We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much Opportunity ...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe on the Corner

Cafe on the Corner
826 Scenic Hwy, Lookout Mountain, TN 37350-1418
423-825-5005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: awesome Southern contemporary bistro
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So Much Opportunity ...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The only resturant on Lookout Mountain. Great location, nice atmosphere. Intreging menu but terrible service. I mean it was like the server was smoking something - failed to take orders, mixed up order presentations, failed to bring bread after committing to do so several times ...

Such a shame.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    33
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ruined by waiter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Food was fair, my steak was cold, cold, cold. But the worst part of all was the service. Our waiter was out of it completely, forgot to tell me they were out of the special and then forgot to retake my order, forgot to bring enough wine glasses and totally forgot our bread even after we asked repeatedly. The menu and the atmosphere are delightful, but we were very disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great place on the mountain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

It is in a brick building and is rustic and homey on the inside, with brick walls and exposed wooden beams, plus a gas fireplace, which was burning when we were there.

Hubby and I both had the lunch special, the shaved pork roast sandwich au jus. It had melted Swiss cheese on it, and horseradish mayo on it. The horseradish was a little wimpy, but otherwise, the sandwich was great. It came with home made potato chips, which were excellent--crispy and not the least greasy. Service was fine and friendly. Definitely worth the time to get up to the mountaintop to eat there!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently eloped to the Chanticleer Inn on Lookout Mountain and the Innkeepers recommended that we visit the Cafe on the Corner for dinner. We loved it so much that we returned for brunch the next day and would have come again the following day, had we not had a checkout time scheduled before lunch! Everything was delicious and the staff was friendly. The dining room was cozy with a warm fire when we visited for dinner and the patio was a bit breezy, but comfortable the next day for lunch. For dinner my steak was wonderful, with bleu cheese butter and wonderful potatoes and grilled asparagus. My husband had a red beans and rice special and said it was fabulous. Our brunch the next day was equally delicious. I must also recommend the friend green tomatoes. These are served with a basil aioli and a pepper-jelly topping. SO delicious!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The service seemed a little confused, but we were there on what appeared to be a very busy night. However, the Cobb Salad was one of the best I've ever had, and my husband's cheeseburger got rave reviews as well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe on the Corner also viewed

Lookout Mountain, TN
Lookout Mountain, TN
 

Been to Cafe on the Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe on the Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.