We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome and great lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ring of Bells Restaurant

Ring of Bells Restaurant
The Village | Ring of Bells Inn, North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RB, England
44 1647 440 375
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great welcome and great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Liked the welcome for dogs and the warmth on a wet day. Loved the local food - fantastic sausages. Nothing to dislike about this place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    35
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walton on Thames
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Classic pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Set in a beautiful village, Ring of Bells is a handsome pub with a bar you would love to have a drink at. Food was excellent! Not to be missed!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

On taking walk from Bovey Castle ,we came across north bovey where we found this 15th century Inn.Low beamed ceilings and a sunday Lunch with trimmings .Dartmore Ale too,what a delightful way to spend your sunday.Great service

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great little local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Within walking distance of Bovey Castle, the Ring of Bells is a lovely English village pub servicing real ale and traditional fayre.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wonderful place to find in the middle of our walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We ate here twice on our holiday the welcome to our tribe of kids and dogs was welcomed. The food and wine was excellent we will definately be back

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ring of Bells Restaurant also viewed

Lustleigh, Dartmoor National Park
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park
 
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Ring of Bells Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ring of Bells Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.