We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gidleigh Park

Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park Hotel, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8HH, England
+ 44 (0)1647 432367
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Chagford
Price range: $70 - $86
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Set on the banks of the North Teign River in a magnificent estate of mature woodland and gardens, Gidleigh Park is surrounded by the wilds of Dartmoor. This small country house hotel boasts a two Michelin starred restaurant that is considered to be one of the finest in the country ��� The Sunday Times awarded Gidleigh Park Best Restaurant in its list of Top 100 British restaurants and the restaurant also won Most Excellent Restaurant at the Conde Nast Awards for Excellence 2011. Executive Chef Michael Caines and his team are renowned for creating innovative, modern European cuisine utilising the finest local and seasonal West Country produce and ingredients. Gidleigh Park Restaurant offers an a la carte menu, as well as a Tasting Menu (changes weekly), and a Classic Tasting Menu (seasonal). The wine cellar of more than 10,000 bottles has both great vintages from classic European and New World vintners as well as a growing range of biodynamic labels.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

An amazing visit to the restaurant.
I have been waiting for this since last year. Great birthday treat.
Signature menu is great, presented in a smaller portion and perfectly timed we had an opportunity to try most of the dishes on the menu.
Very warm welcome from the team and great service continued in the dining room.
Post coffee and petit fours served in the drawing room. We were sat by the wood log fire having our coffees which was very special. Fantastic night... fantastic food... fantastic service!!
Well done!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    38
    19
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Fabulous, from the moment you arrive the service is just wonderful, exact but unassuming. For us this was a bit of a treat , my cousins birthday. We eat out quite a lot, we are fortunate, but this is a completely new level of beautiful food and wine. I just don't understand how food can taste this good and look so marvellous. It's easy to pay half this much elsewhere but you definitely get what you pay for here. You probably gather I liked it a lot.
Take a walk around the grounds , the scenery etc is the topping on a great treat.

What was nice was seeing Michael Caines there on the day and wearing his chef whites in the kitchen, that's passion. His stamp is well and truly on this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I are never disappointed when dining at Gidleigh Park, the food is perfect with excellent staff serving, the trio of chocolate dessert is to die for. We are looking forward to spending a weekend in July there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Exquisite as Always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Afternoon tea with friends at Gidleigh Park is a tranquil setting in a relaxed and comfortable lounge with unassuming yet exacting service from the staff.
A recommendation as from previous experience is to order three afternoon teas for four persons, even this will be a hurdle to devour, so the kind staff at Gidleigh Park will ensure you can savour every last bite with the remaining pastries & cakes boxed for you to take home, how wonderful Gidleigh Park to take away.
Champagne with Afternoon tea is a must for those not driving, a very palatable choice, not too dry for the afternoon. Finger sandwiches with a variety of fillings to suit all guests and as on every occasion allergies are catered for by the staff at the point of booking.
Pastries and cakes are divine with fresh fruits and the lightest of sponge.
Choice of leaf teas is extensive but the Gidleigh Park blend is certainly one to try.
As always my favourite choice of all hotels to stay and eat with it's impeccable attention to detail.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“They really know how to make you feel special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Wow! What a beautiful place to visit! This was our first trip to Gidleigh. We had heard so much about it over the years and had been given our lunch as a present. We weren't disappointed....From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff looked after us and constantly made sure that we had everything we wanted. We arrived early for lunch and relaxed by the fire in the sitting room and enjoyed reading the papers and several coffees. Our food was delicious and we loved the wines we chose. We left feeling thoroughly spoilt.

We hope to return for many more special occasions with other members of the family. We cannot really comment on the cost of our meal as it was a present but we would certainly pay extra for this experience again. Gidleigh is somewhere to keep for special treats.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gidleigh Park also viewed

Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Gidleigh Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gidleigh Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.