We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“full of character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Globe Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Globe Inn to your Saves list
The Globe Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   9 High St., Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8AJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Chagford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“full of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

very friendly owners and staff, stayed in attic room (not for the tall!) well stocked sparkling clean bathroom,.....
delicious meals and well kept ales....will be returning as family illness cut short stay.......the owner kindly offered us another night in the future

Room Tip: top floors have low ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    38
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
82
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Superior Room on the top floor was tastefully furnished and spacious with modern spotlight lighting controlled by a remote control that was difficult to work out.(No instructions.)
To reach this top floor room there is an extremely steep circular staircase with no real bannister to grip. Being in my 60's and rather frail I needed my hiking stick to access the room. Descending was also a challenge.
The ensuite bathroom had a roll top bath and a hand held shower. Again I found access to the bath difficult as there were no handles to grip and there was no way to stand and shower as there was no shower curtain.
The room overlooked the church which chimed at every hour. Luckily I had packed ear plugs!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerDevon, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
We were very sorry to receive the comments in your review especially as we upgraded you to our Deluxe suite at no extra cost. You mention your fraility and had we been made aware of this at the time of booking we would not have upgraded you to that room.
Regarding the church bells, as we are in a country town the chimes are a part of the background ambiance along with the birds etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Booked The Globe as convenient for a local wedding.
Was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. Bar and hotel rooms are of a higher quality than anticipated from the website. The staff were friendly with the main staff member (sorry didn't get his name) was a friendly and cheerful man who greeted us, saw us to our rooms, tended to the bar and served breakfast the next day.
Our room was the Famiy room, Jasmine. This could sleep 6 people if required. Two single beds were comfortable. Double bed is a little (a lot) creaky and the mattress could do with an upgrade but it added character. Lovely bathroom, bath with handheld shower head, and good quality bedding.
Second room booked was Magnolia, I note the previous review about this room complained about the arrangement of the room. I can see their point but I don't think it is an issue if you are enjoying the bar/Chagford/Dartmoor. Quality of the furnishings was high and cleanliness throughout the hotel was brilliant.
I did think that the room price for the double superior is a little high but I didn't see a normal double room so couldn't compare. The family room was very good value, for 4 people it was £30 each.
We only ate breakfast there, which came with an ample supply of cereal, toast, jams, fruit, full English cooked to our requirements and a constant supply of tea, coffee and juice.
We drank in the bar and the bar man was helpful with drink selections and stoked the fire for us. Very comfortable and friendly atmosphere.
Located on the main high street and opposite a beautiful church. Parking was either short stay on the high street or in a car park 2 minutes walk away.
Would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

What a really lovely place. My room was fabulous, clean and very comfortable with lots of attention to detail. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the village is charming.
The bar with its open fire was welcoming and breakfast was plentiful with cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit and full English breakfast.
I hope to visit again and would most certainly stay at The Globe - hopefully for longer than 3 nights next time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We took a, much looked forward to, 2 night break here. We had booked a superior double room (Magnolia) But were disappointed to find there was very little that was superior. Although the room was a good size the bed was only a 4'6" the tv was tiny (with only 5 watchable channels) and positioned too far to watch from the bed and unable to watch from the sofa.The bathroom had no shower not even over the bath (just a hand held mixer with no way of hanging it on the wall). The hair dryer was impossible to use with the mirror, the lead was too short I had to bend down to see in the corner of the mirror. The kettle was situated under a shelf which was awkward to use, none of this would you expect from a superior room, the whole room needed re-arranging I would suggest the owners stay in their rooms to see how they could improve the usability of them. The room was however clean.

We decided to eat in the pub that evening. After having a drink in the bar we told the barman (who was very helpful and had also checked us in) that we would go through to the restaraunt area, another couple also staying followed us in and we sat & chatted. However after 20 minutes no-one had come to take an order or even acknowlege us. I had to go back to the bar to ask if anyone was looking after the restaurant (earlier their had been a waitress but she seemed to dissapear by 7.45pm) The barman said he would see to it. He then appeared with a pad and took orders. The meals took 40 minutes to come out and mine (a seafood lasagne) was not very hot but we had waited so long & I was so hungry I just ate it. The other 2 guests were also saying how terrible the service was, the only person doing anything was the barman who seemed to have to do everything. We then sat with empty plates for another 1/2 hour and eventually had to go to the bar again and ask for a desert menu. During this time the owners (pointed out by the other couple) were sat in the lounge bar eating & drinking with friends. Needless to say we did not eat there on our 2nd night.

Breakfast was again disappointing for £95 pn we were expecting good choice and local produce.
The first morning there were cereals and a couple of pieces of fruit in a bowl, no prunes, grapefruit or fruit salad, and the jam & marmalade on the help your self table was opened jars of Spar jam (not good quality let alone local). There was basic cooked breakfast (served by the Mr. owner) with no vegetarian option. The second morning there wasn't a piece of fruit in sight ! we were not offered more tea/toast and there was no friendly banter. We wondered if the owners really didn't want to be there?
During our 2 day stay the owners never once introduced themselves or spoke to us (Mr owner took our money when we departed) if not for the friendly couple we chatted to each day it would have been miserable. Previous stay in the 3 Crowns (next door) knocked spots off them in every aspect. Very expensive for very basic accommodation & breakfast & extremely poor service.

Room Tip: Not sure there are any, the other couple said they were choking on cooking smells from an extractor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryFrench, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, we will always try to put things right if we are informed about them at the time. However no mention was made at the time or on departure for us to rectify the situation.

Magnolia room is one of our most popular rooms and previous reviews back this up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We decided to break our journey to the SW and fit in a 2 hour walk on Dartmoor. Choosing the Globe Inn at Chagford was pot luck.We arrived about 8pm. , enjoyed an excellent meal and spent a very comfortable night in a well appointed room.( far exceeding our expectations for a country pub ) After a substantial freshly cooked breakfast we looked around Chagford and 30 mins later we were striding over Staples Tor. The highlight of the stay however was the exceptional and friendly service of the owners,Mary and Graham.Nothing was too much trouble. We shall certainly repeat the experience.

Room Tip: have a look at all the available rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

If you like a warm cosy atmosphere, beautifully schemed 'chabby chic' interior with log fires, and owners who take the time to talk to you and meet your every need, you'll love the Globe Inn. Have just returned from our 2nd stay after a rather disasterous start to our long weekend where self catering cottage was not up to standard so dropped in on Mary & her husband to save our weekend which they did admirably. On arriving stressed & cold we were welcomed in by one of their team who stoked fire for us took the time to talk about our predicament & then showed us two rooms to suit our needs. We chose the same room as our previous visit which was clean, warm & welcoming. The breakfast was beautifully presented with branded cereals, yoghurts, fresh coffee with a choice of cooked breakfasts which were freshly grilled to our liking. The evening meals were all freshly cooked & offered a choice of fresh fish, steaks, pasta & vegetarian option. You get what you pay for at Chagford. Excellent value for money. Would easily recommend to anyone-ignore reviews on the Globes own web site, I think the people who wrote them must have stayed at a different hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe Inn

Address: 9 High St., Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Globe Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Dartmoor town of Chagford, there is ample public parking just 50 yards away. Graham and Mary offer their customers a warm welcome to open fires, real ales and a varied menu of home cooked dishes made from locally sourced produce. Lunch is served from noon to 2.30 pm and dinner from 6 pm to 9 pm seven days a week.We offer seven large en-suite letting rooms most of which have recently been refurbished to a high standard.The room configurations are:four doubles, one twin and two family rooms which can sleep up to six. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Globe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Globe Inn Chagford, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Globe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.