We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castle Inn to your Saves list
Castle Inn
Station Road, Lydford, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4BH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Lydford B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Came here for my birthday evening meal - didn't stay. We had reserved a table here 2 days before visiting and when we arrived had the best table in the restaurant area. The service was great especially as they were very busy in all areas (bar, dining area & restaurant). Had fillet steak and was cooked to perfection. Would recommend this place and will probably visit again when down in Dartmoor too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    54
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
64
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We cycled to The Castle for drink from our campsite and were a little apprehensive as the town was extremly quite. However we were pleasantly surprised by the appetising dinner menu on offer. So much so we decided to return again later that evening. From scallops and chorizo to lamb tangine the menu was beautiful. The staff were extremely friendly and it was great value. We had a 3 course meal for 2 people under 50£.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Shropshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Enjoyed three course meal comprising mackerel and tiger prawn starter, gammon and lambs liver main followed by strawberry and clotted cream. Service very good, environment homely olds inn feel. Splendid meal followed by short walk back to hotel. A good start to our holiday.

Room Tip: Note used restaurant only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here on 29 June and our dinner party was 19, about midway through the Devon coast to coast cycle route . Sue, the owner, was very helpful and they set us up in a separate dining room so we could all sit together. We pre ordered our meals which worked well. There might have been the odd hiccough with serving but they more than made up for it and they did a great job of looking after us. The bedrooms are individual and charming, well presented and clean. I would recommend The Castle Inn, thank you.

Room Tip: Try the room with the wooden balcony, very relaxing for aperitifs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I came to dartmoor for 1week on a riding holiday + with the holiday i was booked into this lovely place, my room was very nice with a shower + wc in my room plus a tv + free wifi all u could want.
When i came back from a long day riding there wa plenty of hot water for a nice shower :-) In the nights there was plenty of choice on the specials board + the regular menu i had 5 evening meals there and they were all very good :-) I would defo stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a meal here, but did not stay the night, so can only talk about the castle inn as a pub/restaurant not in the context of accommodation. It was recommended to us for a meal by our B&B. and it was a great recommendation.
Reading the previous reviews, it would seem that it might depend upon night you choose, what staff are on and how busy it is. That's not necessarily an excuse, and the other reviews may be an accurate reflection of that reviewers experience, so all I can talk about is our own experience. Which was outstanding.
The pub, built in 1550, is brilliant in terms of it's external and internal atmosphere. It's a lovely pub; very atmospheric and photogenic.
The night we went, it was relatively quiet - a few people in the restaurant and more people in the bar. We had drinks at the bar and then ate in the bar too. The restaurant looked nice, but we preferred to sit at a table in the bar area. Some of the people at the bar were evidently locals, and seemed quite at home. The girls behind the bar were nice, and the young bloke who served our meal was very polite.
The food was really terrific - we had a pate to share and the beef, ale and blue Devon cheese pie.
We had a good night here, with great atmosphere, nice staff and very tasty food. Five stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stopped here overnight on the Devon coast to coast bike ride. Nice small country hotel. The room was good with a good bathroom. We had a really nice dinner from a good menu and the service was friendly and good. A nice cooked breakfast but a little too simple without any yoghurt or fruit. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: Station Road, Lydford, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lydford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lydford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Inn is a traditional 16th-century inn situated in Lydford, on the Western slopes of Dartmoor National Park. Built in 1550, its plain pink exterior offers no clues as to what awaits you inside. It oozes with character from every nook and cranny. The lamp-lit bar with low, bowed ceilings, many curios, slate floors and an open fire, the lovely snug with high backed settles and the charming restaurant with beamed ceiling. There is a pretty garden to the back of the inn with more seating and views of the castle. Whether you fancy a pint of Tribute and a chat with the locals, a quick bite to eat or a full meal, the the Castle Inn offers wonderful food and drink in comfortable and relaxing surroundings. Children are very welcome as are dogs on leads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Lydford
Castle Inn Dartmoor National Park/Lydford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.