We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, pampered luxury getaway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bovey Castle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bovey Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bovey Castle Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in North Bovey
1 review
“Fabulous, pampered luxury getaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We went to Bovey Castle for the weekend for a friends hen party. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. We all enjoyed the swimming pool and facilities, a few of us had spa treatments that were very relaxing, I would highly recommend a facial. Our whole party had the afternoon champagne tea which was incredible! The scones with jam and cream were delicious, an array of cakes and sandwiches, and as much tea as we liked along with plenty of champagne, we felt very spoilt. The whole setting of Bovey Castle is so different to any other hotel it's warm and welcoming with glamorous interiors. Fabulous time, will definately be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    797
    232
    134
    70
    28
See reviews for
321
629
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We (a friend and I) were fortunate enough to have a half day spa package at Bovey Castle Hotel on 21st June 2013. We were so looking forward to it as we had heard good things. Reception was good with coffee on arrival, but from there things went down hill. We decided to 1. gym, 2. swim, 3. spa follow by 4. lunch. There were no facilities (lockers) to leave any of your belongings in the gym area so we lugged our rucksacks and bags around to each location. The gym had no air conditioning to speak of, so got very hot, even just with the two of us in it. The pool area was nice and the pool warm, the downside here was that one of the two showers was missing it's door so you were visible to all and sundry, also, in the changing room the paint was peeling off all around the radiator. The spa experience was lovely, we both had back and scalp massages with a facial to follow - lush.
Lunch - this was awful, we ordered a glass of Champagne @ £10 each, which was served warm, I complained and was offered a cold glass of cold Bollenger @ £14 per glass, they seemed to think it was acceptable to serve warm Champagne - I don't. I ordered a gin and my friend ordered a vodka which was then served the wrong way round. When the starter arrived we went to cut into the meat and the table wobbled nearly spilling the long awaited for drinks, I called over the waitress who fixed it by putting a servette under the base. After the starter I had ordered mussels for my main, when collecting the plate the waitress spilt the cream/garlic sauce over the table and then back across the floor to the counter.
They automatically add on a service charge to the bill, I asked for it to be removed due to the poor service we had received.
What a shame.... as this could be such a wonderful place, they just need training in customer service in the restaurant and fixing the 'niggles' around the public areas. I definately will never return, I am of the mindset that 'once bitten, twice shy'.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoveyCastleHotel, Bovey Castle Management Team at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback on your spa experience with us and we are of course disappointed to read the issues you have raised in your review.
In terms of the specific issues you have mentioned;
Lockers for the changing rooms are due to be installed next week.
The missing shower screen in the ladies changing room is currently awaiting replacement, this has been requested to be resolved by the end of this week at the latest.
The warm champagne, wobbly table and service issues in the Bistro have been brought to the attention of our Bistro manager.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your spa treatments so much but of course appreciate that this is part of a whole spa experience that on this occasion did not live up to expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived at Bovey Castle and we were shown around by the resort team. We were offered a guided tour of the hotel. Upon reaching the Library we were told the Parrot Story who uses swear words which we were immediately given much to our surprise and slight outrage. We felt that this was inappropriate use of language given Bovey Castle prides itself on being a 5 star resort.
We stayed for a weekend. We indulged in Afternoon tea which was less than inspiring both in delivery and execution. Uninspired finger sandwiches, Poor Cakes and cold coffee. The good thing it was very good value for money, if it had been better presentation and quality.
Dinner was about the same with the Chateaubriand being poorly executed and accompanied with one carrot and two small onions and a very small dauphinoise potato. We found breakfast to be average but we were particularly offended by burnt pancakes. We felt it was a real shame the hotel did not deliver on these issues and whilst the room was nice it was not outstanding. The staff were all pleasant. Location beautiful, lovely grounds to walk around and the surrounding is outstanding. We would not stay again as we did not feel it was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoveyCastleHotel, Bovey Castle Managment Team at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review and it is of course disappointing to read your experience of your stay with us, with the main area of concern focussing around our food and service delivery. All your comments have been discussed with our food and beverage team in order to continually improve on the guest experience we are providing. As for the inappropriate 'parrot story', we can only apologise that this occurred and resulted in you feeling uncomfortable on your arrival, our resort team have been spoken to about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was very fortunate to be invited to a friends 50th birthday party at the 'castle'. We had a great time and were looked after extremely well by the attentive but not overbearing staff. Luggage was quickly and efficiently delivered to my room and checking in was a pleasure. There were 21 of us for dinner and the food and wine were excellent. The hotel manager Federico as well as being an enthusiastic and vibrant host organised a little visit to the wine cellar and David the sommelier talked us through some of his 'specials'. My experience of the Spa was also very good. Looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoveyCastleHotel, Bovey Castle Manangement Team at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Bovey Castle experience. Federico and his team work extremely hard to ensure that every guest has a memorable and relaxing stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bovey Castle soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The afternoon tea at Bovey Castle was one of the highlights of our vacation.
We would never have dared going there if our B&B landlady had not warmly reccommended it.
It looked very posh and out of our league, but the staff were friendly and made us feel welcome.
The full afternoon tea was very good value, with tasty sandwiches, warm scones and dainty little cakes. We thoroughly enjoyed the ambience and the fire in the fireplace.
If you are in the area, go spoil yourself.
Wish I could go again...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoveyCastleHotel, Bovey Castle Management Team at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Many thanks for your review on your afternoon tea experience. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience with us during your holiday. Do come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I bought my mother in law afternoon tea as a gift and unfortunately her service was so bad that the manager offered her another free afternoon tea at another time. Fair enough. So i accompanied her with my sister in law and low and behold the service was terrible! We arrived at 3.45pm and sat down in an empty room. 5 more groups arrived after us and each were served before us. At 4.20pm, i approached a member of staff (they are very lovely) and by 4.45pm we had our tea-thats an hour! Plus the scones had been microwaved to oblivion (mine was burnt in parts). A real shame as its a stunning location and a real treat if done properly. I certainly won't be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoveyCastleHotel, Bovey Castle Management Team at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
It is always disappointing to receive less than perfect feedback from our guests, especially on our afternoon tea experience which we pride ourselves on. Your comments have been discussed with the relevant team to highlight the issues your review has raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

If you are tired of run of the mill Hotels and Venues, then it is time you visited Bovey Castle and caught some magic. It's a really special place with a amazing selection of public areas. My favourite public room was the Adams rooms with it's wonderful interior and open fire. The bedrooms were well appointed and the service second to none. But is was the setting which gave it that something extra, it is just a beautiful place with a great atmosphere. If you want something special I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bovey Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bovey Castle Hotel

Address: North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > North Bovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in North Bovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bovey Castle Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own private estate on the dramatically-beautiful Dartmoor National Park, Bovey Castle is a five-star country house hotel and an unrivalled destination for a luxurious rural retreat. Built at the turn of the century, Bovey Castle has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur upon which it was founded, and the understated-elegance of this bygone era continues to echo throughout the hotel. Within the 275-acre estate sits the 64 bedroom hotel and 14 granite lodges, both offering luxurious accommodation for family breaks, activity holidays, romantic escapes or corporate and incentive team building. The championship 18-hole golf course surrounds the historic manor house, while the estate lends itself perfectly to Bovey Castle’s extensive selection of on-site resort activities. Immerse yourself in the luxuriously-appointed décor and outstanding service, relax in the holistic spa and indulge your taste buds with decadent food and fabulous wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bovey Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bovey Castle North
Hotel Bovey Castle
Bovey Castle Hotel North Bovey, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bovey Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.