We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, relaxing and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ring of Bells Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ring of Bells Inn to your Saves list
Ring of Bells Inn
The Village, North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RB, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 North Bovey B&B and Inns
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable, relaxing and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just had a fantastic 2 night stay at the Ring of Bells. We received a warm welcome to our comfortable room. Our evening meals and breakfast were delicious. All fantastic value. It was lovely to find somewhere so dog-friendly. Thank you so much to the team. We hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    31
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
83
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had a fabulous meal here on Friday 15th Feb with hubby and our 8 year old son. Super evening all round. Great food (imaginative veggie food - much appreciated) and great staff. We were staying at Bovey Castle Hotel for a few nights and found the food and service much, much better at the Ring of Bells. We come to Devon often and this is just the loveliest country pub. We'd definitely make a detour here to have a meal again. Lots of games available too to keep the children amused. Really good and have already recommended to some friends who also visit Devon often and Dartmoor in particular....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

After months in the planning my wife and I rocked up for what she thought would be a pleasant lunch, then a stay overnight "somewhere". Little did she know that I had booked enough rooms for 8 of our friends to join us for the evening and overnight, to enjoy the "secret" birthday , with champagne and celebratory meal to follow. All the Ring of Bells management and staff were in on it, and didn't let a thing slip, they were brilliant. From start to finish, they were friendly, and professional, nothing was too much trouble. The lunch was brilliant, and the evening meal a triumph. Breakfast in the morning, even with a sore head, was a feast. Book a stay here, you simply cannot go wrong!

Room Tip: All the rooms are en suite, old fashioned but well appointed, clean, tidy, all the bits you would ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Went on late rooms and decided to book a night. What a great find it was too, a beautiful inn set in a chocolate box village, We had the twin room, great furnishings and very comfortable beds and as for the food 5*, the real ale kept to perfection and the staff could not have tried harder to make the stay well just perfect.

Will stay again very soon

Room Tip: We loved room 3, we saw room 2 and it had a 4 poster !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This must be my fourth of fifth visit to the Ring of Bells and it never disappoints. It is what a country inn should be - warm and welcoming, good service, good rooms (but not OTT), very good local food and a first class English breakfast. And not forgetting excellent beer! I stayed at Bovey Castle the next night on business and for me the Ring of Bells wins hands down.

Room Tip: There are 5 bedrooms, and my preference is for rooms 1,2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Visited ROB at beginning of December on the pretence that we would christmas shop in Exeter. A very warm welcome greeted us at the pub and we didn't look any further and stayed for dinner on both nights of our stay. Beautiful rooms, so peaceful/tranquil absolutely loved it. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

My family and I came for lunch on boxing day. We have been there several times before after walking on the moor. As expected the service was excellent and courteous, food was well prepared and a several decent ales on tap. Shame about the b3212! Heartily recommended

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ring of Bells Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ring of Bells Inn

Address: The Village, North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > North Bovey
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in North Bovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ring of Bells Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ring Of Bells Hotel North Bovey
Ring Of Bells Inn North Bovey, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ring of Bells Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.