We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one word to describe Ann and the Blenheim, 'wonderful'..!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blenheim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Blenheim to your Saves list
The Blenheim
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Marine Parade, Dawlish EX7 9DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Only one word to describe Ann and the Blenheim, 'wonderful'..!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My brother and myself decided to visit Dawlish for a couple of days on spec earlier this week to explore our childhood holiday haunts. We had not booked any accommodation in advance, and arrived in Dawlish at mid-day on Tuesday to try and find B and B unsuccessfully. Spotting Ann, the owner of the Blenheim, busily watering her plants outside the entrance of the very smart 'pink' Blenheim House, right on the sea front, I was pleased to hear that she had just had a room vacated.
We were offered the 'Lookout' on the ground floor, facing the sea, and it was everything we could have asked for. It was light, bright, clean and fresh, with an amazing view of the sea. The close proximity of the railway is not an issue as windows are double glazed, though we kept them open as the weather was amazing.
The large room had two comfy single beds, a small clean kitchen/diner area, and even armchairs. There were tea making facilities, a tv, and a freshly decorated and clean shower room/toilet with bath towels. The crowning glory though, had to be Ann's amazing breakfasts, served at a time to suit us, in our room. These full English breakfasts kept us going til lunch, and nothing was too much trouble for Ann who is absolutely wonderful, and made us feel like family members rather then hotel guests.
We would have no hesitation in recommending the Blenheim House to anyone who wants a clean and comfy, well located place to stay whilst visiting Dawlish. Both my brother and myself would definitely book there with family/friends in the future, it is 'wonderful'.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    12
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
23
48
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have holidayed in Dawlish for many years and always stayed in The Blenheim. Had a balcony
room this time, lovely views of the sea and town, room clean and welcoming, and everything for a
self catering holiday. Hosts (Ann and Alan) are both lovely people, and are always there to help
if required. Easy access to town,beach,railway station and buses. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

we stayed here end of April 2013, It is comfortable,clean and very wecoming, we stayed in the Brunell with huge patio doors which faced the sea fantastic views,public transport is very good with bus stops and train station a very short walk (2 mins) Dawlish Town is lovely with its waterfalls and black swans.
We are looking forward to going again next year

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Baywatch during a warm spell in April/May. Ann made us very welcome and we were lucky enough to get a parking space although had to squeeze out of the car through the back on occasion, to the amusement of spectators! We ate out mostly so kitchen area was adequate. Recycling was impressive but above all the views, even from the bed, were fantastic. We would stay again if we ever returned to Dawlish.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel many times before and as always a very friendly warm welcome with excellent rooms and first class service throughout, fantastic breakfast service and all served in your own room too, great seaviews and great railway views too if thats your thing. Ideal location all round with all local amenities nearby, highly recommended for just a seaside holiday or a good base for travelling around Devon/Exeter/Cornwall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsegur, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here for 4 weeks Dec/Jan whilst house hunting, also we had a pet. The best part of our room, Baywatch, was the view. It is small, needs updating (particularly the very small shower room) and the kitchen utensils etc are a mishmash of bits and pieces a lot of which have seen better days. I would think self catering in summer months would be a lot easier, but in winter the small Belling cooker is inadequate when it has 2 rings and an oven, incorporating grill, and only 2 itmes can be used at once. We would have preferred a tv larger than the 21" model provided. Again summer would be more comfortable for keeping warm. The attractive electric mock stove is totally incapable of heating the room, and the second electric heater didnt help warm the room either. The electricity tariff must be very high as we were putting £18 a week in the meter. We were provided with clean bedlinen once during our stay, and when changing our bed found 2 stained pillows and a nasty dirty stain on the duvet. The wifi was very intermittent and although we reported it, it continued for our last 2 weeks. Overall The Blenheim is in a great location with lovely views and the winter rental is very reasonable (apart from electricity charges), but we wouldnt stay in Baywatch again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed at the Blenheim in February and stayed in the Anchor Point apartment on a self catering basis for a week. This was an excellent place to stay the room had everything you need for a very comfortable stay in Dawlish, the whole place was spotlessly clean, the bed was so comfy, got a great sleep, the owners Ann and Alan went out of their way to be helpful. We had a lovely balcony with a brilliant sea view and view of the famous Brunel railway. There was no disturbance from the railway as the double glazing is very good. Every little thing in the room had been thought about and provided for a great holiday including lots of good hangers in the wardrobe, something I've always found in short supply at other places I've stayed. The hallway had a good supply of reading materials and DVDs and what also impressed me was the recycling box in the hallway as they pay great attention to recycling and therefore protecting the environment. The room was served by a slot meter for the electic which took pound coins but there is a Nat West Bank across the road and they were very happy to give me change for this. There are bus stops right near the Blenheim and the station is very close. There are lovely shops in Dawlish which are literally just across the road also a hairdressers. There is a small car park too. All in all a great place to stay for a lovely holiday in Devon, so good in fact I booked the next week there and I hope to return. I would highly recommend the Blenheim.

Room Tip: All rooms good and all beautiful decor, you can choose sea view or railway view (great for rail enth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blenheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blenheim

Address: 1 Marine Parade, Dawlish EX7 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blenheim 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Blenheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blenheim Dawlish, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blenheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.