We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, lovely lodges” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bovey Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bovey Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Bovey Castle Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
somerset
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, lovely lodges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We visited for a friends birthday celebration,7 ladies!! and chose to stay in one of the lodges. It was beautiful and had everything we needed. The staff are lovely from greeting you at the door with the offer of a tour and picking us up and collecting us from the lodge in either the jaguar or the defender. We had an issue with hot water, however, it is not the problem itself it is how it is dealt with and Federico the manager was brilliant and sorted an alternative for us and made sure we were looked after and felt extra special. Not sure if he is french or italian....... he will hate me for saying that! We dined in the bistro, had cocktails in the piano bar, and afternoon tea was delicious, best scones ever - that was unanimous. They certainly know how to look after you and value the importance of customer service. It is an expensive place to visit but if you are looking for something special then I cannot recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: We had the Greystoke lodge, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    298
    158
    87
    39
See reviews for
386
749
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Words simply can't justify how perfect this hotel is, with its stunning views across moorland the views from your room are picture perfect. The staff are friendly and very welcoming indeed. The hotel is a must for all. Thank you for our stay Bovey Castle.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I had wanted to stay at bovey castle for sometime and have just returned from a wonderful 3 day birthday break. The hotel has a very relaxed welcoming atmosphere. The staff were both friendly and helpful. We ate in both the restaurants and would recommend them both, especially The Edwardian Grill which was superb. There are a choice of lounges to relax in and we enjoyed sitting in front of roaring log fires. We could not fault the service and did not have to wait as other reviewers have mentioned. The grounds are stunning - even in the rain. We did have an issue with our room which was sorted out immediately by the manager, Federico, to our complete satisfaction. The leisure facilities are excellent. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just had a one night stay with friends and had a really wonderful and relaxing time. As we drove up to the door we were greeted by hotel staff in plus fours and Barbour jackets who parked the car for us and took our luggage inside. The reception staff were efficient and friendly and asked if we had been to the hotel before. On hearing that we hadn't we were offered a tour en-route to our rooms. A lovely young man (Matthew?) who was on placement from university showed us around, telling us a little bit about the history and each room and encouraging us to watch the falconry display in the morning. By the time we arrived at our rooms our bags were waiting for us.

Both couples were very pleased with the rooms, which were a good size, comfortably furnished with generous sized bathrooms, plenty of clean towels and stocked with Elemis products. Bathrooms and bedrooms were in good order and spotlessly clean. Beds were soft and comfortable. There was a lovely complimentary tea box with a wide selection of teas, chocolate and coffee, handmade biscuits and bone china cups & saucers and the hotel were happy to replenish supplies at any time. There was fresh milk and bottled water in the fridge. The free Internet was easy to connect to in the room and reliable.

We wanted a light lunch before heading to the Spa so chose the Bistro. This is a more recent addition at one end of the hotel and we thought very well done. It was light and modern and provided a lovely contrast to the 'country house/hunting, shooting & fishing' feel of the main part of the hotel. Three of us chose mussels and all agreed they were probably the nicest we had ever had. The fourth had Mushroom soup, which was also very good. We had an extremely nice Sauvignon Blanc and good coffees to follow. Staff were efficient and friendly and service was prompt.

We had a variety of massages that I had booked by email directly with the Spa before our arrival. They were ready for us when we arrived and we all enjoyed the treatments very much. Two of us used the pool and steam room and thought the facilities were good for a relaxing swim.

We had pre-booked the Edwardian Grill for dinner and had pre-dinner drinks in the library room beforehand. We had some questions about the beef menu and Federico was quickly summoned to answer our questions. He was knowledgeable, and very friendly. We were shown to our table and had a wonderful meal. Staff were welcoming, efficient and friendly. Our food was very good, tasty, and well presented. We all felt the selection available on the menu was excellent and found it hard to choose. We splashed out on the Wagyu steaks and were not disappointed - they were the best we have ever had, cooked to perfection - and as we've never seen them on a menu before, probably the best we are ever likely to have. Our request to pause after our main meal, and sit by the fire in the old banqueting hall, before having our cheese brought to us wasn't a problem at all. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting in the warm, smoky, low-lit room after our meal. Federico was there to bid us all a good night when we wound our way up to our rooms. Our tea box had been restocked, the bed had been turned down and some homemade fudge left with a copy of the following day's weather forecast - nice touch.

