We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still just as good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Hall Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Two Bridges
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prince Hall Hotel
Save
You added Prince Hall Hotel to your Saves list
princetown, Two Bridges, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Two Bridges
Dorset
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Still just as good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have just stayed again - our third stay - at this Devonshire gem for three nights. It really is such a wonderful place if you're looking for peace and quiet, a relaxed atmosphere, and a hotel that feels more like staying with your favourite friends. It's all so 'English' - roaring log fire in the drawing room, exquisite bedrooms with the most comfortable beds imaginable, unbelievably good food and staff who are efficient, friendly and will do anything to please. Even changing from a winter to a summer duvet quite late in the evening was 'no trouble at all' and done in an instant. The Devonshire Breakfast - well, what can one say. The trump card is the stack of small triangular pieces of fried bread which taste so good it's hard to have room for the gorgeous basket of toast still awaiting your attention along with the homemade jams and marmalade. If all this doesn't convince you to immediately reach for the phone and book a room - well, you have stronger will-power than us. Quite simply, don't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms with the moor view. It's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    25
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
119
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Wow....we couldn't have found ourselves in a more quintesstially English hotel. In fact, it wasn't like any hotel we have experienced as we were met by Fi who greeted us into her home like a long lost friend whom she was so thrilled to see.
We loved our room, Houndtor; it was big, spacious and had many original features. The view was breathtaking. The room had a small, compact bathroom with shower. Fi had told us the water was from a well, (tasted very good), and there may be a loss of pressure but we didn't experience that, our shower was fine and hot at all times.
The dining room and food was delicious, the wine and service second to none. The lounge had a roaring log fire, even in August, which just added to the character and which drew most of the guests together in the evening where you could chat and share experiences over an after dinner drink.
Another plus was the greeting by the resident cat, Chole and dog Porche. It is an incredibly friendly hotel for humans and dogs alike, so much so that Fi allowed my children to take Porche for a walk through the surrounding countryside so they were delighted.
Coming from North America and reading The Hound of the Baskervilles, it was such a truly delightful experience to be able to stay in a hotel on Dartmooor, imagining Arthur Conan Doyle penning this story with the mist swirling around.
We can not recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

What a find! Lovely to take the dog somewhere that really is dog friendly, they are allowed (and welcomed) everywhere but the Dining Room. Open fires, great service and fantastic food, first class dining in the perfect country setting. The only slight down side is the lack of water pressure but it all adds to the atmosphere. A lovely relaxing weekend for both dog and owners, we will back, hopefully with the Sunshine!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I removed ourselves here having attended a wedding a mile away the previous night. We wanted somewhere quiet and away from the rat race and that's certainly what we found. We were lucky because it was the only weekend in May where the weather gradually improved. By Monday morning we didn't want to leave and were grateful that the room was not booked so we could stay an extra night. Beds and linen are first class - such a wonderful sleep. This is an ideal spot to explore Dartmoor and you feel as though you are far removed from the outside world in such an idyllic setting. The food indeed is wonderful and the ambience is totally relaxed. It is expensive though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Lovely peaceful location, a little gem in the middle of the moors. A lovely old character house with real moorland atmosphere, really fitting to its location and local history. A great base for exploring the area, with a lovely comfortable lounge with open fire and squishy sofas. Great birdwatching. The food was outstanding and a really pleasant surprise, certainly equal, if not better than many starred restaurants and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms with a moorland view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The weather for our first holiday with the dogs in 2012 was very far from ideal - the (June) week of 60mph winds and driving rain on Dartmoor (and more generally across the South West) - but after a drenching on the moors and a wind torn walk on (not too far away) Bigbury Bay, an open fire (yes, in early June!) and enjoyable dinner at Prince Hall Hotel, for the three nights we were there, was very welcome! In more or less the centre of Dartmoor,in its own small holding, the views from the man reception rooms and (large) 'premium' bedrooms are quite special (very Constablle!). The hotel itself is welcoming and overall pleasantly furnished and my only issue with the facilities was the shower - not exactly a drip but certainly in need of enhancement (the fact that the hotel uses its own well does not help)! Undoubtedly the food at Prince Hall stands out, with locally sourced produce being used as much as possible. Special mention goes to the 'full Devonshire breakfast', which was probably one of the best morning 'fry ups' I have ever had. Dinner was also good, with the local lamb (that I had on two occasions) worthy of special mention. Overall, starters and mains stood out to me more than deserts, which perhaps need some attention. The owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful in the main and my thanks go to Fi, Christine and George in particular for helping to make our stay with Boo Boo & Rusty (the dogs!) most enjoyable. You will enjoy Prince Hall Hotel but check out the weather forecast for Dartmoor before committing!

Room Tip: Premium rooms are larger with great views but ask for the one with the best shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We wanted a hotel that was both people and dog friendly and Prince Hall delivers on both. The hotel is every bit as inviting as it appears on the website and the welcoming and friendly attitude of the staff is absolutely outstanding, We had a lovely, spacious room with wonderful views over the moors. The reception rooms were so cosy and inviting, log fires and squishy sofas. Then there was the food - what can we say, it was simply amazing, couldn't fault it. I think it is worth stressing that although the hotel is advertised as very dog friendly (and it certainly is!), this should not put people off who don't have a canine friend with them and it is certainly not the case that there are dogs roaming around everywhere. In short, it is the perfect place to chill out, enjoy good food and be spoilt rotten. We will certainly be going back, hopefully for longer next time.

Room Tip: It is worth booking a room overlooking the moor if you want to wake up to a beautiful view. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Hall Hotel

Address: princetown, Two Bridges, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Two Bridges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Two Bridges
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prince Hall Country House Hotel is set in the very heart of Dartmoor National Park with its breath-taking scenery. Hands-on owners Fi & Chris Daly, with their staff, are dedicated to offering you exceptional comfort, hospitality and cuisine in a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. Well-behaved dogs are very welcome, at no extra charge. The hotel is open to non residents for morning coffee, light lunches, afternoon teas and dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prince Hall Hotel Two Bridges, Dartmoor National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.