We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parford Well Bed & Breakfast

Parford Well Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Parford Well Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Parford Well Bed & Breakfast
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Parford Well | Sandy Park, Nr Chagford, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Chagford B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for two nights along with my cousins and aunt, and I think I can say on behalf of all of us we had a wonderful few days.
All the boxes were ticked - comfortable beds, lovely bathrooms, beautiful views, feather down lounges in front of a warm log fire, delicious hot breakfasts and of course 'Tim' our lovely host.

Thank you
Shanti & Rhani

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
46
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We chose Parford Well after reading all of the reviews on Trip adviser and it far exceeded our expectations.
From the moment we arrived, Tim was the perfect host, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome.
The bedrooms are spotlessly clean with every amenity that you could need.
The breakfast really is the best in Devon.
All in all this is one of the best places that we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Tim was a gracious and attentive host, the location was beautiful and peaceful and our stay far exceeded our expectations. Tim's attention to detail, remembering the type of tea that I drink and putting some in our bedroom was a lovely touch but in reality was just typical of everything that he did. The house and furnishings, lovely pictures and ornaments, just added to our stay and would not hesitate to recommend Parford Well to any of our friends who are heading Dartmoor way..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Immaculate and charming, in a beautiful situation. Rooms are thoughtfully designed, with good hanging and drawer space, warm and welcoming after a drizzly Dartmoor walk. Small but perfectly formed bedrooms are a joy to be in, with working wifi, no tv, Roberts radio, provided you can tear yourself away from the garden or the delightful sitting room. Nothing pretentious, but high standards of care (and cooking - gorgeous breakfasts). If you are an aloof Londoner, you will find it hard not to chat with fellow guests, enthusiastically explaining how much they love it. Good little pub in the hamlet, whose tiny dining room and interesting food is worth booking, though others may prefer grander places within an easy moorland drive. One double has a moorland view that could compensate even this fussy reviewer for having a private but not connected bathroom. The other two are en suite.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by not having an en suite. Somehow here it feels fine. The rear garden facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldbourne, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful B & B, in a most beautiful and peaceful setting. The views from our room were a joy to wake up to and Tim's garden is stunning. Tim was so warm and welcoming and his home (yes it is homely), was absolutely spotless and well thought out to provide every comfort and convenience. Breakfast was beautifully presented and very satisfying. Highly recommend this gem and will certainly go back again and stay longer.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of house with an en suite. Sunny room with amazing views. We just stood a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

At the risk of being boring, I would echo the compliments paid by other readers. Parford Well is a lovely house run by a most charming, kind man. The rooms are light and beautifully furnished, immaculately clean and well supplied with fancy shampoos and conditioners, etc. Hair dryer and retro radio complete the set-up. Having no TV in the bedroom was very welcome, making the room seem more like a home than the usual hotel TV stuck on the wall!

The garden, with its surrounding walls, was idyllic - even in the plentiful rain we encountered. Tim's breakfasts, cooked to order, were scrumptious and set us up for the rest of the day. He also gave us very good tips for places to eat in the evenings, whether the Horse at Moretonhampstead or the Inn at Drewsteignton.

Tim's guest book overflows with thanks and praise from grateful customers from all over the world. We could not have asked for a better experience, and would love to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms (three in number, I believe) are lovely. One of them does not have the bathroom en sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We were warmly greeted by Tim when we arrived who helped us up to our room with our bags. The room was lovely and well equipped. The house has a fantastic setting on Dartmoor and the room had a lovely view from the window. We had our own bathroom across the hall which was beautifully clean and well equipped. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and easily the best I've had of any B+B I've ever stayed in!! The selection was extensive and was cooked freshly as you ordered it.

Tim is a great host and is clearly an experienced B+B owner. He was very helpful and incredibly knowledgable about the surrounding area and happily advised us on walks and local activities. His attention to detail is meticulous and each day we returned to a made bed and refreshed room supplies. Will be going back again when we're down that way!!

Room Tip: All rooms have they're own bathrooms. Only two of them are ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parford Well Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parford Well Bed & Breakfast

Address: Parford Well | Sandy Park, Nr Chagford, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Parford Well Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Parford Well Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parford Well Bed & Breakfast Chagford, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parford Well Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.