We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An anniversary meal to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 22 Mill Street Restaurant

22 Mill Street Restaurant
22 Mill Street, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8AW, England
(01647) 432244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 16 Restaurants in Chagford
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: With beautiful views of Dartmoor National Park, 22 Mill Street is a place to relax and unwind. Beautifully appointed with dark wood floors, bright contemporary artworks and feature fireplace the restaurant has a modern classic look which wouldn’t look out of place in a big city restaurant. Although the views are to die for that doesn’t mean you won’t notice the food. The beautifully presented food is clearly put together with great attention to detail using the very best ingredients on offer. For example, your pan roasted to perfection venison loin might be accompanied by truffled cauliflower while a saffron jus brings out the flavours of a beautiful end of lamb.
Callington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An anniversary meal to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had the 5 course (arguably 7) tasting menu and we felt absolutely sated by the end. The service was first rate and we felt very relaxed in the comfortable surroundings. The food throughout was superb and the combination of flavours excellent. The duck was cooked to perfection and the final creme brulee was to die for. We will be back !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    14
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“awesome foody experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Visited this restaurant with my fiancee for her birthday, after reading some good reviews. The whole evening was a wonderful experience, we both cook to a decent standard.....but we were blown away!
The restaurant is small but very nicely done,,,,,,the food is haute cuisine and absolutely stunning both in looks and taste!! The manager is a top bloke, nothing too much trouble. Outstanding service and an asset to the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“BRING A MICROSCOPE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Menu read and sounded great,had to wait over ONE HOUR for starters,when they eventually came it was so small would hardly feed a Mouse.Was hoping the main course would arrive speedily as by now we were very very hungry.But to our dissapointment this was only luke warm,three mouthfuls and the dish was finished,we voiced our comments to the manager but his comments were rude.When the bill comes to over £100 you do not expect to leave still feeling hungry .A huge dissapointment .

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

No dislikes, we had a lovely time and Karla and Andrew made our stay that bit more personal and special-very friendly, welcoming people. The food was great, our room was comfy, clean and impressive with the modern/country charm twist. Great surroundings/area-lovely shops and local pubs-beautiful location. Would certainly visit again :)

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Word of caution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I ate here earlier in the year and was really impressed by the food, the welcome and the ambience. Chagford centre has long needed a great restaurant and I thought this was it. However, Chef Ashley has now moved to Cornwall. The new team may be just as good, but this just a word to say glowing reviews relate to a chef no longer behind the stove. However, I will be trying it on my next trip to Dartmoor.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 22 Mill Street Restaurant also viewed

Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to 22 Mill Street Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 22 Mill Street Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.