We came down in the morning after a leisurely start, as breakfast is available until 11am. We were there at 10am to watch the falconry display. Martin Whitely was very amusing and provided a very interesting and fun display perfectly pitched for both adults and children. We headed in to breakfast at 10.30am. As we wanted to sit together and there wasn't a table of 4 laid, we were asked to sit for a few minutes on the sofas whilst one was prepared. We were soon seated and the waiter who attended to us explained the breakfast and took tea/coffee orders. One of us ordered from the a la carte menu (and would recommend the Eggs Benedict) and we all started with cereal/fruit. By the time the rest of us had chosen from the buffet and just started to eat the Eggs Benedict arrived - perfect timing. We all thought the breakfast was really good; cereals, fruit, juices, pastries, breads, spreads, bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomatoes, scrambled egg (perfectly cooked) and beans. We were given a good quantity of toast and offered more tea/coffee, all of which arrived promptly. Our waiter and waitress were good-natured and we were able to enjoy some lighthearted banter with them. Our pepper mill was empty and we tried one from a table next to us, which was also empty. As soon as we pointed it out another was brought straight to us with an apology. All very efficient and friendly.

We retired to the Adam room to read the papers...past Federico who asked if we had enjoyed our breakfast...and relax before having to tear ourselves away.

The weather was damp and foggy and so we weren't able to enjoy the views as much as we might have but in every other way we had a wonderful stay. This is not a pristine, inner city, immaculate, childfree hotel. It is a wonderful country hotel where you are welcome whether you are walking, golfing or using the Spa. Every single member of staff we had contact with, and there were many, were respectful, friendly, efficient and well trained. We were acknowledged and greeted wherever we went in the hotel, and staff moved out of our way even if they were carrying a ladder. Federico Aresti was very much present and we saw him many times during our short stay and he was genuinely concerned that we were enjoying our stay.

Check-out was also friendly and efficient and, as we were juggling amounts between the two rooms and therefore not being straightforward, our requests were dealt with efficiently and with good humour. Our bags were brought from our rooms and put in our car before the car was brought to the entrance for us. Our take-out coffee cups, left in the car on arrival, had been disposed of - nice touch.

The Edwardian Grill does have a dress code...but even smart denim is welcome, just no sportswear. Perfectly reasonable...and exactly what you would expect. The old banqueting hall does smell of smoke, and therefore so will you; it's the joy of an open fire. There is lots of beautiful oak and plenty of soft, squashy sofas and big armchairs. The lovely mullioned windows have stunning ornate brass fittings. This is a country house hotel where the staff are attentive but it is by no means fusty. There is information in the rooms explaining the service charge added to all services. You can opt out of this if you wish. We chose to pay it as we felt that we had been extremely well looked after.

We fully intend to return again in the future as there is a golf course to be explored, different treatments in the Spa to try and we fancy a bit of cider/sloe gin making, and a guided walk and afternoon tea be had. We all agreed that it felt as if we had been away for more than just a night, as we all felt so relaxed after our stay.

Room Tip: We had rooms 58 and 36, at opposite ends of the hotel and both good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Bovey Castle Hotel

Two nights with a secret escapes deal of £350 for two nights. Not cheap but you get a lovely hotel, in wonderful location. Having read the different reviews from five stars to two or three you might be wondering what goes on in this place to have such differing views. Expectations must be high and at the rack rate you would justified. It's about £330 for a base double per night.

