We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth having a meal.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sportsman's Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Sportsman's Inn
Exeter Road, Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park PL21 0BQ, England
01752892280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 27 Restaurants in Ivybridge
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Well worth having a meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife and I have eaten here on several occasions. The price is very reasonable and the food has been excellent and plentiful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    9
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Watch your change!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

A large group of us went to this pub for a meal and night out. Landlord was rude and to add insult to injury, not once were any of us charged the same amount for exactly the same round of drinks. It was not until the evening was almost over that we realised this. Check your change and make sure others know how much you were charged to save the same happening to them. Will never go again despite being local!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“APPALLING SERVICE - AVOID AT ALL COSTS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Visited this pub for lunch with my husband and a friend on Christmas Eve. Arrived at 12, pub was virtually empty and stayed that way for the extent of our visit. Ordered 3 rounds of sandwiches and chips, and after 1hr20mins had to enquire as to the whereabouts of our food, which hadn't materialised despite the relative small size of order and lack of other customers. Was taken aback at the rude response from both the man behind the bar and the woman manning the food station, who eventually ambled into the kitchen and returned immediately with our food (which had presumably been sitting there for upwards of an hour). What baffled me was the lack of apology or anything like embarrassment for the long wait; the woman told me that there had been a delay on food, but failed to say sorry and gave the distinct impression that I'd caused a nuisance for enquiring. Food was adequate but not worth the wait. AVOID.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Bed and breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I had the misfortune to stay here overnight on Friday 15th November 2013. £45.00 per night for bed and breakfast. The room was awful dated and drab. The bathroom? disgusting, the shower was pathetic having no pressure and and uncontrollable temperature. The television was broken and there is no communication from the room to reception.Breakfast was OK to be fair to them but the hotel facilities clearly need some attention. I did mention the shower and TV to the guy the following morning." Sorry about that ~Sir" is all I got.My advice drive a little further and find a better place to stay.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Excellent food, changing menues regularly to reflect seasonal changes and availability of local produce. Great value too when you consider the quality, with a range of typical pub grub complimented with an imaginative heute cuisine specials board.

Great welcome too from Bill & Doh with a good selection of beer on tap and great care taken with cleaning pipes to maintain drinking quality.

We go there to meet with friends regularly for meals and would highly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sportsman's Inn also viewed

Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
 
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Sportsman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sportsman's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.