they really are home from home aren’t they? The Casamigos are our pet friendly lodge so it’s great news if you want to treat your pet to a holiday too!

As for the weather – it was pretty awful but we’re so pleased you didn’t let it stop you having a great time – when booking for next year make sure you ask us to order you some sunshine – not guaranteed but as always we will do our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    117
    55
    18
    16
See reviews for
283
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in one of your bungalows number 333. Was very clean and the beds were really comfy. We had a problem with the tv on arrival and maintenance came straight out to sort it. We can't wait to come back next year. :)

K. Thompson

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We’re pleased you reported the TV problem to us so we could sort it out for you immediately – you would be surprised how many people don’t give us the opportunity!

We can’t wait for you to come back either – see you in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have just come back from a very last minute week's stay at Welcome Family. Having had a horrific experience at Pontins earlier in the year I wasn't entirely sure about booking a park like this again but the reviews were good.
The location is good, walking distance to Dawlish Warren and a short drive to Dawlish town, couple of miles to Sainsburys, 12 miles to either Torquay or Exeter.
Dawlish Warren is very pretty - probably lovely and busy in the summer but a little quiet at this time of year and we didn't see the funfair open at all.
Overall it was a lovely park, we booked a Silver Reef caravan so our two young boys could each have a separate room. It was plenty big enough - I was surprised just how big it was inside and fairly clean. It had most of the things you need but some essentials (in my eyes anyway!) missing - oven gloves (the oven incinerated everything we put in it including our fingers!), a couple of wine glasses would be handy (all the glasses were thimble sized!), salt & pepper in the pots would be handy - do people really fill them and empty them every week?!
The heating was good except one of our son's rooms didn't have a wall heater like the others, although it did have a heating switch. After 3 nights of him waking up screaming at 3am, I slept in his bed and have never been so cold in my life!
The swimming pools were nice and clean but seemed to lack any atmosphere or a
anything to make us want to visit it more than once (we had thought we would be in there every day!) Slides or wave machines or at least some music would make it so much better!
What disappointed me most of all was the entertainment. The clubhouse room is plenty big enough so no difficulty getting a table and the drinks prices were really reasonable. On the first night we were greeted by the police outside mob-handed, checking CCTV. Then they stormed in, arrested someone then dragged them out. The entertainment that night was awful so we didn't bother going back for a couple of days. The next time we went my 3 year year old was dancing on stage then got deliberately punched square on the nose by an older kid so we couldn't even let him leave us to enjoy himself! We went to the kids disco once but at 6pm it was too early for us - that's when we are eating dinner. We did go another couple of times in the evening and you can see the entertainment team work hard on their routines but none of them appealed at all, nor did the bingo which we actively avoided and is at the peak time of the evening. We went along to the family wii afternoon expecting lots of consoles and lots of games. There was one console with bowling and a long queue of kids to have a go. The one with the highest score won - even my 3 year old was bored by it!
We were due to stay a week but left after 6 days - not that it was terrible we were just bored. There wasn't enough to do locally, we didnt sleep well in the beds, we wanted to go to Paignton Zoo but the weather put paid to that. We did visit Torquay, Exeter, Paignton which were nice places. A week out of season was too long - really 4 days would have been more than enough.
I would recommend for a summer holiday or long weekend but I feel we have seen enough so will go elsewhere next time although if there are others in the chain we would probably visit one of those.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback – both good and bad. We’re really surprised you didn’t enjoy the pool complex – this is one of our most popular activities and the fun pool has water falls and bubbles to enjoy!

The temperature has really dropped suddenly so it isn’t surprising you felt the cold at night – we are on hand with extra blankets and we also hire out additional heaters so there really is no need to suffer!

We’re sorry to hear you experienced trouble in the clubhouse – our Security team keep a watchful eye out to ensure our guests can enjoy themselves feeling safe and comfortable in the knowledge that someone is on hand to help if needed.

The majority of our guests really enjoy the our varied entertainment programme – whether it’s the kid’s activities, bingo, west-end style shows or just soaking up the ambience while enjoying something to eat and drink – we feel we cater for all families, all ages. We’re sorry you didn’t enjoy it but we will always go with what the majority want - and if this changes then so will we!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for a week in late september, we had booked two casita lodges one of which was to hve a ramp as we had wheelchair users. upon arrival we were given our keys but found out that there was no ramp for the disabled wheel chair user.
The staff were very helpful and it was quickly resolved that we were offerd a different lodge with a ramp which was a bit smaller than the accomadation that we should of had.
for this mishap we were refunded the price difference and were given free money off vouchers to use in the clubhouse.
Could probably do with having a couple of spare removeable ramps that fix onto the steps.
They do have quite a few lodges at this park with ramps.
The casita lodge was very nice inside, but the matresses in the bedroom could do with updating.
The park is mainly aimed at familys with children, but is nice for anybody that wants to go.
The clubhouse itself is fairly big inside with plenty of tables for you to sit at, you can also order food here. they have bingo in the evening and some entertainment.
The park is nice and tidy.
all in all we had a very nice stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
As we only have a few lodges with permanent wheelchair ramps it is extremely important for special requirements to be declared at the booking stage.

We’re pleased we were able to offer you alternative accommodation more suitable for your needs without having an impact on the enjoyment of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have just returned from a very enjoyable week with Welcome. Overall, we were very happy with our stay with only a very few minor gripes. So, I'll try and be brief but also cover as many areas as I can.

