We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby room, shabby hotel and unhelpful management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Prewley Moor Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okehampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prewley Moor Arms
Save
You added Prewley Moor Arms to your Saves list
Church Road | Sourton Down, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 4HT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 Okehampton B&B and Inns
Surrey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Shabby room, shabby hotel and unhelpful management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Part of a Devon coast to coast cycling tour we were really in need of an enjoyable nights stay. Our room was to say the least shabby. We arrived at 16.30 ( in the rain ) and the hotel was closed ( having been told it would be open from 15.00 ) eventually got in at 17.00 with no apology " it was the owners afternoon off" apparently. Room very poor. Final straw was when the curtains fell off the wall when we drew them. My usually placid wife complained to the owner who made no apology just saying that nobody else had complained . Great customer service. Avoid.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    4
    2
    10
See reviews for
12
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

On the way down to cornwall we decided to stop for breakfast and rather than use the little chef, we thought we would patronise a local business and the pub advertised breakfast. Well this place put the fast in breakfast. They hadn't got a clue what they had, no menu and slap dash service. £6.50 did not represent good value and the food was not warm or well presented. Coffee awful. Use the little chef opposite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here and the manageress was very hospitable. We arrived late in the afternoon and nothing was a bother to her. Room was dainty and the meals wholesome. She was thinking of buying the hotel and we wish her well. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Yes the owner called the hotel/pub shabby - why, she'd only taken over the place a month ago ! That accounted for the new toilet seat but nothing else in the bathroom, the replacement slide in the children's play area etc. She went on to explain the plans, rewiring, new beds ( I saw the new mattresses )............... .
The bar area is already impressive, set off by the large inglenook fire-place at one end.
Breakfast had cereal. full english, toast, tea or coffee, friut juice. I'd seen the pub meals on my arrival, good selection, good portions, reasonable price.
Being as close to the A30 as it is noise is a problem, however with the children's play area, parking a good place for a family stop-over.
" Shabby" it might be now but the owners are determined to make the place somewhere special. I will return to see.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the A30 side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

From the internet, this looks and sounds a good country place to stay. However...................
Right by a very busy main road - noisy all night.
Our room was shabby, out - dated, and the bathroom was even worse. Totally terrible in every respect.
The pub food in the evening was good, but there was no cereal nor fruit offered for breakfast - just a cooked breakfast and that was it.
The worst thing of all was that we were locked into the building overnight, and the only way we could "get out" in the morning was to open the fire door and clamber down the fire escape. What would have happened if there had been a serious incident / emergency? I tried phoning the number, but the phone was in the reception area of the building we were locked into. My mobile was ringing the phone I was standing by, asking for help.
I haven't stayed in a worse place,overall, world wide, since I was a student in the early 70s.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A very friendly welcome - clean rooms.

Bed was comfortable, but shower was very tired looking and pressure not great.

Thought it was a bit strange to be asked what I would want for breakfast the night before, but went for scrambled egg on toast. In the morning I asked if i could add bacon to that and wasn't a problem but told it would take a few minutes (expected that really as it has to be cooked) The bacon was ok, but the scrambled egg tasted instant - yuk.

Very, very noisy if you sleep on the side of the pub facing the A30.

Would I stay again, sorry but no.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

A warm and cosy pub in a great location with comfortable rooms and lovely food and a great selection of Devon beer and ales.

My tip: hire a bike from the place down the lane and use the cycle trac to get out and about.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prewley Moor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prewley Moor Arms

Address: Church Road | Sourton Down, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 4HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Family/pet friendly professionally run Public House with En-suite accommadation. all of our rooms are clean, warm and comfortable with Tea & coffee making facilities, comfortable beds & A Television in each room. Breakfast IS NOT included. We have a lounge area in the Public bar with a log fire and Television.We DO NOT provide WI-FI, as feel this is not crucial for families, who choose to stay with us.We provide a family friendly, relaxed atmophere.All our food is Home Cooked, and locally sourced, we serve local real ales straight from the cask. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prewley Moor Arms Okehampton, Devon, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prewley Moor Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.