We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyme Bay House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lyme Bay House to your Saves list
Lyme Bay House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   34 West Cliff, Dawlish EX7 9DN, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Three for Two
Ranked #4 of 11 Dawlish B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Just stop at Lyme bay for two weeks while working and I will miss the place Lyme bay is one of the cleanest places I've stop and staff was amazing and the breakfast was something else will be bringing the family down as soon as I get the chance 10/10

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks again for your company. We are always pleased when you hard working guys enjoy our breakfasts.

We look forward to seeing you again when you are down here for the next job .

By the way, Nikki was thrilled with the flowers you gave her – many thanks Nikki & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    26
    7
    8
    0
See reviews for
25
101
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Just had 4nights stay at Lyme Bay House B&B. You could not of wished for a better place to stay. We had room 2 with four poster bed, sea view, deluxe bathroom with shower everything was spotlessly clean everything you need is in your room. Nikki and Ian were so kind and helpful. Nikki is a fantastic person we give her 10 out of 10 especially at breakfast ,but don't mention you like baked beans to Nikki. Breakfast is out of this world. Richard and Cindy Salisbury.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Richard & Cindy – thank you very much for your kind comments.

Nikki likes to serve you all with Heinz baked beans but they don’t like her so she has to avoid eating them.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with.

Many thanks Nikki & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Chose Lyme Bay House because it was close to the station and all the good reviews, Nikki went out of her way to make us comfortable, the room was warm and altho close to the road (our choice) there was no problem with traffic noise.
No problem recomending it to anyone.

Room Tip: On an incline, no real problem walking to town something to bear in mind if you've restricted mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Yes we are ideally situated for the station and only a short 5 minute walk. For anyone with restricted mobility there are always taxis at the station.

Many of our guests arrive by train and then use both the trains and buses to explore the area.

For anyone living in a town or city the road noise is minor by comparison even for the room closest to the main road. For any really light sleepers we do have rooms well away from the road.

Thanks for your comments. Nikki & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Despite Ian and Nikki only being back off their holiday for one hour when we arrived, we had such an excellent welcome. The room and surrouding area was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. We would reccomend this hotel to other holiday makers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments.

It was really no problem – having had a few very relaxing weeks off we were both pleased to get back to looking after our customers.

Nikki & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at Lyme bay house and had a really nice night. We have stayed many times at Lyme bay house before but this time we took are children. Nikki and Ian were so helpful in sorting out the beds for us and going out there way to make it a special stay for us all at short notice. Nikki and Ian only getting back from holiday themselves in the day, sorted the room for us and waited up for us to arrive down on the night. Nikki and Ian are always so welcoming and make your stay memorable. Jordan and Daniel are children loved the stay and they didn't want to leave. Great breakfast as always and room was great and the kids loved waking up to the sea view. Thanks again Nikki and Ian for great stay see you again soon. From Anthony, Caroline,jordan,Daniel.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suit lovely room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Anthony, Caroline, Jordan & Daniel, it was lovely to see you again and once again many thanks for your compliments we really do appreciate the feedback.

Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Nikki and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at Lyme Bay Hotel and we had a lovely time. Nikki and Ian were great hosts!
As soon as Nikki found out it was our wedding anniversary we were ushered to the four poster room, (which I hadn't booked!) at no extra cost.
The room and hotel was lovely, clean and welcoming, and the breakfast was great with homemade preserves too!
We recommend the hotel to anyone looking to get away and relax.

Thank you to both of you. Regards Paula & Stephen Nr Bath.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Lyme Bay House is a spotless, comfy and homely guest house. Breakfast was excellent and the hospitality was brillant. Room was very nice. Dawlish and surrounding area is ideal for a relaxing break. Nikki is a great host and very helpful. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyme Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyme Bay House

Address: 34 West Cliff, Dawlish EX7 9DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyme Bay House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lyme Bay House is quality family run Bed and Breakfast. It is a 4 Star Visit England Guest House located in the picturesque South Devon resort of Dawlish. We are renowned for our hospitality and sumptuous freshly cooked breakfasts, tastefully appointed spotlessly clean rooms and extremely comfortable beds.All rooms are En-Suite and have Flat Screen TVs with Freeview. Lyme Bay House is situated within a very short walk to Dawlish Town Centre, Dawlish Railway Station, a National Express bus stop and Stagecoach bus stops. We are within a few minutes walk from Dawlish Beach, Brunel’s famous sea-front railway viaduct, the Black Swans of Dawlish and The Lawn & Gardens. The same Dawlish that was much loved by amongst others, Charles Dickens, Agatha Christie and the poet John Keats. Just a short stroll away there are shops, Tea Rooms, Coffee Shops, the famous Gay’s Creamery and several pubs. Lyme Bay House is an ideal location for train-spotting, golf, cycling, walking and bird watching. It is also very central for exploring the area by car, train or bus including Exeter, Powderham, Starcross, Cockwood, Dawlish Warren, Dawlish, Holcombe, Teignmouth, Shaldon, Newton Abbot, The Teign Valley and Dartmoor. Alternatively, you may be on business and welcome an alternative to the national hotel chains.Alternatively, you may be on business and welcome an alternative to the national hotel chains. We are only 25 minutes by car and even less by train from Exeter. If you want to simply get away for a while and relax Lyme Bay House has a comfortable Lounge and Reception area where you are welcome to relax and read or watch the 42” Flat Screen TV. We also have a Fully Licensed Bar. Lyme Bay House has its own on-site Car Park with a space for every room at no additional charge. We also offer free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Lyme Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyme Bay House Dawlish, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyme Bay House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.