We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping with the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Okehampton YHA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Okehampton YHA to your Saves list
Okehampton YHA
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Klondyke Road, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Camping with the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had great fun here at Okehampton YHA camping in the Summer holidays. The campsite is relatively small, and in a field adjacent to the YHA car park. We were able to use all the facilities, including self catering kitchen, restaurant, games room and TV room, which made it a great place to stay for all the family. We could also book onto the Hostel activities, and we all went gorge scrambling which was tiring but great fun! The activity staff were fantastic, I have to say. The place is a shortish if not hilly walk into Okehampton where there is a cinema, pubs and lovely leisure centre and park. I thought it was a really good place for a family holiday, especially if you like to be active, and go walking, cycling and the like. We'd very much like to go back.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
2
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Three of us stayed here over the Easter weekend for one night on a cycling tour of Devon. We found the hostel to be very good, with warm, comfortable and clean rooms and bathrooms. Situated by a steam railway track (I believe the hostel was a station house in a former life) gave us some interesting trains to see outside. The place was very busy but the staff were still polite and attentive. The bike sheds were completely full when we arrived in the early evening, therefore they let us store our bikes in drying rooms for security and shelter from the rain. When we left, one of us left some valuables behind which, on our request, they searched for, found and posted to his home. To top it off is that the hostel is perfectly placed to enter into Dartmoor and explore one of England's finest areas.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Real unusual lovely place! it's a converted Railway station house and is in a very quiet secluded part of Okehampton.

I had a whole room to myself and had a few lovely nights sleep on a bottom bunk.

The communal lounges are a lovely place to relax in.

The staff are there when you need them but I didn't really have much to do with anyone who worked there which I did like.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Clean, comfortable & safe
They even had a room upstairs with a ping pong table and couches and games. It was probably the best hostel we stayed at, throughout our trip. I stayed in a room with 9 beds (female only) and I was the only one there. My friend stayed in the male room and he was alone, as well. The mixed dorms were booked, but it was nice to have a whole room to yourself :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Stayed for one night on a touring holiday. It was busy but staff were still patient in explaining things. Evening food was expensive for basic meals. Nice area. Bit spilt by a particular noisy obnoxious family but that's what you get at these places!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Okehampton YHA is an excellent facility with a lot going on. We didn't eat but the building was spacious with free table tennis amongst other activities. Showers were warm and never busy and the bike hire on site was hugely useful and reasonable. Staff were friendly and its only a short walk into Okehampton itself. One of the best hostels ive stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had planned to use this hostel as nothing more than a cheap bed for the night while we explored Devon, but it turned out that it was so fantastic it became more of the focus of the holiday itself than we had intended and we'll have to return to Devon to do more exploring another time. While the sleeping facilities are pretty basic the staff are so welcoming and helpful you do feel really cared for. The activities were challenging but achievable and all of our children were encouraged to participate without feeling pressurised.
I really have to single out the fantastic catering from Gareth. We were lucky enough to be there on the night that he had made a Mexican Special Buffet, which was sublime. There was a great choice of food with a range of spicing to suit everyone's taste followed by an indulgent Semi-Freddo, Sticky Toffee Pudding or Banoffee Pie. The portions were generous and nothing was too much trouble. I think some hotels would struggle to beat this standard. I have read other reviews which have said that they think that the food is of poor standard and somewhat overpriced and I can only think that the standard must have changed dramatically since these reviews were written, it certainly isn't the case now. On the night we arrived we had been held up with a traffic jam and we were served with a smile even though the dining area should have been closed. I cannot recommend this highly enough for families., we will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the games room if you have young children who need to sleep earlier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Okehampton YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okehampton YHA

Address: Klondyke Road, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Okehampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Okehampton YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of Dartmoor with direct access to the moor we offer friendly budget accommodation for families, groups and individuals. This Devon Hostel provides self-catering, bed and breakfast or full board accommodation although special diets (e.g. gluten-free) require advance notice. A range of over 20 different adventure activities can be booked including Big Oke Abseil, high ropes, archery, rock climbing, gorge scrambling, mountain boarding, watersports, cycling and pony-trekking. Cycle Hire available on site. During school holidays the Rail Bar serves beer, wine and local cider. Parking for 28 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Okehampton YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okehampton YHA Devon, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okehampton YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.