We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostess shame about the rest...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lyme Bay House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lyme Bay House to your Saves list
Lyme Bay House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   34 West Cliff, Dawlish EX7 9DN, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Three for Two
Ranked #4 of 11 Dawlish B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Hostess shame about the rest...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We were greeted by Nikki who was lovely, helpfull and welcoming offering us advice on where to eat and what there was to do. The room was large with a sea view of sorts. Sadly the bed linen was dirty and worn and the towels were used but the bathroom was very clean. The drinking cups had a strong smell of bleech. A large stain on the carpet and very loud neighbours just about finished off our attempts to have a nice stay in Lyme Bay House. Not what was expected for 4 star accommodation or for the price!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    26
    7
    8
    0
See reviews for
25
101
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed at Lyme bay house hotel with friends for 2 nights. Unfortunately the start of our visit didn't go to plan. We originally booked 2 double rooms and ended up with 1 double room and the honeymoon suite. Sounds good, but when you're away on a budget, the price difference is a worry. The owners of the hotel were away for most of our stay so we couldn't really get things sorted out straight away, but when they returned, Nikki (The hotel manageress) couldn't be more helpfull and sorted our issue out straight away, putting our minds at rest.

Breakfast - Was good although the full English could do with a few other items on it (Hash browns, Black pudding, vegetarian alternatives etc.) other than that was well cooked and the staff catered to our every need.

Room - We were the lucky ones who stayed in the Honeymoon suite (Ideal considering we have only been married 7 weeks) and it was nicely furnished with a 4 poster bed, mini bar (extra cost), large screen TV, tea & coffee making facilities and a large Bathroom with shower, However my only issue was that the shower wasn't very good. The water was either scalding hot or too cold (no in between) and that it wasn't very powerful (Power showers may be a better option). Also we were only given one bath towel between two of us.

Bar area - Unfortunately the bar was closed for both days of our stay so we couldn't enjoy a quick pint or glass of wine before heading out for an evening meal.

Location - Ideally located roughly 300 metres from the town centre / Seafront of Dawlish so restaurants and local shops all within a 5 - 15 minute walk of each other.

Eating out - I would personally recommend the Hoi Shing chinese restaurant (about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, along the small stream that is lit up a night. Although my Wife preferred the Zeera indian restaurant which is a a further 10 min walk.

Overall a good hotel to stay at, the only unfortunate issue was the Shower and the lack of bath towels.

Many thanks to Ian & Nikki

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Needed to stay in Dawlish for a family birthday. Ian and Nicky could not be more welcoming and helpful. Rooms are clean and smart. Having a bar is a plus for a nightcap or two! Breakfast is always freshley cooked and excellent. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahlou0780
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Lyme Bay House hotel we were really really pleased in fact we wanted to extend our visit but unfortunatly the hotel was fully booked. breakfast was lovely the room we had was brilliant. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Although this B&B was clean, if you can excuse the hairs in the bottom of the shower tray! There was a strong smell of stale fried food when you entered, after ringing the doorbell several times, there is a sign up giving phone no's to ring if no-one is in, not very welcoming & doesn't give a good first impression. The door was finally opened by another guest & after a further wait a lady came-possibly the cleaner, who then went off, leaving us to again sit & wait, she eventually returned with our room key, it was all very unfriendly & she didn't seem to be expecting us. Its a typical B&B, nothing special & the town of Dawlish leaves a great deal to be desired, it needs a complete overhall & unless you like chips & 'junk food' the choice of places to eat is shocking. We asked in a local shop for a reccommendation of a resturant & were told 'not around here'. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
We were obviously very disaapointed that these guests did not enjoy their stay with us or indeed Dawlish itself. Certainly "hairs in the shower tray" is not to our normal standard and we have tightened-up Housekeeping Procedures to guard against this.

The reference to stale food smells was somewhat puzzling. Clearly, one can smell breakfast cooking smells in the morning at breakfast time. However at all other times the Guest House is clean and fresh and most guest comment to this effect.

We note that there was no reference to breakfast and wonder if these guests did enjoy breakfast as most other guests do.

As for Dawlish - well it is a quiteish place and does not suit everyone. For those that need advise on where to eat we only recommend places that we know well, eat in ourselves and consider to be excellent or above average. There are several places that fit this description such as The Castle at Holcombe, Smugglers Inn in Dawlish, Swan Inn in Dawlish, Marine Tavern in Dawlish, Brunswick in Dawlish, Salamis in Dawlish, Hoi Shin in Dawlish, The Ship in ockwood, The Anchor in Cockwood, Mount Pleasant in Dawlish Warren, Fresco in Teignmouth, Rock'n Sole in Dawlish, Baileys Lounge in Dawlish, The Ugly Duckling in Dawlish, The Landsdowne in Dawlish and Cafe No 1 Bar in Dawlish.

We are always very pleased to offer Guests advice on places to eat, things to do and places to go.

Once again we are very sorry that these guests did not have a great experience in Dawlish.

Please do not be put off because a lot of people do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

lyme bay house is easy to find at the internett and when you send an email to them they called you up right away and had a talk to you and already there you felt welcome,
it`s easy to find, the train from london stops 300 meters from the hotell and have a wonderfull view down at the ocean and the town center is only 200 metes away.
The rooms are very nice with all the facillities that you need and we had the room next to the road but it was totaly silent.
And the breakfast was exellent ,jam, cereal, fresh fruit salad lot`s of different juices.
full english breakfast, scrambeled eggs everything made exactly the way you liked it.
our hosts Nikki and Ian are wonderfull people they really take care off you and you feel that you are staying with friends. I really recomend Lyme Bay House :-)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

we stayed for 2 nights and had a really nice break. We stayed in room 1 which has a bit of a sea view. the hotel is in a good location. Nikki, the owner was very welcoming.
The breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyme Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyme Bay House

Address: 34 West Cliff, Dawlish EX7 9DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyme Bay House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lyme Bay House is quality family run Bed and Breakfast. It is a 4 Star Visit England Guest House located in the picturesque South Devon resort of Dawlish. We are renowned for our hospitality and sumptuous freshly cooked breakfasts, tastefully appointed spotlessly clean rooms and extremely comfortable beds.All rooms are En-Suite and have Flat Screen TVs with Freeview. Lyme Bay House is situated within a very short walk to Dawlish Town Centre, Dawlish Railway Station, a National Express bus stop and Stagecoach bus stops. We are within a few minutes walk from Dawlish Beach, Brunel’s famous sea-front railway viaduct, the Black Swans of Dawlish and The Lawn & Gardens. The same Dawlish that was much loved by amongst others, Charles Dickens, Agatha Christie and the poet John Keats. Just a short stroll away there are shops, Tea Rooms, Coffee Shops, the famous Gay’s Creamery and several pubs. Lyme Bay House is an ideal location for train-spotting, golf, cycling, walking and bird watching. It is also very central for exploring the area by car, train or bus including Exeter, Powderham, Starcross, Cockwood, Dawlish Warren, Dawlish, Holcombe, Teignmouth, Shaldon, Newton Abbot, The Teign Valley and Dartmoor. Alternatively, you may be on business and welcome an alternative to the national hotel chains.Alternatively, you may be on business and welcome an alternative to the national hotel chains. We are only 25 minutes by car and even less by train from Exeter. If you want to simply get away for a while and relax Lyme Bay House has a comfortable Lounge and Reception area where you are welcome to relax and read or watch the 42” Flat Screen TV. We also have a Fully Licensed Bar. Lyme Bay House has its own on-site Car Park with a space for every room at no additional charge. We also offer free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Lyme Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyme Bay House Dawlish, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyme Bay House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.