We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not outstanding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eastwrey Barton

Save Saved
You added Eastwrey Barton to your Saves list
Eastwrey Barton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eastwrey Barton
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Moretonhampstead Road | Newton Abbot, Lustleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9SN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Lustleigh B&B and Inns
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice but not outstanding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Maybe it was the other Tripadvisor reviews that made me expect more. It is certainly a very nice b&b in a lovely location but I didnt fall in love with it. We had a standard double with a rather small double bed. The bathroom was spacious but the water pressure of the shower (over the bath) was the worst I've ever had, in fact it was impossible to have a shower with it, I ended up acrobatically washing my hair under the faucet. Overall perfectly fine for a short stay, but also given the prices I wouldnt want to spend my whole vacation here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

I would strongly recommend Eastwrey Barton to anyone looking to stay in the area. It's the details that make the difference such as the beautiful linen, the great sausages, the attentive service etc. Dinner wasn't cheap but was of a high standard.

We were in Room 1 which was very big, with a king size bed and a lovely view.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed with Sharon and Patrick during our holidays in Devon for 8 nights. Having been at a couple of B&B already in that area, I can honestly recommend Eastwrey Barton. It is clean and Patrick and Sharon are very welcoming and helpful - and they have this lovely good English humor!
Try out dinner at their place and let Patrick recommend you a good bottle of wine. :-)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We needed a place to stay for a night as we were attending a cookery course at the Ashburton Cookery school. We saw a couple of reviews for this B&B, and the prices were reasonable so decided to give it a go. We were so glad that we chose to stay here as it was absolutely wonderful, and our only regret was not staying an extra couple of nights!! I genuinely can't recommend it enough.

It is a truely wonderful place to stay! Patrick, who runs it, was friendly and extremely helpful. All the guests seemed happy, compfortable and relaxed, which is no surprise given the extremely warm and welcoming atmosphere! The views over the national park were gorgeous.

There was no stand up shower in our room, but there was a handheld shower and bath which served us both well. Plenty of hot water and lovely robes on the back door. The bed was extremely comfortable and we both had a great nights sleep.

The breakfast was good, and the cooked breakfast in particular was superb (particularly the mushrooms and sausages which stood out as being particularly amazing)!!

What are you waiting for? Book now!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010 via mobile

Nice big rooms. Really nicely done.
The four poster bed was fab. The linen lovely.
Hosts were excellent. We should have asked for more of their local advice. Service both mornings at breakfast was excellent. My eggs were to die for as was the home made fruit compote.
If one wanted to gripe you could mention breakfast 8:30-9:00 was a little window but it seems most people wanted to be off and out on the morning.
I'd also give people the Wifi key at arrival but then again I guess they don't get many nerds staying.

A really great place to stay. I would go back for sure

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We visited Eastwrey Barton over the August Bank Holiday weekend. The house is situated near the delightful village of Lustleigh. The room was decorated to a very high standard and we were made to feel very much at home. The breakfast was superb with local sausages and homemade jams made with fruit from the garden - delicious. I would not hesitate to recommend this guest house and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alford, Lincs
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

From the moment you walk throught the door you are met by a friendly face. Nothing was too much bother very polite owners. Very clean and tidy, excellent food which is sourced locally from the home made jam to the venison, very helpfull people. Would stay again and recommend to friends without hesitation. Thankyou for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eastwrey Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastwrey Barton

Address: Moretonhampstead Road | Newton Abbot, Lustleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lustleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lustleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastwrey Barton 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Eastwrey Barton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastwrey Barton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.