We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and enjoy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parford Well Bed & Breakfast

Parford Well Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Parford Well Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Parford Well Bed & Breakfast
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Parford Well | Sandy Park, Nr Chagford, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Chagford B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

A great place to stay , Tim is a very good host , we stayed on New Years Eve as we were attending bash up the road in Drewsteignton , so didn't spend a lot of time at Parford Well .
Tim welcomed us with a much needed tray of tea and mince pies after 4 hours travel through a miserable winter afternoon and he gave us a very good breakfast next morning .
Only 1 minute from the B&B is the local village pub which is well worth a visit , and Tim's garden would be a very relaxing place in good weather ( although not an option during our visit ).
Go prepared with cheque book or cash because Tim doesn't do cards , and if en-suite is a must for you then be sure to book rooms 1 or 3 .

Room Tip: Room 1 is nice and faces onto the rear gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
46
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

In the tiny village of Sandy Park, Parford Well is a perfectly fine B&B with good access to the sites and footpaths in Dartmoor National Park. Tim, our host, was very welcoming and accommodating. The room, however, was quite ordinary and relatively small. There was no real shower, only a hand-held spray nozzle in a tub. Breakfasts were about the same as most other places we stayed, but perfectly satisfactory. The gardens were well kept, but nothing extraordinary. I was pleased to see solar panels on the roof, and Tim is sensitive to his environmental impact. In short, Parford Well is a fine base but there is nothing special. You should listen to Tim's dining tips.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We reviewed the feedback and thought it all sounded great. It was. The nicest B&B we've stayed in. Lovely pillows. 5 star hotel standard breakfast. Tim is a great host - there when you need him but not over-the-top either. Perfect. Great location too. We will stay there again. Just charming. Tim deserves the praise.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely, didn't see the others. A garden view would be amazing as the garden is beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We recently spent four nights at Parford Well. Is it a geat place to stay? Absolutely! It has all the things you want. Our room was comfortable, beautifully appointed, and meticulously clean. In fact I would say that about the entire B&B. Meticulous. But, there is another aspect to this place that you won't get just anywhere. Tim Daniel, the innkeeper is a gentleman in the truest sense of the word. He cares they you enjoy your stay. He looks after every detail , if you want. If not, he'll leave you alone. He'll cook you the best breakfast. Innkeepers! If you want to know how it should be done, stay a few nights at Parford Well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful B & B for 4 nights. We are typically "hotel" people but Parford Well is THE place to stay if you are in travelling to Devon. Tim, our host, greeted us and served tea and cake in the gorgeous sitting room. After staying in a few B & Bs as we traveled from Cornwall, our expectations for accommodations were not particularly high. We were delightfully surprised that the guest rooms at Parford Well are so beautifully appointed as is the entire guest area. Tim has allotted much of the right side of his home to his guests so it is luxurious, quiet and private.
Breakfast was expertly prepared and the menu offered more items than I would have expected.
We were actually quite sad to leave this idyllic place and its charming and most gracious host.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This B&B is of exceptional standard set in beautiful surroundings just on the edge of the Dartmoor National Park. The accommodation is very clean and so comfortable, from the beautifully decorated rooms to the relaxing warmth of the drawing room, a real home from home. Tim always makes you feel very welcome and his hospitality and attention to detail is second to none. You are greeted warmly with tea and homemade biscuits or cake in the drawing room, and there is a wonderful choice for breakfast. There are so many places of interest to visit from Castle Drogo, to the tranquil setting of Fingle Bridge. Highly recommended,

Room Tip: Two bedrooms are en-suite, one has it own separate bathroom. All are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I’m happy to add another five stars. Parford Well is immaculate and Tim is a welcoming and attentive host. Parford Well is conveniently placed for visits to Castle Drogo and for walking on Dartmoor, and it's a most comfortable place to return to after a day out. Tim recommended two places for dinner, and both were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parford Well Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parford Well Bed & Breakfast

Address: Parford Well | Sandy Park, Nr Chagford, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Parford Well Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Parford Well Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parford Well Bed & Breakfast Chagford, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parford Well Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.