We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bovey Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bovey Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Bovey Castle Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Bovey Castle is a beautiful building. The ourside is dramatic and the scenery is fantastic. The interior of the hotel is elegant and cosy and the bedrooms are lovely. We visited with our young son and he was made very welcome. We even took him asleep in his buggy to dinner! The falconry displays each day are amazing - if a little nerve wracking when a hawk swoops down past your head! There is plenty to do in the local area and lots of fabulous walks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    272
    143
    78
    31
See reviews for
360
694
11
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I treated my partner for one night's stay for his 40th birthday. Fantastic hotel and location, staff lovely and the food amazing. We took our one year old so with us and he loved playing in the castle, in the playroom, the pool and walking around the grounds. We only live locally too so it was perfect for us to travel too and easy to get too, we are looking to return for either Christmas or the New Year with friends, maybe stay in the lodges! So so great you will not be disappointed, and so cosy and romantic in the winter months with the open log fires even with the kids!!! x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Half term treat and I wasn't disappionted . The afternoon tea was brillant, freshcut sandwiches followed by mini cakes and warm scones ,clotted cream and jam.The atomsphere and room was wonderful as was the service . Thank you for fabulous experience

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks break in one of the hotel lodges.

We had a wonderful time and wonderful service.

The standard of accommodation was exeptional considering we had 3 dogs with us, they all had their own bed and food bowls and dog treats.

We had full use of all of the hotel facilities and made the most of the pool with the children.

There are many lovely walks from the hotel which we also followed, we had a wonderful time and will be back.

The service charge which is mentioned quite a lot is there so that tips are distributed equally between front of house and behind the scenes staff and some is also donated to charity which is decided upon by the staff.

Room Tip: If you are staying with dogs in a lodge then ask for a room that is not on a path upto the hotel if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with husband and three children. We had to book two inter-connecting rooms to accommodate us all and the charge was approx £750 per night.
The venue is impressive and had the feel of a hunting lodge with its wood panelling and roaring fires. The staff were suitably attired which added to the ambience.
We were greeted when we rolled up outside but I have to say I felt the staff member seemed a bit stroppy. When we checked in however a young lady showed us up to one of our rooms (other wasn't available at that time) and she was very friendly.
Room was ok - nothing special.
Come 4 o'clock the keys to our second room still hadn't materialised so we rang reception - they said they would bring them straight up. Half an hour later, still no keys so we chased them up again. They finally arrived another 30 minutes after that.
Ate in the bistro the first night and the food was ok - waitress moody!
Before we arrived at the hotel we saw on the website that children had a "Lego room service" menu. Indeed the website stated that children could order from the menu and it would be delivered on a silver tray to the room. Our children asked a couple of times for the menu before they got it and were told to return it straight away when finished.
They ordered and it was delivered to the room (minus silver salver). We also had to pay £150 deposit for three boxes of Lego!
Second night we dined in the a la carte restaurant and the food was great. Staffing very attentive too.
Coming back to poor staffing, we were walking past the reception and somebody had evidently chucked up all over the floor. Surprisingly nobody had cleared it up nor erected a sign to advise to keep clear, resulting in myself and my husband trampling through it. The receptionist advised us to be careful just when it was too late.
Bar at the hotel was good and staff generally were very knowledgeable.
On the morning of departure we visited restaurant for breakfast. The restaurant was far from full yet we were asked to wait for approximately 15 minutes so they could make up a table for us. The experience was like fawlty towers. Headless chickens clucking around who clearly didn't know their backside from their elbow: a complete farce.
We were eventually seated and helped ourselves to the buffet. There was no cutlery anywhere so we had to grab a passing waiter to request some. Everybody in the restaurant was at a loss as to what was going on - comical. Our waiter also stank of BO which was a bit of a concern at that time of day.
Finally came to checkout and were presented with our bill. The hotels policy is to add a percentage of the bill on as service charge. In our case for two nights our service charge was £200! I advised that this discretionary charge was not deserved and it was removed.
Mentioned the breakfast fiasco to the front desk and asked where the manager was only to be told that there wasn't one that day.
Will not be returning which is a shame as so much potential. New manager/staff required as a matter of urgency.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoveyCastleHotel, Bovey Castle management team at Bovey Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
It is saddening to read reviews where our guests are left unfulfilled by a stay at Bovey Castle. I must apologise for your experience at check-in; while l cannot comment on whether or not a member of my team was unfriendly towards you, there shouldn't have been a wait for your bedroom keys on arrival. I was disappointed to read some of your personal observations regarding members of my staff, in particular the reference to personal hygiene, which is not a comment that has ever been raised with me before.

The LEGO Room Service Menu was launched this half-term and has truly been a success, based on the reactions of children who order from the service and the parents who participate in the toy building. Unfortunately, some of the larger boxed toys are too big for the silver salver and therefore are delivered to the bedroom by hand, this is unavoidable.

The LEGO deposit that you refer to is not charged at the instant that the toys are delivered, the deposit merely refers to a note on your guest account to state that LEGO has been lent to that particular room. The figure is based on the average value of each of the toys and has been introduced to prevent the LEGO from being taken away from the hotel.

With regards to the vomit you encountered at reception, a four-year-old boy had been travel sick in the reception area after arriving by car. A member of housekeeping had been called the instant this happened to get the floor cleaned, but we should have been quicker to warn guests in the corridor of the situation.

The hotel manager and duty managers are visible throughout the hotel, there is always a member of my team on hand to discuss guest feedback and we would never tell our guests that there wasn’t a representative available. Bovey Castle's service charge is totally discretionary and every guest is entitled to the right to decline paying this percentage of the bill.

If you would like to discuss your stay further, l ask that you make contact with the hotel and direct your call to me.

Kind regards,

Federico Aresti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have just returned from a lovely romantic break with my Husband. We booked Bovey Castle through Secret Escapes. It really is in a lovely setting, I would agree with some earlier comments about the rooms not being as luxurious as you might expect, particularly the bathroom. However, this really did not detract from a great hotel. It is always interesting to stay somewhere that gets such mixed reviews. In our experience, the staff were attentive without being invasive. We were not really impressed with the Bistro as it seems more family oriented but still could not fault the service and really enjoyed the experience in the Edwardian Grill. We walked to the village and enjoyed the extravagant afternoon tea but really enjoyed sitting in the lovely lounges, reading, chatting and drinking... The swimming pool is also very nice.

Room Tip: we were in rm 41, a very nice room but too close to the elevator for my liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stunning views and impressive hotel with friendly, attentive staff. We stayed with friends in one of the lodges, which are well equipped.
We had dinner at the hotel and were slightly disappointed the food didn't meet our expectations, however the service was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bovey Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bovey Castle Hotel

Address: North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > North Bovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bovey Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own private estate on the dramatically-beautiful Dartmoor National Park, Bovey Castle is a five-star country house hotel and an unrivalled destination for a luxurious rural retreat. Built at the turn of the century, Bovey Castle has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur upon which it was founded, and the understated-elegance of this bygone era continues to echo throughout the hotel. Within the 275-acre estate sits the 64 bedroom hotel and 14 granite lodges, both offering luxurious accommodation for family breaks, activity holidays, romantic escapes or corporate and incentive team building. The championship 18-hole golf course surrounds the historic manor house, while the estate lends itself perfectly to Bovey Castle’s extensive selection of on-site resort activities. Immerse yourself in the luxuriously-appointed décor and outstanding service, relax in the holistic spa and indulge your taste buds with decadent food and fabulous wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bovey Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bovey Castle North
Hotel Bovey Castle
Bovey Castle Hotel North Bovey, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bovey Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.