We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, amazing location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cherrybrook

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Two Bridges
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cherrybrook
Save
You added The Cherrybrook to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   The Cherrybrook, Two Bridges, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Two Bridges B&B and Inns
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food, amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We returned recently for our visit, which is becoming an annual pilgrimage. The welcome is beyond compare, the food is stunning, the moor is inviting and refreshing in all weathers. Special thanks to Dave for the personalised walking maps, this is a unique service!

Room Tip: Beautiful views from the front rooms, well worth the small supplement.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    18
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
114
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, Dorset
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were a group of 8 dog walkers, looking to find the best and most varied scenery on Dartmoor Cherrybrook was ideally situated since we could either walk out the back door or drive to other attractions, mostly within 20 mins. It is remote and the views from the premises are stunning. David and his family could not have been more welcoming - even the dogs had their own bowls of nibbles to greet them - or helpful over choice of walks and other attractions. The food was quite excellent - no stingy Nouvelle Cuisine helpings here - and was particularly welcome after hours out on the moor. Although dogs could have slept in the room, we chose a room overlooking their preferred pitch in the car. Nothing seemed to faze the family, be it muddy wet clothing to be dried or dripping dogs. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The Cherrybrook website is most helpful in this respect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was my favorite of the 5 B&Bs we staying in during our recent trip to the UK. I wish we had stayed much longer. Why did I enjoy it the most? No, it wasn't because it was posh or fancy. It was because it was so ~ well ~ so moorish. The setting on Dartmoor was remote and isolated and, since I was reading "The Hound of the Baskervilles" at the time, I thought it was perfect. The views from the windows were so rural ~ sheep, cows, hedges, moorland. And being able to have dinner at the B&B with the other guests and then hang out in the little stucco and beamed "pub" beside the dining room afterwards gave it an intimate, country house party feel. (I'm a picky eater, but I thought the food was excellent!) We travel to meet people as much as to view sites, so being thrown together with the owners and guests for chatting and swapping stories in the evening was really fun and enriched our overall experience. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at here for 2 nights at the end of April.
The Cherrybrook is fantastically situated in the heart of Dartmoor.
It is both remote (hence appeal to walkers) and easy to find. The views from our room & from the Dining room were beautiful.
Our room was very clean and well equipped – even the TV had a built in DVD player. The en-suite was clearly relatively new and was spacious.
Whilst we had no gripes with anything, the food is certainly the highlight. The evening meal (potted crab, Duck and cheesecake to finish) was superb. The cosy Bar seemed to provide all reasonable requirements for a pre- dinner drink (mouth - watering selection of local ales) and it was nice to be able to peruse the menu, choose your meal and remain in the ‘snug’ until your meal was ready to be served.
Overall, very enjoyable and highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We decided to head for Dartmoor for the May Day bank holiday weekend and searched online for dog friendly accommodation, as we were taking our collie cross away with us. We chose The Cherrybrook for its stunning location and, when we arrived, we were not disappointed! We were checked in quickly and efficiently and headed up to our room (Bellever), which was light, clean and airy with the most spectacular view across the moors. David asked us if we were staying for dinner and we're very glad we did, as the food is fantastic, using fresh local meat and produce - and the puddings are amazing! Whilst waiting for our food to be ready, we waited in the bar area, which offers lots of different ales (which made my husband happy!), where everyone sits and gets to know each other, which was lovely. There are several different walks that David has mapped out and laminates are available to take with you for guidance - whichever route you choose, you won't be disappointed. Our dog, Woody, highly recommends The Cherrybrook, as do we!

Room Tip: Bellever has a stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at The Cherrybrook over May Bank Holiday 2013, ostensibly to attend a wedding but to also catch a quiet weekend away from home/work. Booking was smoothly done some months in advance, and the owners were good enough to accomodate our arriving before the desired check-in time to ensure we got to the wedding. We received a friendly, warm and helpful welcome and during our stay, the owners went out of their way to help us out wherever they could.

Our room was lovely - clean etc, with everything you need for a short break (including what has to be the comfiest bed we've ever slept in). Waking to the sound of silence, except for the birdsong, was a delight. Breakfast was delicious - an excellent selection of freshly prepared food brought to our table in no time at all.

All in all, we were very happy with our stay and were very pleased to find such a gem of a hotel in such an amazing location. We fully intend to return to explore more of the area, and would hope to stay at The Cherrybrook again when we do so.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A wonderful find! The Cherrybrook was very central for all the walking we wanted to do on the moor. Our dogs were welcomed and very well provided for, even down to providing treats, bags, bins and towels after their walks in the hotel's own field. The food was second to none and far superior to what I was expecting with a different menu for every evening. The local knowledge about various walks extremely useful and I could not fault the room we chose, which was clean and very comfortable. The whole weekend was most enjoyable and made all the better by the congenial hosts/hostesses who went out of their way to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cherrybrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherrybrook

Address: The Cherrybrook, Two Bridges, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Two Bridges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Two Bridges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cherrybrook 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Cherrybrook Two Bridges, Dartmoor National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cherrybrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.