We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming pub - shame about the locals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sandy Park Inn to your Saves list
Sandy Park Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Sandy Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Chagford B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming pub - shame about the locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The room was clean, the shower great, great food and great ales. The staff were friendly and efficient, but the pub is most certainly a 'locals' pub and they truly let the place down. We sat by the fire with a glass of wine and had to move eventually due to the vulgar conversation taking place between the locals who were fully aware of our presence but seemed to be marking their territory. Such a shame because it is a charming traditional pub but we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    24
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
32
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. It is a lovely traditional pub with some very nice cosy rooms. We were in room 3 which is above the bar. It is spacious with a huge bed and quilt (big enough for the 3 of us), and the bath has a very powerful power shower and a bath. Our 10 year old loved the food as much as we did, our dog loved all the attention and the new doggie friends he made and we enjoyed the banter with the locals and the staff. The prices are more than reasonable, particularly for the drinks. Will definitely be back soon and will be bringing my dad.
PS: Do not book this if you don't like a traditional lively pub atmosphere or dislike dogs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have just got back from 4 nights here. Have to say if you like good old friendly, old fashioned locals, then you will love this place. We have travelled a lot and I have to say this is the most memorable stay I have had anywhere in this country. The whole experience is just friendly, great quality and does not disappointing on any score really.

The food, I will say is quite simply the best food we have eaten out in the UK, that includes hotels I have paid £150+ per night for.

The staff are great, but what really makes it is the locals. Have to say you need to be a lover of dogs to really appreciate it. But as long as you don't hate dogs then you will enjoy this place. We do have a dog, he and us was made so welcome.

Will definitely be going back, got a lot of new friends to keep in touch with, that's us as well as Sparky.

Room Tip: 3 is good, huge bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillingham kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at the Sandy Park Inn,and what a great place to stay,we received a great welcome from Shona on arrival,our room was perfect,the food was great and the bar prices were good as was the ale,Shona made us more than welcome and even put the lottery on for friends and catered for his special diet,and as we returned back late from a wedding made arrangements for us to get in and left the lights on in our rooms,We will be back,as we were so pleased,thankyou Shona and team.

Room Tip: Some rooms are not on suite but have own bathroom,not a problem for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed for one night with family and would recommend to all. Food is excellent and the beer is divine. Very well priced and couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. The Sunday night was an open mic session and was disappointed that we had to leave before it got going! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Found this fantastic place totally by chance on the way back from Cornwall. First rate fresh homemade food and great service with a lovely atmosphere and rustic, traditional pub feel. Also some brilliant ales on tap. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Have just returned from a 3 day break in Devon staying at the Sandy Park Inn

Really made welcome by all the staff - lovely cosy inn - quite quirky but that added to it's charm.
Excellent food - a very hearty well cooked breakfast - nice cosy bar for drinks . Lovely beer garden which was only discovered as we left but a very nice spot to enjoy the joys of Devon.
We would recommend the Sandy Park Inn to anyone wanting a laid back , relaxing place to stay we would not hesitate in going back there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandy Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Park Inn

Address: Sandy Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sandy Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Park Hotel Chagford
Sandy Park Inn Chagford, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.