We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True old school luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bovey Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bovey Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Bovey Castle Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“True old school luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here couple of months ago for a romantic weekend.
We loved it!
After passing the winding roads and driving through the castles gothic gates we were greeted like royalty and our car and luggage was taken care of, instantly.
Very attentive and friendly staff, great service.
The room was spacious, with great views over the valley and felt luxurious.
I loved the fact that they supply you with hunter wellies so you can explore the great estate like in the olden days. In the afternoon we experienced the falconry, followed by cream & tea in front of a roaring log fire. Wonderful.
In the evening we opted for dinner in the castle bistro, which offered a good range of food in a relaxed atmosphere.
We finished the night at the oak bar which featured a wide range of whiskies.
The whiskey sours were incredible...

All in all we had a great stay and will defenetly come again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    272
    143
    78
    31
See reviews for
361
694
11
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The relatively wide variation in previous reviews reflects the fact that Bovey Castle is something of a curate's egg.

The property is very grand and in a magnificent setting. Previous reviewers have quite rightly praised the check-in procedure... very slick and creates an excellent first impression. Reception staff are pleasant, well informed and helpful. We stayed in one of the lodges and they are nicely sized and tastefully decked out.

However, the service and the food at the Bistro restaurant are not up to scratch. There are also signs of a lack of investment such as skimping on property maintenance both in the main building and in the lodges (I gather that the current owners purchased the hotel at the top of the market and that it may now be up for sale?).

The golf course is beautiful and, whilst short, should not be underestimated, especially the first 8 holes... but surely you would swap the 9s around and make the holes along the river bed the back 9?

Bovey Castle has the setting to be a genuine 5-star experience but falls short in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, staff very attentive just a few comments - service for breakfast was very slow and food in morning was not as I expected in such a nice hotel, over certainly had better breakfasts. But main complaint was the bistro service and manageress, she was argumentative to us and also another guest later as they messed up our booking. Was sorted in end but she was very rude and sarcastic so not looking forward to visiting bistro again however we didn't let that spill our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed for two nights in one of the suites, no. 49. The room was magnificent with the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. The hotel is beautifully furnished & the staff friendly & attentive. Our first experience of the catering was in the Bistro & unfortunately this is the weak link in the organisation. We waited a long time before being asked to place an order & even longer for it to arrive. Our friend waited 25mins the next day before anyone approached for the order.
The main restaurant food was very good although my husband's halibut was dry & over cooked.
On our second night there was a function in the main restaurant & we were placed in a small dark side room. We agreed with other diners that we should have been informed, especially as we had arranged to meet with friends who could not find us. The service left much to be desired & the staff were really stretched as in our opinion the experienced staff were coping with the function.
In spite of these issues we enjoyed our visit & would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel & look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Had my share of 5*hotels and this one was just beautiful! The setting was amazing the food was superb had a lovely day at the spa and the staff were very attentive. We also had the pressure of meeting the hotel manager Federico which added a lovely personal touch. Would highly recommend looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I dropped in on Bovey castle to have afternoon tea having heard wonderful things. We were not disappointed at all. The staff were fantastic the food was to die for! The surroundings were heavenly! Could not recommend Bovey castle enough. I think we're ready to be regulars!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here last weekend and it was a disaster! Room was extremely basic , the wardrobe was so small we had to hang our clothes on the door handles, the bathroom was in desperate need of updating,there was nowhere to put your toiletries , not even a cup of some sort to put your toothbrush in. We had to call housekeeping twice for fresh towels. We had booked afternoon tea when we made our booking so we were surprised that having waited 20 minutes at the table we were then given a menu. We waited a further 15 minutes and finally our tea came but no sandwiches or scones for a further 15 minutes by which time out tea was cold. We then tried to hire some bicycles as our teenage son was looking forward to cycling, after much confusion and waiting around we were told that the bicycles had not had their maintenance checks and therefore were not for hire. Later on we decided to have a drink on the bistro terrace, once again waited and waited to be served but nobody came out, eventually I went inside to look for someone and asked if they could come and take our order. Breakfast was a joke having been squeezed on to a table for 2, the waiter asked our son if he would like a hot chocolate and my son agreed, only to be told 10 minutes later that actually there was no hot chocolate! We ordered tea and having waited15 minutes I asked the waitress again and eventually she brought it out but had forgotten to add the tea and just gave me a pot of boiling water! When I explained this to her she replied 'ok' , no apology whatsoever. This is not what you expect from a so called 5 star hotel. Later that day I spoke with the manager who had very little to say but assured us that he would speak to us the following morning. The following morning we happen to see him as we were checking out and he said that he would contact us in a couple of days , we still haven't heard from him a week later. Don't waste your money, stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bovey Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bovey Castle Hotel

Address: North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > North Bovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bovey Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own private estate on the dramatically-beautiful Dartmoor National Park, Bovey Castle is a five-star country house hotel and an unrivalled destination for a luxurious rural retreat. Built at the turn of the century, Bovey Castle has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur upon which it was founded, and the understated-elegance of this bygone era continues to echo throughout the hotel. Within the 275-acre estate sits the 64 bedroom hotel and 14 granite lodges, both offering luxurious accommodation for family breaks, activity holidays, romantic escapes or corporate and incentive team building. The championship 18-hole golf course surrounds the historic manor house, while the estate lends itself perfectly to Bovey Castle’s extensive selection of on-site resort activities. Immerse yourself in the luxuriously-appointed décor and outstanding service, relax in the holistic spa and indulge your taste buds with decadent food and fabulous wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bovey Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bovey Castle North
Hotel Bovey Castle
Bovey Castle Hotel North Bovey, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bovey Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.