First off, the park location is great. Dawlish Warren is a nice little place and it's only a short walk from the park (well, from where our lodge was located!) to the sea and to the train station. We stayed in one of the Casita lodges and these were located to the front of the park. This was very handy as we could just pop to the supermarket over the road, or to the chippy which was less than 20 yards away!

The Casita was nice. It could do with a little refresh - a lick of paint would make a huge difference - but was an excellent size with a decent lounge/dining area/kitchen space and three bedrooms. All three bedrooms were of a good size and miles better than standard caravan bedrooms. The beds, though, were standard caravan size - i.e. a tad smaller than normal and it was a bit of nuisance bashing our feet against the railings at the bottom of our double bed - a differently designed frame would have been most welcome! The mattress was fine though, always a gamble, and the single bed for our son was fine. Our seven month old made use of a travel cot in the third bedroom. The overall cleanliness was OK. There was a fair amount of dust about, some spider webs etc. but we weren't too amused with the hairs in the shower or funny smell in the double bedroom. The front door handle was also hanging off so I reported that and the shower to reception. The handle was fixed promptly but the hairs remained so I don't know if the cleaners were sent back to our lodge or not - I assume not. A quick note about the travel cots, while here. We were told we couldn’t reserve one in advance and so arranged one on arrival. However, we then had to wait for a chap to do the cot deliveries to the accommodation which resulted in our baby not being able to go to bed until over an hour later than normal. It would be much better to be able to pick the cot up there and then.

The walls, both external and internal, were to be a lot thicker than those of a standard caravan too, plus we had 'proper' double glazed windows rather than the flimsy caravan ones. With the windows shut, we weren't bothered by the (very frequent) trains at all.

On to the park itself. It’s very well kept and well laid out, with the accommodation not squashed together. The swimming pools were great and never too busy. There were always two or three lifeguards on duty although sometimes they seemed more interested in chatting to each other than keeping watch over the swimmers. The building and water temperatures were nice and warm. There was a travel cot in the changing area to assist with baby changing - good addition. Our son loved both the play area and crazy golf as well.

We didn't see much of the evening entertainment, only the earlier part for the children, but our son loved having a run and dance to the music and 'sort of' joining in with some of the games! Bar and food prices in the club seemed on par with any other pub so no complaints there.

We had several trips out and about (Dartmoor, Paignton zoo, train ride to Teignmouth, Torquay etc.) and found everywhere was easily accessible from our base. Plus, due to the decent size of the lodge, it was always nice to get back there and stick the kettle on!

Overall, a fun time was had by all and we were all sad to leave. The park seemed to be of an overall better quality compared to a lot of others we have been to, and I think a lot of this is down the fact that most people there are holiday-makers rather than people who own private caravans and are more like 'residents'. Without a captive audience, they need to try harder than others to attract customers, and they most definitely succeed in this respect. I can heartily recommend a stay here in this beautiful part of the country! Any questions, just shout.

Room Tip: If you don't like trains, avoid accommodation near the train lines! If you can, go for a Casita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We’re sorry for giving you incorrect information about the travel cots – you can reserve them in advance but as we allocate most of our accommodation on arrival we are unable to have the cot waiting for the guest inside. However, if your need is urgent due to babys bedtime then we would make sure you have the cot within your chosen timeframe – just ask!

Regarding your comments on our Lifeguards – rest assured we will pass this onto our Pool Supervisor to ensure they keep their attention where it should be at all times.

Overall it sounds like you had a great time and appreciated our extra efforts to ensure our guests have a memorable holiday – we hope to see you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed Friday to Monday, and really wanted to stay longer! We have decided next year we are coming for a week. The caravan was so clean, fully equipt with all the essentials. The pool was a hit with the kids, the entertainment was absolutely brilliant!!!! All in all I would reccommend this park to anyone, we had a fabulous time,thankyou :-))))

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your great comments – we’re really pleased you enjoyed your little “taster” of Welcome Family. We hope you can join us again next year for a longer break – you can book right now if you fancy it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights Mon-Fri in a silver reef 3 bed caravan. Caravan was slightly tired but Very clean. Living room and kitchen spacious but bedrooms and seperate bathroom/toilet were a little cramped for 4 adults. Location was good only a flat 10 min walk from beach. Facilities were excellent with kids club and numerous swimming pools. Entertainment was varied with a different show every night ( I must say the entertainment team work very hard). Prices were good for a holiday park i.e. Carling, Magners £3.10 a pint, in fact they were cheaper for drinks than most of the other pubs in Dawlish Warren! Overall a very nice break but will probaly stay in a gold/higher grade of accomodation next time, purely for extra space and comfort!

Room Tip: Stay away from the caravans that back on to the railway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
The typical caravan bathroom layout can be a little on the smaller side for some people’s requirements so if you’re looking for space and comfort then you must try one of our lodges next time! It will give you a real sense of luxury so you won’t be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welcome Family Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Family Holiday Park

Address: Dawlish Warren Road, Dawlish EX7 0PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Dawlish
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Family Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Family Holiday Park in Dawlish Warren, Devon is a friendly, independent, family run park with a genuine customer focus, offering all you need to make your holiday in Devon a wonderful and memorable experience. With a great range of facilities and located just a few minutes level walk from the award winning Blue Flag beach, there is something for everyone. See why so many of our customers return! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Welcome Family Holiday Park Hotel Dawlish
Welcome Family Holiday Park Dawlish, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welcome Family Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.