So down to the stay. Arrival is smooth with friendly staff and nice young gentlemen waiting to take your bags and car away to your room. But first a quick tour of the main rooms. And what impressive common rooms with a magnificent main hall, roaring log fire and plenty of comfy chairs. There is even a parrot that talks in one room.

We were offered at check in an upgrade at £40 per night with a valley view. which we declined and were led to room 29 over looking the top of the kitchens and a view if a building. 29 was a large room with a very large bathroom and a TV to match. There is a locked separate nursery we were told available to this room. Once our luggage arrived and I worked out how to switch off the TV unfortunately there was a loud hum akin to a aircon unit in one of those old fashioned hotels of the 60s. I spend enough time in hot countries to be used to it, but normally its on to keep the mosquitoes out. Upon taking this up with reception there was no quibble just a cheery "I'll see what else is available". We were moved to 46 a smaller room but quiet and a view to the front, a valley view.

We used the pool in the afternoon enjoying the steam room and generally relaxing. Afternoon tea. Wow! £25 for their champagne tea offering. Brilliant value if you compare with the Ritz in London's formulaic affair. I doubt if you would go hungry after it.

We ate in the bistro in the evening. The pizzas are good but I had one of the better fish and chips I've had for a long time. Two days earlier I had a Tanner's bistro version in Plymouth which was poor. This was brilliant.

Retiring to bed I must compliment their choice of linen, duvet and mattress. Wonderful and a great nights sleep. Some have posted pictures of mold, and pealing wallpaper. Same in this room but it's obvious why. When it rain in Devon it really rains and the beautiful original windows leak. Our maid had put towels under them but you can see the consequences.

Our second day. A fantastic breakfast, included in our rate. Service a tad slow but choice good and the veg option was very good.

We had decided to eat in the main restaurant that evening. And it followed the great food from the night before and the breakfast. But the service was slow which when you consider how many waiters there were there it was surprising. But remember why you are here. To get away from it all. If you want snappy service, over attentive waiters go back to the metropolis. It didn't spoil the wonderful food just made our observations of the serving staff more amusing. Chill a bit as staff are still very friendly and show real concern about your enjoyment of the evening. And yes a bit more training would help.

This was a great stay. Don't hesitate when the offers come up. A plus point is no mobile signal in the hotel with vodafone.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our trip to Bovey Castle started with a swim, then afternoon tea. The hotel was very impressive with kind, caring staff which were always keen and willing to help throughout our visit. The afternoon tea was faultless and suprisingly filling, there was not a shortage in any of the food. Even though the weather was typically English - misty and raining, inside definately made up for it. Overall I am very happy with my visit and can't wait to go again in the summer. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaphill, Woking
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We spent two relaxing nights at Bovey Castle and would return again in a heartbeat. The staff were helpful and attentive, the food glorious and the surroundings beautiful. There were a few things we noticed that would benefit from some attention but purely just freshening up and not at all major. The hotel was clean and we were made to feel welcome and relaxed at all times. Would recommend to anyone looking for some peace and quiet with friendly faces and delicious food. Bovey Castle has real character and its own individuality which is a real pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bovey Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bovey Castle Hotel

Address: North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > North Bovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bovey Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own private estate on the dramatically-beautiful Dartmoor National Park, Bovey Castle is a five-star country house hotel and an unrivalled destination for a luxurious rural retreat. Built at the turn of the century, Bovey Castle has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur upon which it was founded, and the understated-elegance of this bygone era continues to echo throughout the hotel. Within the 275-acre estate sits the 64 bedroom hotel and 14 granite lodges, both offering luxurious accommodation for family breaks, activity holidays, romantic escapes or corporate and incentive team building. The championship 18-hole golf course surrounds the historic manor house, while the estate lends itself perfectly to Bovey Castle’s extensive selection of on-site resort activities. Immerse yourself in the luxuriously-appointed décor and outstanding service, relax in the holistic spa and indulge your taste buds with decadent food and fabulous wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Bovey Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bovey Castle North
Hotel Bovey Castle
Bovey Castle Hotel North Bovey, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bovey Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.