We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sands Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawlish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Sands Holiday Park
Save
You added Golden Sands Holiday Park to your Saves list
Week Lane, Dawlish EX7 0LZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Dawlish
Lydney, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

just got back from a fab holiday in golden sands the caravan was fab the staff r friendley the food is nice the only problem i came accross was booking in it was a nightmere it took far to long to get booked in there were big long ques and very angry people it needs to be looked in to other wise it was a perfect holiday resort

Room Tip: all the caravans were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for the review.

I am sorry that your holiday did not start well with the checking in, but am pleased that you enjoyed it and hope you will return and it will be perfect.

Thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    139
    110
    93
    242
See reviews for
401
87
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We arrived in plenty of time for 2pm booking in but had to wait until 2.55, but Liz on reception was very apologetic and kept us informed. Gave us £20 vouchers for inconvenience.
Booked a 3 birth gold standard caravan which had plenty of living space and extra toilet.
Caravan was clean and had everything we needed except a floor brush or dustpan and brush to get rid of any sand trodden in. I would suggest info should also say to take hangers for wardrobes, as well as towels.
Had ordered travel cot but not there when we arrived but again Liz on reception sorted this quickly.
Everything worked, heating and hot water as required, shower was hot and powerful.
Ate in the club house on first night, hot food and good sized portions, children were kept entertained with shows until 8.30, when adult entertainment took over.
Only a few niggles which were sorted quickly, so for a family holiday with grandparents and baby to satisfy - well done.

Room Tip: We had H151 caravan. 3 bedrooms, loads of space in the living areas and an extra toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Many thanks for this review.

I am pleased that Liz kept you informed when checking in, and again quickly sorted out the missing cot.

There should be hangers in the wardrobes and a dustpan and brush and I will ensure that out Housekeeper check H151 for this.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The caravan was a comfortable size and in a quite location of the park, However could of done with some good maintenance work, The sofas were broken, the television didn't work so we watched dvd and the shower didn't drain away, We did put in a complaint about this and the reception staff who did not appear to be interested at all as If everything was too much trouble.
The site was not kept particularly clean and there was carrier bags thrown behind caravans which was not very nice.

Room Tip: Do not have a caravan near the entertainment if you want to get some sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you were unhappy with some aspects of your caravan.

We value feedback from our guests and I do apologise if our reception staff did not seem interested as this is certainly not the case, and they are normally very good at ensuring guest comforts are met and any repairs reported and acted upon.

Our maintenance team try to keep on top of the litter and spend a great deal of time litter picking and tidying up the bin bays.

Thank you again for your feedback which helps us improve our products and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We arrived at 3.30 pm on Sat 12/4/2014 , check in is 4pm , we waited and the keys were not ready, we got them for 4.45pm. When we got in the caravan it had not been cleaned, carpets filthy and work tops . The caravan itself a bronze plus was very dated. When I had cleaned and ready to cook, the oven had no shelves in it, nor the grill and toaster did not work. There was no bowl or plug for the sink in the kitchen either. No pillow cases or coat hangers. Unable to complain as reception closes at 5 pm which seems silly when people are booking in. We spoke to reception the next day and got most of the missing items, also the caravan was freezing we did ask to speak to the Manager who was not available and didn't bother ringing us. The campsite itself was dirty with rubbish everywhere. The pool was freezing and closed for a couple of days, We unfortunately will not book again. On a positive note Dawlish is lovely !

Room Tip: Go to the campsite across the road, Lady's mile fab pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that your caravan was not ready for 4pm and that you then had cleanliness issues.

Closing time of Reception is dependant on the number of arrivals and guests are advised to report any issues to the night warden or the bar after reception is closed.

I do apologise that no one rang you as requested as my Managers are always willing to discuss issues with guests.

Unfortunately we did have problems with the pool boiler but during this time guests were able to use the pool at our sister park.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Have visited Golden Sands before and overall enjoyed my stay both times. Had a few problems when arrived including caravan not cleaned properly and bed linen missing apologies were given and all problems were rectified by following morning and discount voucher given to us.
Clean club house friendly people entertainment good, swimming pool small clean but access for spectators was through the changing rooms which is unusual.
This site is hilly and not really suitable for wheel chairs or people with walking difficulties. You can walk through the camp to get to the road that leads to Dawlish Warren beach but once again hilly on the return journey and about 20 minute walk
if you stay at Dawlish Sands this all on the flat.

Normally one can walk from Dawlish Warren to Dawlish along the beach but this is not assessable at the moment but could be open again for the summer.

Sainsbury's supermarket is a couple of minutes drive away ,shop on site is very limited.

Yes I would go again but also like Dawlish sands, you can use facilities on this site as well.

It is a handy place to stay easy access to Torquay Paignton also train runs from Dawlish warren to these places about every 30 minutes reasonable price and you can get off and on stations on route we went to Paignton then on return went to Torquay and Dawlish on the same ticket.

I have given it 3 stars but would say it is good as I like the area

Room Tip: most of the site on a hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit.

I am pleased to read that the issues you had were resolved to your satisfaction.

Thank you for your comments regarding our friendly staff, I hope that the coastal walk is open soon as many guests have commented in the past on how enjoyable it is to walk into Dawlish using this route.

Thank you for this review and we look forward to greeting you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Went for a long weekend with some friends. We had been to Dawlish Park before and were a little bit disappointed so decided to try Golden Sands.
On arrival, the staff were extremely helpful. We had a 10-Berth Gold Plus Caravan which was very clean and in a nice location.
The Club House is clean and welcoming. The Food is excellent. The Entertainment was superb. The two shows put on by the Entertainment Team were exceptional.
Will be back again soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Booked long week end in lodge over weekend of 12/04/2014 thank god we were only used it to sleep as weather was fantastic. Here's my gripes; carpet was filthy, leaking insecure taps, insecure ensuite toilet, various light shades missing, rusty radiator, TV stand broken, outside decking was filthy, entire site looked untidy with abandoned statics blocking access road (maybe time of year? Who knows, I won't be going back to find out). On the plus side, the central heating worked very well and when we told the receptionist that our double mattress had seen better days and had instigated the most uncomfortable nights sleep it was replaced immediately. In conclusion £100 a night is a lot of money for what is a poor old badly maintained lodge with no view other than your parked car and the lodge opposite.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry that you were unhappy with some aspects of your break.

I do wish you had reported the issues to our receptionist when you mentioned the mattress as some could have been rectified for you.

Unfortunately sometimes caravans do have to be moved around the Park for collection/delivery purposes but they never block access roads.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Holiday Park

Address: Week Lane, Dawlish EX7 0LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Dawlish
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands has all the facilities you would expect from a top quality holiday park and the atmosphere is also very friendly. We have a reputation for providing some of the best holiday park entertainment around - and you can enjoy top class shows on most nights - all in the price! In fact that's one of the main reasons so many people come back year after year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Holiday Park Hotel Dawlish
Golden Sands Holiday Park Dawlish, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sands Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.