We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
St. James Street, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton, England
+44 1837 52809
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 44 Restaurants in Okehampton
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Value Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Good value pub food and beer. Huge portion sizes and friendly staff. Town center pub that was busy from when we walked in. Welcoming for familys and apparently a local favourite hangout

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Martins, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

had a 16th birthday meal for my son whilst staying the weekend in Winkleigh nice food and a good time was had with excellent service.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food, large portions, beautifully presented”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were staying at The Fingle Glenn golf resort just down the road and thought we'd give it a try (even though the last entry on trip advisor stated they got food posioning there!!). We went early as we have children and the car park was full at 6pm (always a good sign!) The waitresses were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. There was a homemade curry on the menu and my son who was 9 wanted it but we were a bit wary in case it was too hot. The waitress volunteered to bring him a small bowl to try before he ordered. The menu was briiliant for kids as it wasn'r just the usuall nugget and chips, sausage and chips etc. There was also a small appetite menu which was appreciated by the eldery in laws!!
The food portions are big and the food was very tasty and beautifully presented. The handcut chips are to die for as was the homemade lasagne.
As all food is home made and cooked fresh, be prepared for a 30-40 minute wait. Believe me, its worth the wait!!
Would definately recommend this place!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Fantastic portions and a welocmed return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed at the amazing Clothworthy House on our return visit to Winkleigh as our annual cycle stopped over again, three years after our last visit.

The Kings Arms has recently changed hands and so we were interested to see if the food and service was as good as before. Since we had just cycled from Bude on day three of our trip we had bellies to fill.

We were filled. The portions were just as massive as before, the great service just as good and the atmosphere just as fun. Our hosts spent time with us chatting after the meal and we were not rushed and could have stayed forever even though we wre the last to leave and the town had been celebrating the Diamond Jubillee all that day.

There are plent of beers and ciders, many local , on draft and a fine wine list to go with a massive choice of meals. It was great to go back to the Kings Arms and even better to see that the standards are just as good.

Excellent value.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Sounded like a nightclub from Outside”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Hunting for a place to eat on Saturday evening 17th September in Okehampton (which I thought was lovely in the day time) was a nightmare, we had spotted the Kings Arms in the Day by the church so went to give it a try, but met with VERY loud music from outside we kept on walking!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.