We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cleave Public House

The Cleave Public House
Lustleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9TJ, England
01647 277223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Lustleigh
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: English, Continental, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We attended a sunday lunch as a large party for my in laws wedding aniversary, the food was excellent, with superb service, very impressed and I think this is a well worth a visit !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    52
    10
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Cleave is not only a pretty, really pretty, pub, but is has the loveliest staff and best food to offer! We have enjoyed so many lovely days/nights there! We have been visiting Dartmoor many times, but we always find ourselves drawn to this gem of a place because it incorporates all the lovely things of Dartmoor, coupled with the friendly staff and the lovely food, it is hard to resist and a definite must visit for anyone who visits Dartmoor!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, East Sussex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We'd eaten at the Cleave a few years before and ended up there last week for lunch. We got a warm welcome and took some time pouring over the menu trying to decide what to order from the fantastic choice. The staff clearly knew the dishes really well and took time to explain to everyone (who wanted to know) what they were - on hearing these mouth-watering descriptions my husband and I both ended up eating totally different things to usual and not regretting it at all. You can have a burger or fish and chips (which I'm sure would be lovely) but I'm sure you'd be missing out on something far more interesting.

There is a children's menu but our 3 year old had a croque monsieur from the starter menu which he was very impressed with.

We'll look forward to our next visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This place has so much to offer, lovely to look at, cosy, friendly and helpful staff who helped with our indecisive look at the menu, which had far too many lovely things to choose from, hence the problem with decisions! We all choose something different and all thought the food delicious and I was only let down by not being able to eat it all! Do visit, it first appears a quaint English pub, and then, tucked away at the back is a bright, spacious restaurant that is a gastro treat.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Four of us went to the Cleave on 19th September for an evening meal. The atmosphere was welcoming and relaxed and the staff were very helpful. They have a varied menu which includes Kangaroo!! We had chicken breast in a tasteful spicy sauce, Brill and South African Lamb Pie. We all enjoyed the food which was well presented and nice and hot, the waitress was able to answer all our questions about the food. We finished off with mouth watering desserts all of excellent portion size. Value for money is excellent and we will certainly be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cleave Public House also viewed

Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park
 
Lustleigh, Dartmoor National Park
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Cleave Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cleave Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.