We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“desperate for a face lift and new management.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sands Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawlish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Sands Holiday Park
Week Lane, Dawlish EX7 0LZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
sussex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“desperate for a face lift and new management.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We booked a week here based on the need for a good value holiday and the need for an indoor pool in the British weather. Neither of the criteria was met. As we drove in we said "Oh God". The entrance is bleak with nothing to welcome you. We were given a card with a colour on it. This was for the check in ritual which was clearly designed to get a certain type of client into the bar to spend money they can't afford.We went into Dawlish and onto Teignmouth(good place to go for typical seaside activities) during this time! When we got into our accommodation we found it was not new as promised. when asked for a reason for this the receptionist said that she did not know why we had been told we would be in a new home. I realised that any attempt to have a sensible discussion was going to be futile. The van itself was just o.k but I had to chase up bed linen and there was a fairly unpleasant smell which had made itself at home. I sensed that there was only one poor lady to do all the cleaning and that the general manager was happy to swan round in the office dressed like Simon Cowell pretending to sort people's problems. My son's room really had a nasty smell and he ended up with me while my husband slept in the lounge area.
When my son and I decided to go to the pool it became clear that the indoor pool was tiny especially when filled with teenagers and as the weather was bad at first we could not make use of it. It was badly in need of updating.
The thing that really got to us was that when we walked through Peppermint Park next door it was beautifully kept. The loos were modern and upon looking at the website I realise that anyone arriving there would think that the pool on our site was in Peppermint park. If we had arrived at Peppermint Park we would have had a completely different view.
It is no surprise that there are loads of vacancies for Golden Sands and none for Peppermint park. This park is designed to get a cetain sort of person in and fleece them.
We went in the bar ONCE and I had a gin and tonic and was immediately given a double measure without being asked. Obviously for some people this is an attraction but they do pay for it.
All in all we just used it as a base but it held nothing for us. Two nights in a hotel in Exeter afterwards made us realise what poor value it was. We had a pool and breakfast provided for not much more.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    111
    89
    72
    194
See reviews for
325
72
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

As per previous reviews, the entertainment crew are excellent. The food, when it finally arrives is good, but don't expect to be in and out quickly. Get there ealy or there's no where to sit to eat your meal! Yes the whole camp is DESPERATELY in need of a revamp. We stayed in a chalet. The washing facilities are a joke! A wash basin in a corner that you struggle to even clean your teeth in. Screws for handles in the sink doors. Thank goodness we didn't have kids with us.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

We stayed at the golden sands site all I can say is my caravan was filthy. Kim and Aggie would have had a field day. I had to get someone to clean the toilets as what was left in them was VILE!
The caravan as a whole was ok just unimaginably dirty.

We're not ones for the entertainment side but we could hear it from our caravan which isn't ideal when I have a 5 and a 2 year old that need their sleep.

We took the kids to the swimming pool >> well just as dirty, the lifeguards just sat chatting and didn't make any effort to enforce the pool rules.

Such as shame as Dawlish itself was lovely but won't stay at the golden sands again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsden - Yorkshire
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

I would not advise anyone to stay at the 'Golden Sands park' until it has had a major overal , the site is certainly not want i expected from reading the brochure - the site has a very 'run down feel' and the chalets look like (without being rude to old people) 'run down' old peoples accommodation or a 50's 'HI-DE-HI' episode - it was depressing .
Although the standard of the Caravan was in general, very good, the position and outside amenities were not. Despite the ‘Gold plus’ label our caravan had – we were certainly disappointed by both the view and position on the site.
Other issues :-
1. We were surprised that the site do not offer or supply any outside furniture on which to sit out to either enjoy the sun, have a meal or barbecue.
2. Out of two windows we had a view of three Gas storage containers – a little disconcerting at the proximity (appox 8 meters). At the very least these should have been hidden from view by a screen of some sort - we noticed another 3 of these Gas containers in another part of the pack - again very close to several caravans.
3. Part of the site is situated next to (or rather backed up against) a very visable (and at times noisy) industrial complex.
4. Our Caravan was labelled as ‘Gold Plus’, which is advertised as having heating in the bedrooms (page 13 in 2009 brochure) – ours did not – when we questioned this fact we were offered portable heaters – which were , disappointingly never supplied. Therefore, the only difference between our gold plus 2 and a silver plus 2 was a DVD player and £105!
The Park
Although the brochure highlighted the fact that the site was a ‘new Park’ for 09 – it is plainly a very old site – and as it is advertised as a ‘family friendly’ site we were very disappointed in the general layout and amenities
1. The site has a general feel of being ‘old and tired’
2. There is no privacy at all between any of the caravans – I may have been ‘spoilt’ by the euro camp caravans/park sites I have previously stayed at, these sites tend to have a hedge or other screen between the caravans which offer a sense of privacy.
3. The amusement arcade did not open until 12 noon, closing again at 2pm not to reopen until 6pm.

The only plus point to our recent stay at this park was the area - would certainly recommend a visit to the Dawlish area - BUT NOT AT THIS PARK!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbury w-midlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

The accommodation was shocking.chalet number B15 had not been cleaned
before we arrived.
Dog hair, Mould in the fridge, bedrooms and shower room.
Kitchen was infested with ants coming out of the electric socket next to
the fridge.
Shower plug was full of hair.
Went back to reception and got the key for chalet number B8 not much
better, decorated and furnished by Alf Garnett.
The cooker was about 30 years old and needed matches to light it.
The childrens bedroom window was rotten and ready to fall out.
Me and my partner saw the misleading pictures of the chalets on the web
site and booked our holiday for 7 nights but gave up after 6
nights and left,we would of left sooner but didn't want to upset the
children.
Attached are some of the pictures taken from B15 and B8.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Holiday Park

Address: Week Lane, Dawlish EX7 0LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Specialty lodging in Dawlish
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands has all the facilities you would expect from a top quality holiday park and the atmosphere is also very friendly. We have a reputation for providing some of the best holiday park entertainment around - and you can enjoy top class shows on most nights - all in the price! In fact that's one of the main reasons so many people come back year after year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Holiday Park Hotel Dawlish
Golden Sands Holiday Park Dawlish, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sands Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Golden Sands Holiday Park to your Saves list