We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful on Dartmoor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowlea Guest House

Meadowlea Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Meadowlea Guest House to your Saves list
Meadowlea Guest House
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   65 Station Road | Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Okehampton B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Delightful on Dartmoor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stopped in Okehampton to visit friends and they recommended this delightful B&B. nothing is too much trouble for the friendly owners Mark and Leslie. Spotless rooms with tea and kettles, great little ensuites with electric showers and all soaps etc. Comfy lounge with Internet and lots of local information and a super full cooked breakfast! Lovely Victorian building with a proper hallway too! Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
12
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed here on my Land's End to John O'Groats cycle ride & this was one of the best B&Bs I stayed at. Lesley & Mark were excellent hosts - very friendly & accommodating. Tea & biscuits in the lounge when I arrived was much appreciated after a long day's cycling. The room was ideal for me - big enough for my needs, spotlessly clean, comfortable & good value. There was somewhere secure to store my bike overnight & it was only a short walk into town to eat in the evening. What more could you want!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed here with friends, during a Coast to Coast cycle ride. Don't let the slightly gloomy hall put you off. The rooms are bright and well decorated, the whole place is spotless. The proprieters are friendly and down to earth and welcomed us with tea and biscuits. Plenty of choice for breakfast, the full English is made with quality ingredients. There is secure accomodation for bikes and a drying facility for wet clothes. Recommended.

Room Tip: WE slept in the front room with the window open, didn't notice any traffic noise. Very comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We have stayed at this medium-sized B&B several times and it has improved measurably under the careful hands of the current owners. Everything is spotlessly clean throughout and rooms are tastefully decorated, often with idiosyncratic little touches. Useful information about things to do and see is readily available in the guest lounge and Lesley and Steve can point you to the better local restaurants. The breakfast menu offers a good range, from traditional to health-conscious and the poached eggs were perfect! Looking for anything to criticise, the only candidates are the on-road parking and the somewhat thin towels...but that's being really picky.

Room Tip: Front rooms do get some traffic noise, but we are talking quietish country town noise, not throbbing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parramatta, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Leslie and Mark our hosts were very welcoming. Accommodation was well situated with easy stroll down the hill to shopping and restaurants. Accommodation was well laid out and spacious. Room was spotlessly clean upon arrival as well as return at the end of the day. Breakfast was substantial with lots of choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gasman6331
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of my LEJOG cycle ride. I stayed on the Sunday and had a single room. They are cycle freindly Guest House who had a secure shed to lock my bike in. The Guest House is not to difficult to find as it it 5 mins from main high street. There is not much in Okehampton but they do have a couple of pubs and supermarkets. The hotel was very clean and the owners were very freindly and helpful. I had a good nights sleep and the breakfast was very good!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The owners of this very friendly b and b have got ift just right, We arrived soaking wet and cold having been walking in the rain on Dartmoor all day,the first thing they did was relieve of us of our wet and muddy gear sat us down in their guest room and brought tea,coffee and biscuits and had a friendly chat,they then showed us to our well appointed room which was very comfortable and most importantly had a decent shower and comfortable beds the breakfast was of good quality and content. Whilst there the feeling was always, that there would not be anything that was to much trouble. The charges are exelent for what you get at this place , So if you are looking for somewhere to stay in the area for whatever your reason "dont bother to look anywhere else you have found the one to stay in"

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meadowlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlea Guest House

Address: 65 Station Road | Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadowlea Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Meadowlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowlea Guest House Okehampton, Devon, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowlea Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.