We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoker's house” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capella Bed & Breakfast

Capella Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okehampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Capella Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Capella Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
31 Station Road, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 Okehampton B&B and Inns
Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Smoker's house”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Landlady is a smoker and rooms smell of smoke. Room not ensuite but had its own shower along the hallway. Bicycle storage is in unlocked shed at for end of long garden. Breakfast was adequate. Room was clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E G, Owner at Capella Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments, but I would take issue on two points. There is a large padlock supplied for the cycle shed hanging just inside it. The shed is not locked when not in use.
That room is advertised as having a private shower room and the fact that it is not en-suite is reflected in the price.
Smoking is no longer permitted in any area of the house, not just the public rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
10
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed here for one night in May 2012 as part of my end to end cycle trip. It's described as good for cyclists, but storage is in an unsecured shed.
The room was tired, no shower gel in the shower. Constant drift of cigarette smoke from the owners nephew and his friend in the next door room. Breakfast was the worst of my trip, cheapest ingredients badly cooked and more or less inedible. Inflexible on service times.
The only reason I gave two stars is because the owner washed my gear(by prior arrangement). Otherwise a very poor place indeed.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E G, Owner at Capella Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I'm really sorry you had a bad experience at Capella and all your comments have been taken on board and acted upon. I do not have an address for you, but if you supply it, I will gladly refund your money.
I would have responded before but have only just found out how to!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capella Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Bed & Breakfast

Address: 31 Station Road, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Capella Bed & Breakfast Okehampton, Devon, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capella Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.