We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful homey stay with the Lloyds!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beechwood B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Beechwood B&B to your Saves list
Beechwood B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Main Street, Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Postbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful homey stay with the Lloyds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Adam and Lynette were the perfect hosts!
I would highly recommend you have dinner here as well if you are staying. Adam is a spectacular cook, and I promise Lynette's puddings will live up to your Nan's.
The spot is beautiful. This is in the middle of the moor. Plenty of walking trails around with easy access.
Adam and Lynette have lots of friendly animals whicha dd to the homey feel of this B&B. Felt more like an honoured house guest than a run-of-the-mill customer. I would certainly stay here again. Our stay was flawless.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    14
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
69
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Host Adam Lloyd was very welcoming and cheerful when I arrived here after a day of 22mph wind and rain on the moor. I was pleasantly surprised by the comfortable arrangement of this long house, and the cosy room I was given, and the conservatory breakfast/dining room. Home aga-cooked dinner was superb, well-worth trekking the moor for! I ate ravenously and appreciatively! Dessert and coffee too. A folio in my room had lots of useful information about the moor, caring for the landscape, recommended do's and dont's. Clearly my hosts are passionate about this landscape which was heart-warming. Breakfast was fabulous and stoked me up for another day's moor walking plus river swimming, and the hair-raising stepping stones (boulders!) where the West Dart and Swincombe Rivers meet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Beechwood B&B, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words,I was pleased to hear that you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.Kind regards.A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at Beechwood and it is a great find. Lyn and Adam couldn't have been better hosts - helpful and friendly. It was very clean and comfortable with great breakfasts. There is a lovely meadow behind the property and Adam has created a footpath so guests can enjoy the wild flowers (including orchids) without damaging them. The location is perfect for walks in all directions. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

If you want a nice B&B in the centre of the moor, it has to be Postbridge, great walks in all directions. Andi f you appreciate five star home made marmalade, this January's batch is still available - hurry while stocks last! A very welcoming, nice place and hosts, recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This was a wonderful B&B in a truly magical location in Dartmoor. Lynette and Adam were wonderfully welcoming, friendly, helpful and even knew all of our names before we walked in the door! The house was very comfrtable and well kept with plenty of space for guests to "live" in. Breakfast was delicious each morning and the cream tea was totally divine!! I wish there had been an option for three scones! Thank you very much for our wonderful stay and I am sure to be back again if I am in the neighbourhood. Katy and Ben :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bob551652, Owner at Beechwood B&B, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Katy,
Thank you for your kind words,we are so pleased you liked Beechwood,best wishes
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We needed a b and b as my husband was doing a charity run from Tavistock to Liskeard, and so settled on 2 nights at Beechwood, and very glad we did. easy to find, comfortable and cosy, and could not have been made more welcome, by Adam and Lynette. The room was clean and comfortable, and our own bathroom a very good size. We made the most of the good weather and used the garden for a couple of lovely walks in the wild flower meadow, bumping into Bob the dog!
really accommodating sorting out early breakfast so we were off in time for race start!
Good home cooked food, all in all a great base for exploring Dartmoor

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bob551652, Owner at Beechwood B&B, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for your very kind comments which are very much appreciated b y both myself and Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We were looking for somewhere where we could relax and escape from the "Madding Crowd" in beautiful and peaceful surroundings. "Beechwood" was the perfect choice and Adam and Lynette the most welcoming hosts.Our room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom of a high standard-the bed,however,was rather creaky and a firmer mattress would have made for a more comfortable night's sleep.But what a view we had from our window- across the garden to the tors on the Moor beyond!The house was full, but once in our room we were not aware of any other guests. How lucky we were with the weather too- and a highlight were Lynette's teas in the garden on our return from our forays on to the Moor. The food was excellent and breakfast was better than expectations, with such personal attention- loved the poached eggs, Adam, and you got it all just right.Unfortunately we waited till our last evening to sample dinner - just wished we had had dinner every night. We loved sitting in the conservatory to eat that meal with the setting sun and the wonderful view across to the Moor. On the last evening we also had a walk around the six acres of meadow and talked about our great good luck at finding such a place as "Beechwood" and such perfect hosts as Adam and Lynette. Thankyou, Both.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beechwood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood B&B

Address: Main Street, Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Postbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Postbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a cottage style bed and breakfast, which accepts well behaved dogs Beechwood is located in the village of Postbridge which is right in the centre of Dartmoor National Park. We try our best to provide hospitality, service and comfort which is truly memorable for all our guests. Dinner is available with prior notice and we are licensed to sell alcohol. In the summer we serve cream teas in our garden, we are also open during Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Beechwood B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood B&B Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beechwood B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.