We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best dog friendly hotel in the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
White Hart Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fore Street, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1HD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Okehampton
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“best dog friendly hotel in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We and our small dog were made most welcome at the hotel which is very rich in history. The choice for breakfast is the best we have experienced in the UK for a very long time

The room was very warm and comfortable. The refurbished bathroom was excellent, very friendly and helpful staff through out the hotel. We will be going back. Parking could be an issue mostly caused by other guests not parking properly in the bays, but there are lots of nearby spaces after 5pm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    32
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
30
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Room 24 was clean, warm and comfortable, although abit rough around the edges.
Staff were welcoming and friendly.
We would stay here again but a room facing courtyard.
Noise from people and cars from main road,
Excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is spotless throughout and the bedroom was comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful and early breakfast was no problem to them.The food was of excellent quality and well prepared and presented.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Having travelled over from the continent by car and then driven for another 6 hours in the UK to reach this hotel, i was totally knackered by the time arrived and just a little grumpy.

I was met by friendly helpful staff who booked me in, organised my morning parer and directed me to my room.

The room was ok, It was clean, with small double bed, tv and coffee making facilities, just perfect after a long long journey. The bathroom although small was also very clean.

I think it is only fair to say that the hotel is a 2 star hotel and the rooms are a bit tatty and unloved. But i repeat the bedroom and the was cleaned very well and not at all "off putting".

I was staying here on business and the hotel has a prefferential rate deal with the company i was visiting so was not overly concerned by the less than flattering views, but i really do have to concur with a number of the comments about the staff, they were great from start to finish, from booking in, bar, breakfast, everything, always met with a smile and a chat, but these poor girls and guys are massively over worked, they were literally running from bar to bar to pizzeria to try and keep the waiting times down, and still remained cheerful.

Message to management.. the staff you have are you best asset, look after them because without their attitude and enthusiasm you would just have a very tired unappealing hotel.

In conclusion would i stay here again, yes of course, it is not the Sheraton but the rooms are comfortable, clean, the food is great, the bar is great and friendly and good english beer and best of all ais the great welcome and friendlyness of the staff,.

Paul

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed overnight during touring trip. Hotel first licensed in 1623 so some narrow and uneven corridors and stairs. All room facilities available including en-suite. If you arrive later food is generally available up to around 9.00pm. There is a Pizzeria attached but be careful, by the time we were ready to eat on the Wednesday evening, 8.45pm, they had run out of pizzas, probably due to it being "bogof" night, which I believe is also on a Thursday. Delightful breakfast cooked to order the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband had stayed here a couple of years ago and told me he was not very impressed with the hotel as it was tired and dated. But I read some recent reviews which were mostly good, and I was really pleasantly surprised - not only that my room was comfortable (although the bathroom had seen better days) but mostly by the cheerful, helpful and friendly manner of the staff.

After looking around Okehampton for a simple bistro type restaurant, which didn't seem to exist, we ended up having our evening meal in the White Hart's own restaurant - "HBs". I'm so glad we did, as the food was excellent. The following morning we had breakfast in another dining room, which I think might be the pizza restaurant (not open the previous evening). I had half the cooked breakfast which was delicious, and again we were served by really pleasant staff.

The only downside to our one-night stay was the fact that there is no outside eating area or garden, which was a shame as it was the hottest day of the year, after weeks of rain!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibford Gower, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed one night on our way down to Cornwall. Easy to find and plenty of parking made the arrival and check in prompt. It was a long way to lug our gear to room 25. A rather small double room. My other half loves tennis and she was determined to cheer Murray on in the room so I went for a pint downstairs. The front bar is a bit cold and uninviting. I ordered a small pizza for the tennis fan. The lady in charge of the pizza restaurant could not have been more helpful but she was rushed off her feet - they had a lot of people in that night. Much later we came down to eat properly and both had an excellent carbonara. Again the service could not be faulted - the staff run between customers to get the work done!

Well replete and tired we tried out the lumpy old bed - grim. Further, we were then treated to a late night cabaret. Drunken girls swearing and yelling beneath our window at midnight. I went downstairs and asked if the racket could be turned down - 10 minutes later it was back up to full volume. My partner called the front desk, saying the next call would be to the police. The noise stopped and we slept. Breakfast next morning was served with a cheery smile and again we noted how well the staff work here - they just need more of them.

On our way out we looked at the fine collection of photographs and pictures of The White Hart in its glory days. What a shame that the decor and furnishings all come out the second hand shop with 'unloved' yelling at you from the threadbare carpet to the random, ramshackle finish. This could be a gem but the management has opted to for a cheap, tacky approach. The building and the staff deserve so much better and Okehampton is missing out because all the White Hart does is encourage you to get back on the A30 and keep going. The same management runs the famous Jamaica Inn - do they pile 'em in there too?? This is an opportunity missed - hope someone sensible buys it.

Room Tip: Room 25 is above the smokers shelter - where you will see and hear things you may have never seen an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: Fore Street, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Okehampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — White Hart Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Okehampton, Devon, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.